Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.7

371 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
The Secret Spa at Village Farm
The Secret Spa at Village Farm
Middle Road,
Shilbottle, Alnwick, Northumberland, NE66 2XS
United Kingdom

Day Spa

The Secret Spa at Village Farm
Middle Road,
Shilbottle, Alnwick, Northumberland, NE66 2XS
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.7

Chain rating

Based on 371 reviews

5 stars 264
4 stars 92
3 stars 14
2 stars 1
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (4)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (43)
  • Body Treatments (4)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (3)
  • Face
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (6)
  • Facials (70)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (3)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (23)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (54)
  • Balinese Massage (5)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (12)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Reflexology (3)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (3)
  • Swedish Massage (20)
  • Therapeutic Massage (12)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (42)
  • Pedicure (5)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 week ago
Couldn't have asked for a better afternoon lovely staff that help you have an enjoyable experience would recommend to my friends and family

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 week ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
This was my 4th annual visit and it never fails to disappoint. It is an excellent value for money! ^_^

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
I love coming here! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. My manicure experience is always wonderful and relaxing. I have this manicure a few times a year and it's always perfect and lasts for ages.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
Wonderful way to spend an hour, the girls are great, really friendly and good at what they do. I'll be back

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
Loved the spa and salt scrub. So relaxing like
The lunch was lovely and all the staff were so friendly

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
I had a Manicure Treatments and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
The Secret Spa is nice once you get there, but the booking process is difficult and off-putting. I got the afternoon spa booked initially without too much trouble, but booking the treatments is a real pain. Firstly, the brochure doesn't give treatment times, so it's very difficult to guess what you will be able to fit into 3 hours. I chose two treatments, but was told they would take too long. From there it was a series of emails and phone calls - very difficult as they seem very reluctant to take on a receptionist - and I was still emailing to try and agree the treatments on the morning of my appointment. So it's a stressful process, when the point of the thing is to have an afternoon's relaxation. The next problem was that when I arrived, I was asked if I wanted to 'hire' the gown and towel for £15, which was returnable. I can understand that things go missing, but there was no notice of this, and it wasn't required when I've been before. When I questioned this, I was told that the website gives this information. It doesn't - it says towels will be provided, but I can't see anywhere where it mentions this hire charge. It's a shame because the place and the treatments are nice, if you can put up with that amount of hassle.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 weeks ago
Hi Elaine,
Thank you for your comment!
I will try and answer these issues for you.
We are so glad you enjoyed you time with us.
I'm sorry you experienced stress with the booking system, this is unusual, however, we have thought about a receptionist, and discussed it with our regular clients. The majority agreed that they preferred not to have one as it would obviously incur price rises to the client.
We also used to give treatment times on the brochure but this caused problems as clients would literally clock watch, we want our clients to come, switch off and thoroughly relax!! Most people have a rough idea of basic treatment times so this isn't usually an issue. The system won't allow you to book a treatment if there isn't sufficient time which is why you were having difficulties.
With regards to the deposit for gowns etc, we have recently like many other spas had to introduce the deposit due to guests taking items home! It does state this in the 'good to know section' when you book online. We did also send an email to all of our client list informing them of these changes.
I hope this helps and thank you once again for your constructive comments.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
Had my first ESPA Intensive facial today and I can't recommend it enough. I was so relaxed I nearly fell asleep! My skin was noticeably brighter and more hydrated. Will definitely be back for another.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
Got to say this was one of the best facial s I have ever had.My skin looks radiant and to use the word relaxing is an understatement.Kayla explains exactly what she is doing and always manages to make me feel a million dollars by the time I leave!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
This was my second visit for a massage and I have already booked another; actions speak louder than words!
However, I find the staff and facilities superb. I find it difficult to believe that I can emerge so relaxed and yet with invigorated back muscles. The girls are caring and efficient.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
I would defiantly recommend The Secret Spa and have since done so! I had a facial which was pure heaven, I was so impressed that I have booked for further treatments and they can't come soon enough ��

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
With the hour long pedicure you really have a chance to pamper your feet. I have had this treatment a few times now and find the staff are always really friendly. The Secret Spa is a real gem in Northumberland.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
As always, friendly staff who made me feel very welcome and relaxed. Great ambience and treatment. I love going to the Secret Spa!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review