Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

286 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Chain rating

Based on 286 reviews

5 stars 73
4 stars 112
3 stars 58
2 stars 30
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (28)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (64)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (14)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (111)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
This is a fairly new spa. It was lovely and tranquil (we went on a bank holiday in the morning). The only thing I would mention is that the jacuzzi is only big enough for 2 people, so could be a wait if its busy, and the pool is more of a plunge pool. That said the other facilities were tip-top and the cup cakes and tea in the relaxtion room were a real treat - good value for money

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Very nice place. The sauna is rather small and steam only seats 6 people so not ideal if going in a group. Staff were very nice and facilities quite nice. Nice arrival experience having been picked up from local station and returned to at end of day. Cup cakes are nice, and it would have been nice to be told in advance of any other special offers in the restaurant so you could plan in advance.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Was really looking forward to this and overall it was an ok experience.Had lunch in the restaraunt and was pleasantly surprised to be given a 50% reduction even though we'd had two starters each instead of main course. Found everything a bit impersonal. Had just relaxed into the facial when it was all over. Didn't even have the chance to breath in before I was tapped on the shoulder and asked to move to the next room for a manicure which again was ok. Cup cakes and tea was a nice experience in a small relaxation room heated with a halogen heater. The spa itself is lovely to look at but it felt like it was a new experience for the hotel who haven't quite got it right yet - like no water cooler, cups or jugs for when you come out of the steam rooms. Didn't feel particularly relaxed or pampered - like I said, it was an ok experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Went with friends to the River Wellbeing Spa on a Sunday. Despite booking all the treatments in advance, when we arrived we were told that one of the therapists was sick and so we couldn't all be treated at the same time. This meant that one of us was left alone for 1 hour while the other 2 had treatments.
The facilities were nice and it is all new and clean, but quite small - max 1 in the pool, max 3 in the spa, max 4 in the steam room and sauna. We arrived at opening time and by lunch time the changing rooms were covered in towels, robes and slippers.
Reception staff were incapable of getting our names, treatments or orders correct and service was slow.
Massage was ok (loved the heated blankets) however manicure was actually a mini manicure.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
My first spa experience in the UK. It was pleasant and relaxing there but the facilities were just too small for the amount of people. Only 3 people were allowed in the (lovely) jacuzzi at a time, the steam room only had space for 6 people, about the same for the sauna. The relaxation room was lovely but could have done with some music, and also only really fitted around 4 people. Massage was very nice. I have the voucher for the cupcake afternoon tea afterwards which was also enjoyable. I would go again, but I would be careful about timing to avoid having to queue for the jacuzzi!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The staff were very polite and welcoming when we got there and showed us around (but forgot to mention the lovely relaxation room which we only discovered on our way out). The facilities were nice, but very crowded, to the point where we were standing around waiting to use any of the sauna/spa/steam because they were all full. I went with 2 friends and 2 out of our 3 massages were good, but one was terrible. Also, there was meant to be a cupcake with our offer which we ended up leaving without as the staff around the rest of the hotel couldn't seem to get their act together to get them for us!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The place was very pleasant and relaxing and staff were pleasant and very friendly. The massage was great and I was totally relaxed and need it. The pedicure was just a file and polish would have rather liked to be longer. Was able to relax in the relaxation room and girls being girls chatted away the mins. The robes could be a bit bigger and facilities are great. Would go there again and defiantly with a friend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
We had a lovely morning at the spa but it is very very small and the swimming pool is litterally a one person pool. We had to wait for some other guests to finish in the facilities to use them and the changing rooms were very crowded and lockers didn't have keys so we had to get a member of staff to open and shut one for us. Not really something you expect in a 5* hotel.

But despite this great value for money as the massage was great.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
This was fabulous value, and lovely way to spend the afternoon. The tea and cupcake were a lovely touch and were served to us in a nice quiet room where we could relax and chat. The facilities were good - no pool, but we knew that before we went. The chaning rooms were excellent.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
When we arrived the reception staff seemed un-organised and pretty useless - they def need some further training in customer services!! They came across as fake and not interested! It was also far too busy - the changing rooms were crammed & so were most of the facilities at the time. However, the hotel and facilities are beautiful and the therapists we had were caring, professional and very good! The cupcakes were amazing and when the spa got quieter we def started to feel more relaxed. For £25 it was good value for money and I would go back but just not on a saturday!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
5* service throughout our visit! Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we were looked after and needs catered for, they were always on hand.
Massage was amazing -not one of those tickly ones you often get at spas but firm and theraputic! We enjoyed our tea in the restuarant overlooking the Thames which was relaxing and quiet, also clean and tidy and staff friendly and cheerful. The tea and cupcakes were delicious - 5 georgous sparkly cupcakes on a platter (my friend and I couldnt finish them!) Much more than we would have expected.
We even got offered a shuttle service back to Clapham Junc (a 15min walk away) at the end of our visit! Felt very relaxed and at home, able to walk around in our robes and slippers and enjoy all the facilities at our leisure. Felt comfortable and at ease to do that which is a bonus.

The only things that let it down (minor points)
1) No swimming pool (the exercise pool that they had on site, you had to pay extra to use). Spa facilities were small with only 1 jacuzzi but this didnt cause a problem.
2) Some of the lockers and shower were faulty - but this didnt really bother us too much.
3) Slightly busy at peak time but hang on in there and you will get areas to yourself!

Overall a very enjoyable visit and well worth the money - highly recommended!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I had a nice facial and manicure, followed by a tasty cup cake with a pot of tea. The ambience was great, the staff very friendly and attentive. This deal was great value for money. Also enjoyed the spa facilities and a nice lunch for half-price in the nearby restaurant. Great day out, would recommend!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I had a lovely day out with my friend enjoying the spa facilities (steam room, sauna & jacuzzi) at the River Wellbeing Spa. We both had booked a facial, which lasted around 30mins and took place on a very lovely heated treatment table. I had booked a pedicure and my friend a manicure, both lasted around 15mins. Following the treatment, we were served fresh tea and a yummi cupcake. The value for money of this Wahanda deal was really good, and both treatments were nice polishes rather than deep-treatments. The Therapist and all staff were very attentive and ensured we enjoyed our stay. The only downside was the location of the spa, there wasn't an obvious train or underground link at reasonable walking distance. Nice day out and would totally recommend!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I simply loved this venue; cozy place, friendly staff; spotless changing room. I'm very satisfied with my experience and I'd be happy to recommend the spa to my friends. Definitely a great deal!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Spent a lovely morning at the Rafayel Hotel- the surroundings were lovely, staff helpful, treatments great. Enjoyed the sauna & steam room too. Of course though the cup cakes were divine. Great place will definitely go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I was quite disappointed by my visit to the River Wellbeing Spa, which was intended to be a fun day out with my friend...

The place itself is quite small, which is fine if they only have a few peple to accomodate, but given that there has been a deal on, the spa was very busy and had trouble fitting everyone in. They also had a strange 3 person max in the jacuzzi rule (which later became 2 people apparently) - supposedly because the water overflows too much.

My treatment itself, a massage, was very mediocre - although friendly and polite, the therapist seemed like she couldn't really be bothered, and I'm not sure I even got the full 30 mins as stated in the deal.

As for the 'cupcake afternoon tea' - well, 2.5 cupcakes and a pot of tea would have been far more accurate!
Although the cupcakes were quite nice, they were very sickly, and the service in the restaurant was slow and lacklustre.

I won't be going back in a hurry.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
the place is stunning, but the facilities v poor. as soon as we got into the jacuzzi it flooded, all over the floor. we waited 2 minutes between each person entering and still it flooded. V embarassing! you cannot use the pool, and we were not allowed to eat at the restaurant . it was over new year, and i had rung up 2X to check, but on the day they refused us. it did not say we were not able to use it on new years so very disappointing!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I went with my mum again to this 5star hotel. Nice facilities, lovely sauna area - but didn't have any water fountains or drinks machines for when you'de been in the jaccuzzi or sauna - think they are missing a trick there. It was a good massage and manicure and nice tea. Pity they didn't have any gluten free cupcakes. I enjoyed the experience, everything feels brand new.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 4 years ago
This was our Christmas treat, and we had a great day. The facial was wonderful, and the make-up session was perfect for our 'Girls christmas shopping trip'. Not even the snow could detract from the experience.

The facilities are fantastic, jacuzzi and pool, as well as the gym facilities and the staff are friendly. The tea and cupcake were delicious.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, however the therapist spoke limited English and strangely she just left after the massage leaving me without saying anything! Not the greatest massage I've ever had. Would rush back for another one.

Spa area, a little on the small size in terms of spa facilities. Chill out room was tiny and only really room for 2 people to sit comfortably (we were a group of 5).

Cupcake afternoon tea included with the offer was disappointing, and should have been called a cup of tea and one small cake!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review