Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

63 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Spa at Norton House Hotel and Spa
Spa at Norton House Hotel and Spa
Norton House Hotel and Spa,
Ingliston, Edinburgh, EH28 8LX
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Spa at Norton House Hotel and Spa
Norton House Hotel and Spa,
Ingliston, Edinburgh, EH28 8LX
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Chain rating

Based on 63 reviews

5 stars 37
4 stars 19
3 stars 4
2 stars 2
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (2)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Hydrotherapy (2)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (32)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (3)
  • Face
  • Facials (12)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (4)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (15)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (5)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 10 months ago
Great service, really enjoyed our experience and would recommend it to others looking for a great relaxing spa day, everything was good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 11 months ago
This is a great spa. Good value and the tea and treatments were both lovely . This is my second visit to Norton House and I am looking forward to my third!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 11 months ago
The staff were super conscientious from the moment we arrived. Guided tour, lunch was all arranged, table reserved. Clean gowns and slippers and the facilities were spotless. My only negative would be not enough beds beside the pool for the amount of guests. Other than that I would recommend this venue to everyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea & Pamper Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The relaxation room was bliss! The only thing I would have changed is my treatment time because I don't like going in the pool etc after a massage

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
On arrival (24th July), receptionist was quite unhelpful. I had booked a spa break, dinner, B&B deal on lastminute.com and had booked an additional second night directly with the hotel. That was quite some time ago and had not received anything from the hotel to detail all that was included in the deal. No information was provided from the receptionist. She did not tell us about breakfast, timings or location. I had to ask where the spa was. She asked did we need a dinner reservation, I said that was included and she cheekily said that she knew that and what time. Table was booked, no explanation of location of the restaurant or in fact , which one. She handed over key and gave brief instruction of room location.

The room interior was nice but the heat in the room was unbearable. No air-conditioning and a window that could only open 2 inches max. it was a lot hotter in the room than outside, granted this was probably the best days of the year but it really was unbearable. No fan provided. As a result, we slept very poorly both nights. I think a 4* hotel should consider improved ventilation. The room interior was well presented and clean but i think the hallways and general appearance of the hotel could be improved, some areas out-dated and in need of some TLC.

On 24th we went to spa. All staff at the spa were lovely. However, we had just under a one hour slot for lunch. The food was very nice (included) and we both opted for a soft drink (not explained if included or not). Our therapist came looking for us for our next appointment after lunch. I looked for the waiter but he was nowhere to be seen (no other staff present). I assumed the drinks were included in the price or that we would pay when exiting the spa (standard procedure with many spas I have visited). The treatments were very enjoyable and on exiting the spa we both went to spa reception to enquire if we were required to pay anything. We were politely told that everything had been paid for in advance.

Later on that evening we went to the bar for a drink. I was told loudly in front of other staff members and hotel guests that I had not paid for my drinks in the spa and would need to pay for them now. I found this highly embarrassing and explained what had happened. I proceed to pay for them but in hindsight, I am angry that I was treated and made to feel embarrassed in front of other guests and staff. This was not our fault.

I went for an additional treatment of a gel manicure and the quality of this was very poor. It is the most expensive manicure I have ever paid for yet the quality is the poorest. I had to return the following day due to a chip which they did rectify but they have lasted less than a week, I have experienced more than 2 weeks of no chips with far cheaper price paid. I would not recommend this treatment at all. If I did not live such a distance away I would have returned and asked for them to be redone or to receive a refund.

We went with the option of breakfast in our room on the first morning (fee of £3). Not everything that we asked for was delivered.

The evening meal in the Brasserie was nice but I’m glad I wasn't paying the full cost of it as didn't really seem value for money. The wine was ok but expensive at £31, not the quality I would expect at that price.

On the second evening we phoned reception to ask for ice, as offered in the welcome pack. After waiting 45 minutes I had to phone again. It came 10 minutes later.

We decided to watch a DVD in the room. The DVD player would not work. Phoned reception, a very helpful member of staff tried to resolve this and explained that the DVD we had was too modern for the system but they had a list at reception which he assured us would work. We selected a classic but this did not work either. This was somewhat disappointing.

Overall, I think the hotel needs to pay more attention to detail. If the aim is to offer additional services to please guests then they really have to put more effort into delivering this otherwise it’s all just a bit of a disappointment.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
We had a great day out with the Rasul Spa experience. The spa was clean, had everything we needed and more importantly, we felt completely relaxed and could take the whole day to enjoy what was on offer. Not once did we feel that we were going to be pestered to buy any of the products or take out a membership, which is what often happens on spa days. We will definitely be going back to Norton Hotel and Spa for more!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Fabulous chill out day. Visit here regularly with my mum as a treat for her. Real luxury. Best spa venue we have visited.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
We decided to visit Norton House as a treat, and with the cost of treatments and access it was quite a 'big' treat for us in terms of expense, so our expectations were high!

On arrival we realised that areas of the spa were open to children for parts of the day, as this was the only pool at the hotel. It was not entirely relaxing to be sat at the side hearing screaming and getting splashed - and some parents were taking their young children into the hydrotherapy pool (where they were not supposed to). No member of staff sought to enforce the policy.

Our first treatments - the modern facial - were excellent. It was very relaxing, the therapist was responsive to questions and requests and my skin felt revitalised at the end. I'd definitely recommend this.

The relaxation room was also lovely. I fell asleep after my facial it was so peaceful and comfortable! Spot on. My only gripe is that there were no mugs for tea - but these were easy to find in the main waiting area.

The food (we had a one course lunch as part of our deal) was exceptional. I was thoroughly impressed and we both really enjoyed our meals (the parpadelle and gnocci).

After lunch we did the rasul treatment. Perhaps we hadn't read up on this but it was pretty disappointing. You self-apply some runny, thin mud to your body which remains slimy due to the steam in the room and then rinse it off following with some moisturiser. Not quite the 'mud bath' we have imagined! If that is what you're looking for it's probably fine, but this felt very disappointing, particularly with the price tag.

The final part of our day was a massage. My friend has a great time. However, when I was left to get on the table I found it to be soaking wet. The towels perhaps hadn't been changed, or the previous client had soaked through on to the table below. This was quite unpleasant. The room itself was also messy, with what felt like ex foliating granules underfoot on the floor and puddles. When the therapist returned about 5 minutes later (also excessive and eating into treatment time as it was never going to take that long to remove a robe and get under a towel) I asked for this to be addressed. She did apologise, and hurriedly changed the towels. I climbed onto the bed, and asked for the heat mat to be turned on as the room was also quite cold. She said that this room did not have one (not her usual room apparently - although the place wasn't busy so I don't know why a normal massage room wasn't used). I was quite disappointed as I was clearly shivering. She did turn up the heat (although I did not notice this) and gave me a duvet. This naturally does not help all that much given most of the time half of your body is uncovered for the treatment.

After the rather disappointing end to the day I was surprised that at no point when we were exiting did any member of staff ask how our experience had been. While aspects were good, as noted above, a lot left a bit to be desired and recognition of this and apology would have gone a long way. The cynic in my assumes that given they had my money they didn't care!

In summary, room for improvement:
- clearly advertising that the pool is not for exclusive use of adults, and before 11 and after 4 (or 5 - I can't remember) children may be present
- staff enforcing the no children policy in areas other than the pool!
- room preparation ahead of treatments
- checking in with customers on the conclusion of their day to see how it went

The highlights:
- The excellent food and staff in the dining area - also very reasonable prices given the quality on offer
- The relaxation room
- The facial experience

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Inspired Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea & Pamper Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely day and great spa. Highly recommend this venue to others looking for a place to relax and unwind. Food great too!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Loved it, we shall return sometime very soon. great value for money and teh staff where in my opinion very polite and where happy to answer any questions and helpful.
5*+

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Rasul Spa Day Getaway Experience For Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Inspired Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Rasul Spa Day Experience For Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I have been to Norton House before and have never left any less than 100% relaxed and satisfied with my visit. T he staff are wonderful, the facilities amazing and the treatments are to die for!

However this particular trip discovered in house deal on rasul was much cheaper, treatment room wasnt working properly and led to use having to get dressed again to go and find someone to turn it on mid way through and the member of staff responsible was not as good as former experiences.

This is an amazing place and well worth a visit (best spa experience Ive ever had) but not on this occasion. disappointing!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Facilities and vanue were very nice; clean and user friendly.
Rasul and Mud treatment was a good fun but would say a one off experience for me.
Would recoment the venue though, ah and lunch was good too.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
What a great place ... love the thermal pool, love the treatments and value-for-money packages and LOVE the Elemis Products!! Have now visited this Spa twice in as many months and already planning our next girlie trip ... this time with an overnight stay so we can enjoy some sparkling wine too!! Thanks a lot for a great, relaxing, chill-out piece of heaven just outside Edinburgh. Thanks, see you again soon! :-)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The Norton House Spa is my favourite spa. I love the hydrotherapy pool.

I had an exotic moisture dew facial which left my skin feeling soft and fabulous and then later in the day I had a back, neck and shoulder massage combined with hot stones. My therapist for the day was Laura K and she was excellent - my massage had the right level of pressure.

The whole day was very relaxing and my only comment for improvement is for a reduction on prices mainly of the drinks as a tea or coffee was around £3.80 which is very expensive

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review