Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

55 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Spa at Norton House Hotel and Spa
Spa at Norton House Hotel and Spa
Norton House Hotel and Spa,
Ingliston, Edinburgh, EH28 8LX
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Spa at Norton House Hotel and Spa
Norton House Hotel and Spa,
Ingliston, Edinburgh, EH28 8LX
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Chain rating

Based on 55 reviews

5 stars 32
4 stars 17
3 stars 4
2 stars 2
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (2)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Hydrotherapy (2)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (26)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (3)
  • Face
  • Facials (12)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (4)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (6)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (15)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (5)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 11 months ago
We decided to visit Norton House as a treat, and with the cost of treatments and access it was quite a 'big' treat for us in terms of expense, so our expectations were high!

On arrival we realised that areas of the spa were open to children for parts of the day, as this was the only pool at the hotel. It was not entirely relaxing to be sat at the side hearing screaming and getting splashed - and some parents were taking their young children into the hydrotherapy pool (where they were not supposed to). No member of staff sought to enforce the policy.

Our first treatments - the modern facial - were excellent. It was very relaxing, the therapist was responsive to questions and requests and my skin felt revitalised at the end. I'd definitely recommend this.

The relaxation room was also lovely. I fell asleep after my facial it was so peaceful and comfortable! Spot on. My only gripe is that there were no mugs for tea - but these were easy to find in the main waiting area.

The food (we had a one course lunch as part of our deal) was exceptional. I was thoroughly impressed and we both really enjoyed our meals (the parpadelle and gnocci).

After lunch we did the rasul treatment. Perhaps we hadn't read up on this but it was pretty disappointing. You self-apply some runny, thin mud to your body which remains slimy due to the steam in the room and then rinse it off following with some moisturiser. Not quite the 'mud bath' we have imagined! If that is what you're looking for it's probably fine, but this felt very disappointing, particularly with the price tag.

The final part of our day was a massage. My friend has a great time. However, when I was left to get on the table I found it to be soaking wet. The towels perhaps hadn't been changed, or the previous client had soaked through on to the table below. This was quite unpleasant. The room itself was also messy, with what felt like ex foliating granules underfoot on the floor and puddles. When the therapist returned about 5 minutes later (also excessive and eating into treatment time as it was never going to take that long to remove a robe and get under a towel) I asked for this to be addressed. She did apologise, and hurriedly changed the towels. I climbed onto the bed, and asked for the heat mat to be turned on as the room was also quite cold. She said that this room did not have one (not her usual room apparently - although the place wasn't busy so I don't know why a normal massage room wasn't used). I was quite disappointed as I was clearly shivering. She did turn up the heat (although I did not notice this) and gave me a duvet. This naturally does not help all that much given most of the time half of your body is uncovered for the treatment.

After the rather disappointing end to the day I was surprised that at no point when we were exiting did any member of staff ask how our experience had been. While aspects were good, as noted above, a lot left a bit to be desired and recognition of this and apology would have gone a long way. The cynic in my assumes that given they had my money they didn't care!

In summary, room for improvement:
- clearly advertising that the pool is not for exclusive use of adults, and before 11 and after 4 (or 5 - I can't remember) children may be present
- staff enforcing the no children policy in areas other than the pool!
- room preparation ahead of treatments
- checking in with customers on the conclusion of their day to see how it went

The highlights:
- The excellent food and staff in the dining area - also very reasonable prices given the quality on offer
- The relaxation room
- The facial experience

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Inspired Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea & Pamper Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely day and great spa. Highly recommend this venue to others looking for a place to relax and unwind. Food great too!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Loved it, we shall return sometime very soon. great value for money and teh staff where in my opinion very polite and where happy to answer any questions and helpful.
5*+

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Rasul Spa Day Getaway Experience For Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Inspired Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Rasul Spa Day Experience For Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I have been to Norton House before and have never left any less than 100% relaxed and satisfied with my visit. T he staff are wonderful, the facilities amazing and the treatments are to die for!

However this particular trip discovered in house deal on rasul was much cheaper, treatment room wasnt working properly and led to use having to get dressed again to go and find someone to turn it on mid way through and the member of staff responsible was not as good as former experiences.

This is an amazing place and well worth a visit (best spa experience Ive ever had) but not on this occasion. disappointing!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Facilities and vanue were very nice; clean and user friendly.
Rasul and Mud treatment was a good fun but would say a one off experience for me.
Would recoment the venue though, ah and lunch was good too.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
What a great place ... love the thermal pool, love the treatments and value-for-money packages and LOVE the Elemis Products!! Have now visited this Spa twice in as many months and already planning our next girlie trip ... this time with an overnight stay so we can enjoy some sparkling wine too!! Thanks a lot for a great, relaxing, chill-out piece of heaven just outside Edinburgh. Thanks, see you again soon! :-)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The Norton House Spa is my favourite spa. I love the hydrotherapy pool.

I had an exotic moisture dew facial which left my skin feeling soft and fabulous and then later in the day I had a back, neck and shoulder massage combined with hot stones. My therapist for the day was Laura K and she was excellent - my massage had the right level of pressure.

The whole day was very relaxing and my only comment for improvement is for a reduction on prices mainly of the drinks as a tea or coffee was around £3.80 which is very expensive

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Staff very cheerful and accomodating when getting us checked in and settled. Robes and slippers were lovely and comfortable. Experience shower and hydrotherapy pool were brilliant and the treatment itself was fabulous ( I had an Elemis Exotic Moisture Dew Facial). My skin felt great afterward and we got to sit and relax in their relaxtion room with lounges, pillows and drinks available. Great day all round.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Really enjoyable experience and very relaxing. The therapist explained everything clearly and made us feel at ease. You were free to spend the day as you pleased and were not rushed or made to feel as if you were on a time scale. Food was also lovely, would definitely recommend this Spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
The facilities, food and staff are wonderful, my sister and I felt pampered. The relaxation room is lovely. The rasul treatment was fun the only negative is that it would have been nice to have music in the room and the seats are extremely difficult to relax on, we found it very hard not to slide off, also the shower curtain smelt of damp.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I would not recommend the rasul mud treatment. It was hard to enjoy. There was not enough mud for 2 ppl (male and a female) and at the end after you have finished you get showered up and there is moituriser to put on. however, thats impossible as the room is still full of heat from the trewatment and the shower needed after you cannot get your skin dry to apply it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
Fantastic massages in a great setting in Edinburgh, the highlight of our trip last month.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 years ago
Wow what an amazing venue - I would thoroughly recommend anyone who is looking for a stress free day in beautiful tranquil surroundings

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I took my mum for her 50th we had a ball gorgeous settings would def go back I would recommend for any age lynch was beautiful So were the scones and jam :0) booking for parents Xmas makes a good gift

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
While I would usually give this spa 100% this time I have a few displeasures. The facilities wre top class as was the rest room lounge area and restaurant. The rasul treatment however left a lot to be desired. We had to enter the chambre cover ourselves with mud and press the button for the steam to fill the room. As we have never had one before we were not sure how much steam to expect. I pressed the button several times as no steam seemed to accumulate. When we got out I asked others how much steam there was and they could not see each other therefore something was drastically wrong with our session. I pointed this out to the manager who said she would check it out and get back to us. She there seemed to be nothing wrong but would get it looked at the next day. We have heard nothing else and feel we have still not had a real rasul experience. The massage I have is normally fantastic but on this occasion it was so firm that I have been in pain ever since. This was far too firm for me. However we love going to Norton House and all other experiences have been great so I will just write this one down to experience. It was well worth money and we did have an enjoyable day and will be back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2010
Posted 4 years ago
on arrival we didnt know what to expect but staff were very friendly and soon put you at ease my neice and myself had a fab day meal was very good we had the Rasual mud which was just fab it also gave us a good laugh at what we looked like but i was well worth it then we had a mini facial and the was brill we both left Norton Hiuse Hotel very relax and felling great you couldnt ask for a better place we both said we will go back again thanks for a great day Marilyn & Shona

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review