Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

150 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
spa LONDON at York Hall Leisure Centre
spa LONDON at York Hall Leisure Centre
York Hall Leisure Centre,
5 Old Ford Road, Bethnal Green, London, E2 9PJ
United Kingdom

Day Spa

spa LONDON at York Hall Leisure Centre
York Hall Leisure Centre,
5 Old Ford Road, Bethnal Green, London, E2 9PJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

spa LONDON at York Hall Leisure Centre part of Spa London   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 150 reviews

5 stars 59
4 stars 62
3 stars 16
2 stars 3
1 star 10
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (3)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (5)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Body Wraps (18)
  • Cellulite Treatments (1)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (1)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (11)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (29)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (1)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (2)
  • Facials (14)
  • Makeup Treatments (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (11)
  • Hollywood Waxing (4)
  • Waxing (9)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (10)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (2)
  • Swedish Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (7)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (2)
  • Manicure (8)
  • Pedicure (9)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Overall I enjoyed the thermal spa however the facility didn't impress me in terms of ambiance, staff or cleanliness..
I give it 3 start as in my opinion was only "Ok"

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
A crowded smelly place, no pool, water dispensers empty, staff yelling at eachother in the relaxation lounge, okish saunas but not much to do apart from that, not worth £25 each!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
Was pleasantly surprised, it is exactly as the photos have shown. A friend and I went a week ago for the first time and enjoyed it thoroughly absolutely relaxing . Will definately be going again. Value for money. Found the staff very helpful.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
Not impressed at all. The venue smelt of mould and actually gave me a sore chest. The message was not as expected as the girls who done it must of been a trainee even thought I paid top prices. I felt like I wasted my money going - would never return!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I have visited Spa London before and always look forward to relaxing there. I visited this time during the week just before lunchtime and so the steam and sauna facilities were nice and quiet. This is not always the case so be warned large hen parties and groups of friends do book and can be very chatty throughout the visit!
The staff were helpful and the facilities clean. With my voucher I also had an express facial which was great! The therapist was friendly yet professional and the Elemis products used were lovely. Great value.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I haven't been to this spa for over a year - things have changed! While it is still good value for money, especially with the back and shoulder massage, the staff and facilities are not as good as before. Some staff showed some new members around the area whereas other new members were asking people have to sauna and use the facilities as they 'don't show people around'. Surely this is a health and safety risk .

However a nice way to catch up with an old friend!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The waxing treatment that I received here was very good and the therapist was considerate and friendly throughout. The rooms and general environment of the spa were lovely and very calming.
However, they're a nightmare to get hold of over the telephone and had to leave several answer phone messages to be able to make an appointment as I didn't want to book online (I already had a wahanda voucher).
I would go to this salon again as the treatment was good but my next appointment is somewhere else as I've given up trying to contact them.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
My girlfriend and i went on saturday ladies only day for the spa experience. Unfortunately, there were at least 3 large groups of young women I think on some kind of hen do. They were so NOISY and LOUD it was the complete opposite of relaxing!! In fact it was about as relaxing as been on the tube!

They were laughing, shouting and chatting loudly non stop in every spa room . We tried to get some peace in the ironically named the relaxation room which doubled as a communial area, but a new group of loud and chatty women were there too.. so essentially there was no peace or quiet. Hardly relaxing ... I would have been more relaxed at home. The other guests there were also annoyed by the noisy chater. However, when I notified the staff, they did absolutely nothing about it.
The staff were overall not very helpful or friendly and seemed to care about the noise disruption. There should be a sign at least in relaxtion room to be quiet or make it separate from communial area.

Will definitely NOT be going back. Least relaxing spa ever.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
I wanted to amend my review above. After speaking with the manager today. She was very understanding and took on board my feedback. Therefore, I decided to go back as the spa itself was good with great sauna and steam rooms, but will go during a weekday when there are no hen group as they are booked on Saturdays

Report as inappropriate

Posted 2 years ago
This was my first visit to spa LONDON I was recommended by a friend, well I was not disappointed, lovely friendly staff who answered all my questions when I arrived and made me feel really welcome,
My husband had a Swedish Massage and he said that it was fantastic and that he will be coming back for more, I had a Gel Manicure and was very pleased with the colour, I was also able to go straight into the spa into the wet areas and didn't have to wait for it to dry brilliant as I didn't waste any time in the thermal area as this was amazing, so many rooms to choose from and very clean and tidy.
A brilliant day out and very good treatments we will be coming back very soon well worth the money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I went to use the thermal spa here and it is just what i needed, being that its reaching -2 degrees outside at the moment. this is just what the doctor ordered. Quality steam rooms, relaxation, traditional turkish hot rooms, hammam, sauna, bucket shower if your brave enough! i stayed away from the bucket shower its cold enough outside....but maybe in the summer ill try the cold treatments! Would more than recommend Spa London!! great place, great staff!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I went to spa LONDON for the first time in November 2012, with a group of friends! we all used the facilties and had a package! my treatment was fantastic! one of the best massages ive ever had! very good pressure from a therapist named Marlena! Facilties where great, great price! I would definitely recommend it :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I have been to this venue a few times now always on a Male only day as these are not as busy as the mixed sessions, good value for money and nice facilities, staff are friendly and you can get a good lunch.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Having been here with my husband on a 'Mixed' day and been pleasantly surprised at the facilities, I was horrified to find out what goes on on a 'Men only' day.

According to my husband who went on a 'Men only' day, he witnessed not one but two men shaving while in the steam room; One gentleman using soap and gels to wash while in the steam room; and finally one man urinating in the communal shower in the hammam!

It has put us off EVER going again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 2 years ago
This was my second gel mani and pedi at Spa London. The first was decent, but the second time around was better. Very please with the result on my toes, and the polish on my nails was applied in a better/more consistent fashion this time around (though still not 100% pleased with the result). That said, it is never actually a proper mani/pedi - more like a gel polish application, though for the price, I'm not really complaining. Would go again if teh deal ever comes back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
The location was great. I was amazed at how much there was.
A freezing plunge pool which was invigorating,
A hot and cold power shower,
A cold bucket shower,
2 different sauna rooms with different temperatures,
3 heated rooms leading from the coolest to the hottest,
sauna,
relaxation area with beds and tables and chairs with 3 containers of water with plain water, water with cucumber and water with lemon.
It's a shame that there were 4 groups of people who were having a full blown, in depth conversation at normal speaking volume and their voices echoed thru the chambers. Everyone else had the courtesy of speaking low to the people they were with.
I would go again, possibly during the day mid-week so it's not crowded.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
Forgot to advise. Very easy from the tube station.
When I was waiting to check in, service from the Staff wasn't that good. I waited approx 5mins while one staff member was on the phone and the other one was walking off, after seeing that I was waiting and didn't see to me or acknowledge me. The second didn't seem professional. She was wearing a granny looking cardigan over her uniform.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Very easy to find and very close to Bethnal Green tube station.
The place looks ok but not immaculate: the floor was wetin the changing rooms (puddles like in a swimming pool), the tap i used to wash my hands was broken and the receptionist was polite but not smiley.
The therapist I had however was lovely and professional and the treatment was - as far as i can tell - well executed (it was the first time i had it).
I have been to more luxurious spas before so I can tell the difference in terms of client management and facilities but overall, the place is nice and for the price, it is worth it!
I would recommend the place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Lovely spa surroundings, very peaceful and relaxed. Treatment itself was great, not relaxing because it's basically like a work out - with the therapist working on your muscles - it's actually pretty painful although you do then have a wrap and that part is pretty relaxing as you are cocooned and I drifted off to sleep! I was told afterwards that having one of these wasn't going to make any difference - you need to have at least six! Therapist was friendly enough. I would recommend as a spa facility - mainly because of the surroundings, you can also then book in to use the spa itself - so make a day of it :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
The customer service on entry wasn't fantastic and I did have to wait a while to be seen. That said, they were having staffing issues (I think someone was off sick), so I suppose it was understandable. The therapist was very friendly and seemed to know what she was doing. I didn't feel the manicure was done as well as I would have hoped (though, I am something of a perfectionist), but no issues with the pedicure . So my rating above ifs a 3 for the gel nails mani and 4 for the gel nails pedi.

All in all, not bad for the price at all. Not the height of luxury/pampering, but they definitelyget the job done in a pleasant enough enviorment - would use again (if still half price).

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
Thank you for your review, its good to hear how you found your experience with us so we can look to continually improve the services we offer. Hope you visit us again soon.

Report as inappropriate

Posted 2 years ago
Excellent facilities, clean, professional, friendly, every single last detail has been thought of. Use of the Spa is really good value for money the treatments are not that great in terms of value compared to other places but still good with a great range of treatment types. My first visit was 6 weeks ago and I have had 2 treatments each week since my initial visit. You would never think you are literally situated in the middle of Bethnal Green! I have my own business and find that as soon as I enter the spa I am completely relaxed, does what it says on the tin! Fantastic local inner city spa!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
Thank you for your review Sammie, its great to hear your feedback . We look forward to welcoming you again soon to spa LONDON.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I have been here a few times and always leave happy. The geleration manicure lasts a good two weeks and I think its excellent value. I believe the usual price is £30 but I bought a voucher for £15 through Wahanda, bargain! Highly recommend. Have visited the spa before, really spacious and good fun with a group of friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
Great to hear your feedback, we are pleased you have visited us a few times now and have left happy on each occassion. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report as inappropriate