Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Lava Shells Massage reviews

 
Share this

Check out all lava shells massage reviews.



Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

The hotel is fantastic, it's clean, the staff are extremely well trained and were able to meet our every need. The hotel is very calming. The grounds are lovely, we were lucky that we were able to sit outside and enjoy the views. The spa treatments were good and the therapist very friendly and the lava shell massage did the trick. The other spa resources are good.. We used them all!! We are planning our next visit to this venue.

Venue scores
Spa Facilities
Staff
Cleanliness
Value
Ambience

Anonymous



Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

The whole experience was very enjoyable. The spa facilities were good, the room and food was excellent. Good value for money.

Venue scores
Cleanliness
Staff
Spa Facilities
Value
Ambience


Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

Summary - some good treatments and nice bedroom. Some pleasant staff members but lots of disorganisation and disappointments. At times we felt like cogs in a money making machine.

The first disappointment was that although this was billed as a 20% off experience, we discovered upon arriving at the venue that the price we paid was exactly the same as their standard price for the package.

There was a disappointing lack of information given to us. We were only told when we arrived at the spa that it was shutting an hour early on Bank Holiday Monday, so we weren't able to use it on our first day, though we had planned for an hour there. We weren't told that dinner and lunch were only included on two of the three days until we got there. We had to ASK about what we were allowed for dinner and there was a £30 cap on what was included without extra cost, but we weren't told this until we asked. When we arrived we were shown the facilities available in the spa, but one of the rooms we were looking forward to using was unavailable for the whole duration of our stay due to that room being used as a spare tea room to make up for the fact that functions were occurring in the usual restaurant room.

Three times I was not served a breadroll with my meal although it was listed as being included in the menu, and once my salad was missing olives. Another time my Kir Royale was served in a wine glass (not too much of a problem really) and with a tiny amount of cassis. The lead member of staff apologised, after I spoke up about it, that his colleague wasn't experienced and didn't know how to make the drink properly. It was frustrating that I had to keep pointing out things that were missing as I like to keep a good atmosphere.

When in the spa I could see through one of the doors a whiteboard showing members of staff's daily targets for the amount of money they were aiming to earn. This was a little uncomfortable.

The second evening dinner was extremely compromised as there was a wedding held in the hotel earlier that day and the guests left far later than they intended. Our dinner were served very late, the members of staff were visibly exhausted, stressed and harassed and we didn't have candles or mood lighting or comfy chairs (which sounds like a small thing but considering what we were paying...). We were also privy to audible conversations between staff about the chaos of the evening which was not conducive to our relaxing evening. These should at least have been conducted out of ear shot of the guests.

On the other hand, our room was lovely. It was cleaned every day and the tea and biscuits refreshed. The shower was lovely and the french windows led onto a delightful terrace with table and chairs. The treatments were wonderful and those spa facilities which WERE available were good (the sauna, jet pool and jacuzzi). Some very nice members of staff were lovely and friendly, but others were less good at putting us at ease, especially with the problems that arose.

I would recommend doing your research about what will be going on at the hotel for the time of your stay and what you are entitled to before you decide to book.

Venue scores
Ambience
Staff
Cleanliness
Spa Facilities
Value

Anonymous



Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

Hotel and rooms absolutely gorgeous and everything very clean. However some things weren't quite there, the grounds didn't look as though they'd been finished, so although it appeared like you could go for a nice rural walk....there was just one short path :/
Dinner was spot on, gorgeous food and staff friendly.
Massage was brilliant but I also had a geleration pedicure which I wasn't that impressed with. The actual nail Polish was brilliant but the treatment as a whole was not worth £30!!! No foot scrub or massage or dead skin removal, I had to ask her to file my nails!
Spa itself was ok. Very clean and the pool was lovely, but the steam room was cold and didn't seem to have any steam in! Just needed that extra something to make it special, because it was literally a pool and sauna.
Also, when coming to pay the bill at the end of the stay they tried to charge again for the massages, even though I'd paid for them in the package. Although it was resolved it took quite some time for the receptionist to sort it out, making several phone calls, which put a slight negative feel to the end of a nice night away.

Venue scores
Ambience
Value
Cleanliness
Staff
Spa Facilities
Treatment scores

Anonymous



Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

My boyfriend and I needed a quick escape from our busy schedules in London, and found this amazing deal. The long drive to Cornwall was the only frustration, but assured once we checked in, went to our massage (in particular I had the Indian head massage very good) - all was forgotton. We then headed to the pool to relax, and took full use of the steam and sauna.
The best part was a bottle of pressecco waiting in welcoming arms of our deluxe bedroom. Food was delicious and staff were knowledgable and prompt. My boyfriend would of loved to of used the gym facilities, however one night is not enough!

I highly rate this estate for anyone who is in dire need of a pamper or city escape this is the place to go! A nice spot as well for small families. Definitely a winner!

Venue scores
Cleanliness
Staff
Spa Facilities
Value
Ambience
Treatment scores

Anonymous



Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

Very relaxing lava shells massage in nice atmosphere. The staff was very experienced, despite the massage somehow felt a bit rushed. Overall it was good value for money.

Venue scores
Value
Cleanliness
Spa Facilities
Ambience
Staff
Treatment scores

Anonymous



Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

Started my visit with a sauna, then had the lava shells massage. The therapist Suzanne was amazing. I ended my visit with a facial. Overall a very relaxing afternoon.

Venue scores
Cleanliness
Value
Spa Facilities
Ambience
Staff
Treatment scores


Verified (?) Visited Apr 2015

I don't normally have massages but felt a bit stressed at work so thought it might help. It was fantastic, for someone who wasn't keen, I'm now a total convert to Hot Stone massages, I came away feeling all was well with the world

Venue scores
Value
Ambience
Cleanliness
Spa Facilities
Staff
Treatment scores


Verified (?) Visited Mar 2015

The hot lava shell massage was amazing, very relaxing and helped to relieve tension. I will definitely go again and recommend it

Venue scores
Staff
Ambience
Cleanliness
Value
Treatment scores

Anonymous



Verified (?) Visited Mar 2015

I had a Lava Shells Massage Treatments and have awarded it 4 stars.

Treatment scores

Find lava shells massage near you

Contains Ordnance Survey data © Crown copyright and database right 2013

Today's top offer for lava shells massage