Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.6

34 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Sanctuary at the Suites at Princes Street Suites
Sanctuary at the Suites at Princes Street Suites
16 Waterloo Place,
Edinburgh, EH1 3EG,
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Sanctuary at the Suites at Princes Street Suites
16 Waterloo Place,
Edinburgh, EH1 3EG,
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Wahanda gift vouchers are redeemable at over 2100 locations. You must use it to pay as you would with cash.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by our customers after their visit.

4.6

Chain rating

Based on 34 reviews

5 stars 21
4 stars 10
3 stars 2
2 stars 1
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (1)
  • Body Treatments (3)
  • Face
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facials (15)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • Male Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (2)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (5)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (1)
  • Swedish Massage (3)
  • Therapeutic Massage (9)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (1)
  • Manicure (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Visited April 2013
Posted 11 months ago
The results were not as expected. I will have to repeat the treatment soon.

Expensive for the result of the treatment.

The staff are very nice and kind.

.

.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Hi VBueno, firstly thank you for taking the time to put up a review on us, as the owner of a small salon (and a very new one at that) I rely on honest customer feedback like this so I can make changes if something goes wrong. I always try hard to maintain competitive pricing in line with other city centre salons so I'd be keen to know which treatment you had. Finally, and most importantly, we never want anyone to feel like they cannot talk to us if they feel the results were not up to scratch, the Sanctuary and our ethos is all about customer service and excellent treatments

Report as inappropriate

11 months ago
VBeuno, please do give me a call on 0131 557 1766 and give me the opportunity to address the issue properly.

Report as inappropriate

Posted 11 months ago
not taken at appointed time(10)minutes late. Beautician was efficient and friendly .Didn't see around the place as the room was on the ground floor. Clean and bright place.Would use in the future. Parking is a problem as it's just off Queensferry street and it's meters.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

10 months ago
hey Beth, Thank you for your reviews, but i dont think this one belongs to us as it seems it is a different spa/saloon? However, i love your style, having lots of wee pamering !

Report as inappropriate

Visited April 2013
Posted 11 months ago
I was very pleased all round. The staff were more than welcoming and made me feel very relaxed. This was my first ever proper massage and it was amazing. Would definitely try other treatments. Thank you so much!! X

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
First visit and really enjoyed it - great value and great staff

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your first visit, we hope you'll come back and try us again! Thanks for making that effort to pop a review on for us, we really do appreciate it! Julie x

Report as inappropriate

Visited April 2013
Posted 1 year ago
It was my first trip to Sanctuary at the Suites, very impressed, the staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly. The treatment room was great and I even got a complimentary hand massage - bonus!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thanks RCN, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us and such a lovely review as well. So glad you enjoyed my hand massage :) x

Report as inappropriate

Posted 11 months ago
I recently went to Sanctuary at the Suites, via a voucher, I had no idea the salon was there, however I am so glad I discovered it! The most amazing smells greets you when you come in, and the salon oozes relaxation. The decor is lovely and comfortable. My chum and I were greeted by Julie who cannot do enough to make your time there relaxing. We quickly received our bubbly/chocs and had a lovely hand massage in preparation for our massage/facial. The therapists were lovely and tailored our back massage to our requests. The rooms are well equiped and comfortable, as for the heated bed, simply amazing! The facial was fantastic, we did not want to leave. I shall be visiting the salon again soon!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

10 months ago
thank you Lorna, and we aim to make sure everyone enjoys a wee down time. so glad we got to see you again! it was lovely and we all enjoyed your second visit. xxx

Report as inappropriate

Visited March 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The location is a little strange as it's essentially on a floor of what appears to be offices or apartments that you can rent out. Saying that it wasn't off putting in any way and I was warmly greeted upon arrival and was given a glass of complimentary Champagne, which was a welcome and lovely surprise! My only slightly negative comment was that I like really hard massages and I do sometimes find that therapists don't push as hard as I'd like, and this was one of those occasions. I did say that I wanted a firm one but I should have raised it again, which was my own fault really. All in all it was a pleasant experience, lovely staff and you feel very much looked after throughout.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thanks CJ! Glad you enjoyed your visit, we aim to please with our humble facilities :) If you come again please do try a deep tissue massage, I like the pressure too and a basic back,neck and Shoulders or Swedish never quite inflicts enough pain for my liking. Thanks again for taking the time to pop a review in! Extra champagne on your next visit! x

Report as inappropriate

Posted 1 year ago
A great venue and personalised service to meet our needs. The team ensured we were well looked after, treatments were fantastic and the therapists ensured everyone received individual treatment and nothing was too much trouble. We will be going back soon!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you Becs, we try our hardest! Thanks so much for writing this! x

Report as inappropriate

Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing shoulder, back and neck massage at Sanctuary at the Suites today. My therapist, Leigh, was fantastic - the closest I have had to this massage was one I had at Gleneagles and that was done by two therapists working in union! Definitely the best massage in Edinburgh - a hidden gem indeed!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Hi Hutchie, so glad you enjoyed the massage. Leigh has mad massage skills we know :) Thanks for the review! x

Report as inappropriate

Posted 1 year ago
I would reccommend Sanctuary at the Suites to anyone. The staff were lovely, the treatments were the most relaxing I have had in a long time and the overall experience was really excellent. I will definitely be going back soon!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thanks Squares! That means a lot, thanks for taking the time to write this about us! x x

Report as inappropriate

Posted 1 year ago
I wanted to leave some feedback about my experience at the Sanctuary, on Friday 9th Nov.
I had a all over body massage and express facial from Sharon.
I had booked my appointment for 6.30pm but left work early so i phoned to see if i could make it earlier. They were very accommodating and moved it to 6pm.
The welcome was very nice, and the gentleman on the small desk was very chatty and made me feel very comfortable. I also got a lovely glass of champagne while i waited.
Sharon was very nice. The massage itself was really really good, i have had a lot of massages as i suffer from tight shoulders, my most recent being at the Turnberry Hotel, but sharon's was one of the best i have had. I also appreciated the advice she gave after.
The facial was also really really nice, my skin stills feels really soft.
I left my jewelry there, and went to pick it up the next day, again i was greeted by the cheery gentleman on the desk, who had my jewlery ready for me, in a nice box, and gave me a small bath oil.
All in all it was a great experience, and i want to say thank you. I would recommend Sanctuary At the suites.
Louise

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Hi Loulou! It was a pleasure having you visit! We can't wait to see you again :) - The cheery gentleman at the small desk

Report as inappropriate

Posted 1 year ago
My experience was great from start to finish - I received a warm welcome at reception and my therapist explained in detail what the treatment would entail. Both the massage and facial were very relaxing and lasted the full hour (which isn't always the case at other beauty salons!) I would highly recommend this place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thanks Hester, we're overjoyed at the review and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report as inappropriate

Posted 1 month ago
On first arriving we were dissapointed to be told that due to staff shortage we could not have our treatments together, which meant we had to hang around for an hour while the other had their treatment, also we had appointments booked for the rest of the day so we had to juggle things around, so it was a bit stressful. However April was very professional and handled the situation very well, and her massage was excellent, both my friend and I would return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 months ago
I received voucher of 'Special Christmas package including facial, back and shoulders massage plus glass of mulled wine and minced pies' as a Christmas gift from my partner. The staff was friendly and the Sanctuary spa was superbly decorated, especially the room where I received the treatment was warm and really cozy. I always thought to be able to properly examine type of the skin, you do need special lamp with really bright light. My skin was just examined while I was sitting in my treatment room in normal light. Nevertheless, I did enjoy facial and my partner even said that I do look younger afterwards:)
The massage was good and quite relaxing but I would not say it was really therapeutic.
At the end, I was disappointed that staff actually did not offer me wine or minced pies despite the fact that while I was booking my treatment earlier over the phone same day, I did particularly ask about it as it was my Christmas gift and was clearly written on my voucher-valid till March 2014. I understand it is subject to availability but I was not even asked if I would like a glass of bubbly or chocolates instead. In fact after the treatment, I was offered a glass of WATER and some brownies packed in a brown paper bag-which I think was very unprofessional! When I mentioned to the receptionist that I actually preferred wine and minces pies, she referred to the small print at the bottom of the voucher saying that in case Spa runs out of above mentioned product, client will be offered bubbly & chocolates and clearly I wasn't! I don't want to come across as a moaning person but I am just thinking what is the point in writing something on the voucher if you can't actually provide! The whole idea was to get this complete experience of being pampered and the mention of complementary wine and mince pies was one of the main reason my partner decided to purchase vouchers for this particular spa.
Not sure if I really want to go back there...:(

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

3 months ago
Hi lildoc1, thanks so much for your detailed feedback. Our usual receptionist was not on yesterday and our therapist was a little confused with this package. The print actually specifies that after Christmas the mulled wine and mince pies are substituted with Bubbly and Chocolates. Ashleigh did call me at our head office and I gave her permission to head out and buy you an extra treat from the lovely Pep & Fodder cake and tea shop to make up for your disappointment. Clearly Brownies were the wrong choice :( There is absolutely no excuse for serving it in a brown paper bag rather than a plate and not having provided bubbly and I thank you for having brought it to my attention. I can assure you this is not something that happens often and I hope this does not put you off coming again.

Report as inappropriate