Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

1.0

1 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Studio 52 London
Studio 52 London
52 Shaftesbury Avenue,
Shaftesbury Mansion, London, W1D 6LP
United Kingdom

Makeup Studio

Studio 52 London
52 Shaftesbury Avenue,
Shaftesbury Mansion, London, W1D 6LP
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sat - Sun - Closed -
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Studio 52 London

Located in the heart of London's vibrant West End, our experienced and skilled team has been hand picked for their friendliness and ability to get the best out of our customers.

We know that for most people the thought of having their picture taken fills them with dread, but through years of experience we know how to make it both relaxing and enjoyable.

See more

Services

Services at this venue are not bookable online. Why not check out the other bookable venues near Leicester Square?
A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

1.0

Chain rating

Based on 1 reviews

5 stars 0
4 stars 0
3 stars 0
2 stars 0
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Posted 9 months ago
There was a few things that I wasn't happy about. First of all and probably the reason why I am writing this review is that I still haven't been refunded my deposit, one month after the session took place, when it is clear it should have been by now as my friend and I didn't buy any extra photographs.
There was also a lot of waiting around, however I must say this was nothing to do with the staff but because of two divas (a mother and her daughter) who wanted to have the same hairdresser and so created a domino effect in which everyone else who was after them (so basically pretty much everyone that day) had to wait around for more than an hour...It makes me think maybe it should have been handled differently by the staff? I don't know.
In what refers to the make up professionals and specially the photographer I must be fair and say they did an incredible job and they were lovely people, making us feel at ease and also happy to be there.
However the last guy (the one who goes through the photographs with you for the selection process and asks you if you want to buy more) who you would assume should be the nicest -to leave us a good impression so we recommend this to other people! or even only to make us feel comfortable and buy a few more pictures, was not.
After all the waiting around we've had to stand, he rushed us through the selection process, making us feel uncomfortable for taking our time on deciding on the one picture we were able to take after the 500 we must have been taken. Had this guy been nicer, or had we been contacted a week later for an apology about the waiting or asking us if we would like to buy more pictures before deleting them, I would've probably been more relaxed to buy at least one more picture, or at least, not so unhappy about the waiting because it necessarily didn't have to do with them, but to be rushed in the final part because of other clients was really not OK, and neither is the fact that I haven't been refunded my deposit yet.
It really is a shame that because of the managing team, our experience was not as good as I must insist that the creative staff was really great. I hope they take this as a constructive review and learn from these mistakes for future clients.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Hi Andrea, We're so glad you enjoyed your time with our creative team but obviously really sorry you had to wait and then felt rushed. We try to be as accommodating as possible (even with the divas!) to ensure all of our customers have a unique experience, which sometimes delays us a little. From our records we can see that we have refunded your deposit, if this is not the case please contact us immediately on 0207 734 5200, in order for us to rectify the situation. Kind Regards Studio 52 London Customer Care Team

Report as inappropriate

Venues nearby

See more venues in Leicester Square