Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

303 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Chain rating

Based on 303 reviews

5 stars 78
4 stars 118
3 stars 62
2 stars 30
1 star 15
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (36)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (71)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (9)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (39)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (21)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (114)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (24)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Posted 4 years ago
Bought this voucher for me and my friend to go for a relaxing day to rest and enjoy, BUT and thats a big but don't go to this spa if thats what your looking for. As we got there on a friday morning at 10am and the first bad point was there was no parking at all and was told to park in the halfords opposite as you can park there for 2hrs and the receptionist said " as you wont be in the spa for longer than that" which turned out to be very true. When we park and got to the spa, they were fully booked for any treatments so we just had the use of the tiny tiny spa. Now we are both pregnant at the moment so we could not use the Sauna and the Steam room so what we could use was poor, the relaxation room is a room with some loungers on a bit of music playing and thats it (spent 45mins in there until we read all the magazines), the jacuzzi had a maximum of 3 people at one time so a queue formed as the pool which is tiny you had to pay £10 extra to use and could only use with a lifeguard present!! Beyond this is a gym and dont know about you but i dont go to a spa to use the gym. So our experinces was sitting in the relaxation room 45mins, trying to use the jacuzzi but didnt feel we should have to wait and that was it that was our spa day! It was shockingly bad, thank god i only paid £20 for this voucher as i can just stomach the appalling excuse for a spa. Overall review: BAD!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I treated my best friend to a Cupcake Tea Afternoon with a pampering treatment and use of the spa facilities at Rafayel Hotel.

She loved it but both of us thought the quality of treatments we got could have been better if staff had been more enthusiastic or energetic. The treatments were ok but we weren't sure the therapists were giving it 100%.

The same was for the restaurant staff when we went to have our cupcake tea. We must have at least waited 10 min to be acknowledged and another 10-15 minutes to get the tea in spite of the restaurant being almost empty that afternoon.

However, I am a fan of this hotel and the restaurant and will see how it'll be like on my third visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Ever since I spent Valentine's evening at the Rafayel Hotel I've always been a fan. I went back there with my best friend for a spa afternoon with cupcake tea and was not disappointed.
The massage treatment could have been more effective but it was only for half an hour so the therapist did her best.
The whole spa area is quite small - the jacuzzi has a maximum of 3 people policy - but even on a Sunday was not at all crowded. Likewise the relaxation room which has got two beds would seem crowded if there were more than three people. However what I really like about this spa is that the steam room and the sauna can be used by men and women at the same time unlike other hotel spas where these facilities are within the dressing rooms.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I went recently and had a wonderfully relaxing spa treatment and facial. The therapist was excellent and also gave me a great massage. I would highly recommend this venue, used the gym and facilities.
Would definately return and have a pamper again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I was very excited about spending a day in spa with 4 friends, on arrival the staff were friendly and the spa area is very nice and modern. We were taken straight to our treatments which were very nice and relaxing. We were then shown the spa facilities which were not at all as we were led to expect. Although they were nice, there is a small jacuzzi which only holds 3 people at a time and so we could not use, a small steam room and sauna, and an exercise pool which you had to pay to use. The relaxation room was small and just held 3 beds and a couple straight backed chairs. It wasn't really feasible for us to stay in the "spa" area for long as there wasn't space fo rus. So after showering and dressing we were directed to the restaurant area for our tea and cupcake. Again, the restaurant was nice, but we were shown to a sofa area and left for a while, then when we asked for menu's as we would like to eat some lunch, our request was completely ignored. Evenutally, after chasing, we were given 2 menus and our cupcakes, which were really delicious. We had lunch but the service was appalling and slow. We ate lunch on the sofas and were not even taken to a table.
If this deal had been advertised as treatments then it would be good value, but as a Spa day it was a huge anti-climax. I would not recommend the deal to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
First impressions were very good as this is a lovely hotel. When we arrived we had our afternoon tea in the restaurant. This consisted of 6 cupcakes (for 3 people) with 3 different flavours, and tea or coffee. The cupcakes were all delicious and the tea good too.

Then we went up to the spa for our treatments, all 3 of us had a back massage. The massage was very relaxing but also firm enough to get out all of those knots! We all felt very relaxed afterwards. We didn't stay to use the spa facilities, but the changing rooms were nice. All in all very good value for money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 3 years ago
A lovely clean and friendly hotel. The steam and sauna rooms are a little on the small side, but none the less was comfortable. The staff are friendly and the cup cakes are delicious.

The pick up service from the train station to the hotel and back again was very well received and really helped with the travel.

I would definitely go back again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Lovely clean, well maintained hotel. A sauna and steam rooms are a little small, but very friendly and the cup cakes were delicious.

Great service in terms of pick up from the train station to hotel and back again. In fact was there waiting for us when we arrived.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The ambience is amazing and it was the best facial that I have done! I love it!!! I would like to repeat soon! The facial was great for my skin. The massage made me feel very relaxed. The only thing that I changed, I would like to have more time to enjoy the spa. I went there just for the treatments and the spa has a great number of facilities as well. I recommend it!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Oh wow the cupcakes we were given on second time round! DIVINE!!! The therapist was so lovely she gave us four!!! The treatment was better the second time round and we made use of the gym facilities which was a change from the sauna and jacuzzi area. The treatments we really enjoyed....not the best place for relaxing.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The treatment rooms for the massage was excellent, overlooking the water. The therapist was really lovely too. The jacuzzi / sauna area did not have a real 'spa / relaxing' feel to it. I think to make the experience even better they needed more seating in the relaxation room as we had to stand!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I had a lovely afternoon with my mum and sister, starting with tea and a cupcake and finishing with a nail shape and polish. We had the facilities ourselves which was a bonus!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I went to the opening party of this hotel and had such fun, that I was really keen to go back and check out the spa facilities... Having tried to book on a number of occasions I finally managed to get an appointment before Valentines Day and took my boyfriend with me as a treat (I'd bought him a voucher too).

The spa is very well presented, but the wet facilities are very small and felt rather cramped. We were one of maybe 3 groups there and we all had to kind of rotate between the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, as each only had room for approx 2-3 people... We then dried off and went to the relaxation room for 10 mins before our treatment. Expecting herbal teas, water and some good magazines, we were confronted with a rather messy room with empty glasses and and a tea pot scattered around, and no clean glasses or refreshments. Most of the magazines were foreign or fairly out of date too...

...so over to reception to wait for our massages. One of the therapists came out and had words with the receptionist who was told to usher us through to the room and she would be back shortly. She seemed quite angry. Lucky me, she was my therapist. I was taken to the therapy room, got unchanged and waited for about 5 mins for the therapist to come in. When she did, she smelt faintly of cigarette smoke and didn't introduce herself, just asked if I was comfortable. I wasn't asked what oil I'd like and throughout the 20min massage (should have been 30) she lost contact with my back on a number of occasions and knocked or bumped into things as she was moving around on the chair to massage me...

The pressure was good, but I felt the massage was fairly lacklustre and having done a tiny bit of massage myself in the past I didn't really feel she had a good rhythm or pattern if you like...

Without the Wahanda discount, the spa prices are very high and it's unlikely I'd go back, despite it being close to home.

The restaurant on the other hand were we had our coffee and cupcake was very nice, and the food looked delicious! It's on Taste London too, so we're planning to go back for dinner in the next few months...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Amazing 30 mins massage, the perfect beginning to my weekend. The masseuse checked and made sure the pressure was ok and that I was relaxed and really enjoyed my experience. The temperature was perfect and the facilities were immaculate

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I have to admit, when we first got there I though this might be one of those purchases you regret, it was quite busy, and the spa is quite small, I figured they overbooked, the jacuzzi only holds 3, the steam rooms 4 and sauna the same, you have to pay for the pool. However the receptionist advised us as it was busy we could use the pool for free, by the time we'd changed everything had thinned out and we were able to use the facilities comfortably. We were offered to combine our 30+15 treatment and I opted to have a 45 minute facial, it was lovely, they use Elemis products and they cleansed, toned, massaged, scrubbed, masked and moisurised all my cares away!! Then there were 4 delicious cupcakes to share at the end of it - WELL worth the spend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
This is a fairly new spa. It was lovely and tranquil (we went on a bank holiday in the morning). The only thing I would mention is that the jacuzzi is only big enough for 2 people, so could be a wait if its busy, and the pool is more of a plunge pool. That said the other facilities were tip-top and the cup cakes and tea in the relaxtion room were a real treat - good value for money

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Very nice place. The sauna is rather small and steam only seats 6 people so not ideal if going in a group. Staff were very nice and facilities quite nice. Nice arrival experience having been picked up from local station and returned to at end of day. Cup cakes are nice, and it would have been nice to be told in advance of any other special offers in the restaurant so you could plan in advance.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Was really looking forward to this and overall it was an ok experience.Had lunch in the restaraunt and was pleasantly surprised to be given a 50% reduction even though we'd had two starters each instead of main course. Found everything a bit impersonal. Had just relaxed into the facial when it was all over. Didn't even have the chance to breath in before I was tapped on the shoulder and asked to move to the next room for a manicure which again was ok. Cup cakes and tea was a nice experience in a small relaxation room heated with a halogen heater. The spa itself is lovely to look at but it felt like it was a new experience for the hotel who haven't quite got it right yet - like no water cooler, cups or jugs for when you come out of the steam rooms. Didn't feel particularly relaxed or pampered - like I said, it was an ok experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Went with friends to the River Wellbeing Spa on a Sunday. Despite booking all the treatments in advance, when we arrived we were told that one of the therapists was sick and so we couldn't all be treated at the same time. This meant that one of us was left alone for 1 hour while the other 2 had treatments.
The facilities were nice and it is all new and clean, but quite small - max 1 in the pool, max 3 in the spa, max 4 in the steam room and sauna. We arrived at opening time and by lunch time the changing rooms were covered in towels, robes and slippers.
Reception staff were incapable of getting our names, treatments or orders correct and service was slow.
Massage was ok (loved the heated blankets) however manicure was actually a mini manicure.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
My first spa experience in the UK. It was pleasant and relaxing there but the facilities were just too small for the amount of people. Only 3 people were allowed in the (lovely) jacuzzi at a time, the steam room only had space for 6 people, about the same for the sauna. The relaxation room was lovely but could have done with some music, and also only really fitted around 4 people. Massage was very nice. I have the voucher for the cupcake afternoon tea afterwards which was also enjoyable. I would go again, but I would be careful about timing to avoid having to queue for the jacuzzi!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review