Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.0

66 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
Urban Beauty South Bank
Urban Beauty South Bank
1 Gabriel's Wharf,
56 Upper Ground, South Bank, London, SE1 9PP
United Kingdom

Salon

Urban Beauty South Bank
1 Gabriel's Wharf,
56 Upper Ground, South Bank, London, SE1 9PP
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Tue - Closed -
Wed 11:00 am - 7:00 pm
Thur - Fri 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Venue type: Salon in South Bank
Tagged as: Salon

Urban Beauty South Bank

Tucked away in Gabriels Wharf on Londons famous Southbank you'll find our small but beautiful Boutique salon, here our priority is you... we want you to enjoy your experience here with us and for you to receive that extra special touch each and every time.

Our treatments are of the highest standard, using various top quality professional brands but our prices are always kept as low as possible and we think you'll agree... their prices that bring smiles!

We are stockist of Eve Taylor and offer a wonderful range of facials which all include the amazing Systems of Analaysis™ where we look at you from the inside out and taylor a treatment plan to suit your every need.

We want to look after you from inside to outside and from top to toe!

We also use systems such as OPI, Essie, Couture, Creative, Minx, Shellac, along with others.

We provide Couture Spray Tans giving you that perfect golden glow ( not orange! ) all year round without risking harmful rays of the sun. Our tans are only £20 and like all of our services are regulary discounted with promotions and special offers.

By joining our mailing list you will be able to view our online calendar which details regular special offers and promotions, this service is only available and promotions redeemable by registered members.

Urban Beauty is available for private hire for Pamper Parties, Tanning Parties, Little Ladies Parties & for other special occasions, please contact us for more details.

See more

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

4.0

Chain rating

Based on 66 reviews

5 stars 26
4 stars 20
3 stars 10
2 stars 4
1 star 6
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (7)
  • Face
  • Eye Treatments (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (7)
  • Waxing (11)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (24)
  • Manicure (27)
  • Minx Nails (1)
  • Pedicure (18)
  • Two Week Manicure (2)
Show more
Posted 2 years ago
Decent salon in a great location. Deal for a two week gel manicure and pedicure was well worth the money although I've now invested in my own gelish kit as I was spending far too much money on getting my nails done.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2012
Posted 2 years ago
A very small shop, but overall done a good job. The therapist I had was quite a young lady who was still partly at college, but overall her manicure and pedicure was satisfactory. They did not have a great range of colours to choose from so that was a little disappointing.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I recently purchased a voucher on dealcloud for a shellac manicure for £12 and I kept ringing the number at the salon to book an appointment and nobody ever picked up! It was such a waste of time and so disappointing that nobody called me back. I even left voicemails and emailed them to book an appointment and got nothing in return.

As a customer their service is terrible and I wouldn't recommend this salon to anybody. Luckily I made a complaint to dealcloud for promoting such an unreliable and unprofessional company and I was refunded the full amount. Not worth the hassle ever again in the future.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I hadn't had one of these before so wasn't sure what to expect but overall the place was good and I was satisfied with the result. I would definitely consider recommending this to a friend or family member.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I visited the salon using a voucher in later December with no real expectations. I'd had an appointment cancelled on me but had also had to reschedule myself - the appointment system was surprisingly strict considering it was quite flawed.

The salon was tiny - I had my mani-pedi done in the front room with the December wind whistling through - it was pretty chilly!

My beautician was a trainee and the only person in the shop so had to keep getting up to answer the phone etc. The standard of the equipment was the fanciest and the treatment took AGES. I had never had gel nails before and they were not sufficiently explained to me nor was I told the procedure for removing them. The next time I went for a mani-pedi somewhere else they were horrified by how my nails looked - the gels had had a really negative impact on the health of my nails.

The quality of the mani-pedi wasn't great either - the gel was so thick on my thumb that it rippled and bubbled and had to be cut off within days because it kept catching on things.

All in all, I was not terribly impressed and probably wouldn't recommend it for that treatment.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 2 years ago
When I walked in I was greeted with a smile and put at ease, the treatment was explained to me in full every stage was explained, the treatment itself was carried out with the utmost care and I was given plenty of time

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Cute little salon near the river in London. The lady that owns the salon is lovely. They don't always pick up the phone so leave a message and they always come back to you so not for lastminute appointments - you need to plan this.

the mnicure was good and lasted a couple of weeks but would be nice if they added some more colours.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Small but friendly and very professional. Made me feel like a queen. The proprietor made me feel special and was very attentive and went out of her way to please me regarding colour choices. Lovely location. K from Brixton

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Quite a small location but easy to find on the river and a nice spot. the therapist was very nice and the manicure was good. It was a two week manicure and lasted well. You have to call and leave a message and they do come back to you but you wont be able to get a last minute appointment so best to book in advance.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 3 years ago
The therapist was very friendly and the location was nice. However I had booked in to have the gel which was already on my nails soaked off. When I arrived there the therapist had not been notified of this, luckily she had time to do this for me. Unfortunatley my nails were not that neat and the gel started peeling off after a week. Overall it was a satisfactory experience for the price however I would not return as a regular customer.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
The service is poor. They never answer the phone or respond to queries, I finally got an appointment and very unimpressed with the quality (didnt last a day!)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Lovely little place. The beautician was a little inexperienced (2 months worth of experience only) but did well and was very pleasant. Overall a good experience - mani & pedi took approx. 1hour to complete.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I bought a gel mani/pedi package on Wahanda for this salon in August 2010 - I have since been trying to book an appointment and have failed to get any response after an initial email offering appointment times (my first appointment had to be cancelled due to illness). I have called numerous times and not once has anyone picked up the phone.

Overall I am extremely disappointed in the service (or lack of), I would expect aty least a courtesy confirmation if you are booking an appointment via email, but I have not heard back at all and am not willing to travel from North London to the Southbank without knowing if I have an appointment!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
This venue is small but perfectly formed and very relaxing, which you don't always get on a Saturday morning in a London Salon. The staff were extremely honest and helpful and very knowledgeable about the products and made me feel very comfortable and at home. I would definitely recommend this salon and the gel nail treatment, I had a mani and pedi done and am very happy with them!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 3 years ago
A sweet, small salon, with a lovely young girl doing treatments.

Products are excellent quality and the atmosphere is quiet and calm in the salon.

Would visit again - excellent value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Wasn't very satisfied to be honest, the owner was lovely, but the therapist was awkward and didn't really do a good job. I had to ask to tidy up the nails, as she was only going to shape them and paint, even though it said it was a manicure that i had paid for. The lines on cuticle were not straight, and the paint was too thick, so a 2-week manicure lasted all of 4 days! What a waste of money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I went to Urban Beauty for a Gel Manicure and Pedicure. The therapist was very fiendly and professional. The treatment lasted nearly two hours and it looked amazing.
The gel manicure lasted over two weeks, unfortunatly my nails now feel very week.
I will definately go back to this place but I am afraid I will not be having the gel manicure again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

3 years ago
Hi, thank you for such lovely feedback. I'm sorry that your nails feel weak now, did you remove the Gel professionally? as picking or peeling it off would cause damage o the nails. Why dont you pop in and we'll take a look, we can pop some strengthener on too for you, free of charge. Hope to see you soon :)

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I arranged to have a classic manicure/pedicure instead as I did not want the gel ones. The therapist arrived late so I had to wait for about 10mins outside (I rang and email the owner to complain and she offered me a discount on a future treatment). The therapist was nice and seemed professional. However, the pedicure was done very quickly : feet in the water, cleaning of the nails (filing ...) then application of the varnish. No scrubbing or massage. Then the manicure: same, removed the cuticles, filing and applied the nail varnish.
The varnish did not last long and started to chip after 6 days.
I don't think I will go back to Urban Beauty as I had better manicure/pedicure elsewhere.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

3 years ago
Hi Anne,
i'm sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your treatment with us. Your right, your Therapist was a little late opening today, although we dont actually open until 11am on Saturdays and had I had arranged to open up earlier so that you could have your requested slot but I am sorry for the delay. Its a shame you hadnt told me sooner that you were not happy with your treatment as I could of arranged for it to be redone, we pride ourselves on giving 100% on each and every treatment so im very sorry to hear that you wasn't happy with yours. When I emailed you to apologise and offer you a future discount you replied : " Hayley, no worries, I just thought the salon was not open. Treatment was all good, Thanks" So I assumed that everything was ok, I can only apologise.
I do hope that you visit us again so that we can offer you a top class treatment....
Hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Hayley

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I've been hear a couple of times now. It's brilliantly placed, not far from Waterloo station.

The salon is small but perfectly formed. I felt so relaxed and at ease. The beautician (Hayley I think her name was - sorry, I'm rubbish with names!) was so friendly and down to earth, yet professional. She paid attention to detail and is clearly a perfectionist!

The products used were Harmony Gelish, which is definitely the best extended wear nail polish I have experienced. It lasted throughout my (beach) holiday perfectly.

I would recommend and would visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

3 years ago
Fab review Suzie...thanks you so much!
We hope to see you soon x


(we use Gellux not Gellish)

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2011
Posted 3 years ago
It was very hard to get an appointment here BUT the treatment was fantastic! The young therapist was a true perfectionist - exactly what you want from a nail technician! She did a wonderful job that lasted ages - especially on my toes! I'd highly recommend this service and this venue!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

3 years ago
Wow, thank you for such a lovely review, hope to see you soon :)

Report as inappropriate

Show earlier reviews

Venues nearby

See more venues in South Bank