Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

304 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Venue type: Hotel Spa in Battersea
Tagged as: Hotel Spa | Day Spa
A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Chain rating

Based on 304 reviews

5 stars 78
4 stars 118
3 stars 62
2 stars 31
1 star 15
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (36)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (71)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (9)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (39)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (21)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (114)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (32)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (25)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited September 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Most painful massage i've ever had! Although my friends was great - depends who you get - the spa was really clean though. The manicure was ok for 15 minutes but again my friend got better treatment. The spa was very quiet though - we only saw 2 other people.

The cupcake afternoon tea they didnt have any cupcakes for so gave us biscuits instead which wasnt great as we had prebooked - we werent offered a drink or anything to make up for it. If I had of been paying more I would have been very disappointed.

Nice setting along by the Thames on a sunny day - although the helicopters are noisy.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Overall had a lovely day and was really excellent value at just £10 each! The facilities were small - a steam room (4 people max, but quite a squeeze) and sauna (2 lying or 4 sitting, again a bit of a squeeze) and a jacuzzi (max 3 otherwise it overflowed). However despite their size they were the perfect temperature, were clean and well maintained and the decor was pleasant. The steam room had a cold shower inside it which I'd never experienced before, but thought great as you didn't get cold enroute to a shower. The relaxation room again was small with just 3 beds and a few chairs and was within the middle othe building so had no natural light and was very dimly lit, which seemed strange initially, but was great if you wanted a doze! As we were 4 in our party we couldn't all lie down at the same time or be in the jacuzzi altogether so it's purely down to the size of the facilities that I have graded them as ok, but that's only in comparison to country spa hotels, so for a city hotel it was to be expected. I misunderstood the hotel spa's website and so even though the voucher said the swimex pool couldn't be used I thought there was a normal swimming pool there so was slightly disappointed in that respect, but it didn't spoil our day. The staff were very pleasant and the masseuse provided a lovely firm and relaxing back, neck and shoulder massage. The cupcake afternoon tea wasn't cupcakes, but lots of little macaroons, florentines, cheesecake and tiramisu. Delicious, but would have preferred fewer sweet things and a few little savoury sandwiches instead. We had the choice of taking it in the hotel restaurant overlooking the river or in the relaxation room. Parking was free on site. Would definitely go again tomorrow at that price! Thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Definitely recommend it for a relaxing Spa day. Perfect to go to with a friend. I was a little bit disappointed that the stream room was very small and that there wasnt a swimming pool but were able to use the jacuzzi, gym, sauna and steam room as well as have a treatment. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the venue was spot on.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I really enjoyed the Spa facilities...the staff were welcoming and facilities nice and clean and in good working order. My therapeutic massage was excellent also, with a therapist who was professional and courteous. I would definitely consider using the facilities again if the chance arose.
I was disappointed with the 'Cupcake tea' part of the Wahanda deal we purchased though. The staff in the restaurant, althoguh there were quite a few of them, barely acknowledged us, no-one offered us a menu, although we'd been given a compliment slip at the Spa to give to them which also offered us 50% of 2 courses - we had to ask to get menus. We were offered some water, then again had to say that we were ready but that we'd just have the tea.
To be honest, we weren't exactly clear on what was included and probably should have asked but we were given a glass of sparkling wine, or maybe it was prosecco, and a cupcake each (which was actually very nice!), which didn't seem like a 'tea'...there was no tea brought?! However, we didn't ask as we thought we then might be made to pay for the wine as perhaps they'd give it to us by mistake instead of the tea, but then it seemed like they were giving a glass to everyone in there as they were pouring and serving a lot of glasses of it when we were in there!?! Basically, I just think the deal should have been clearer, and the staff in there need to learn to actually communicate...I barely heard any of them speak much!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 4 years ago
went as part of a present. The facilities were small but very relaxing. We got there at the right time as we had the jacuzzi and steam roomto ourselves. Massage was very relaxing and cupcake tasty

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 4 years ago
a lovely relaxing spa - highly recommended. The therapist was very professional and I had an excellent massage. I said I have a sore back and she tailored my massage to suit. Excellent value for money and would definitely go back

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The spa facilities were somewhat basic with just sauna, steam room and jacuzzi but enough to keep us entertained flitting between them. The massage was very good, firm pressure and definitely removed some of the tight knots in my shoulders. The highlight of the spa for me was the relaxation room, where they had an array of magazines and beds with comfy blankets, the perfect way to relax.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2011
Posted 4 years ago
A small nice spa but by far not as grand as the pictures and description suggest. Facilites were sufficient but a bit more attention to detail would have been nice. The ambience and decoration was pretty , but the corridor between jacuzzi and changing rooms was flooded for hours before somebody had the brilliant idea to mop it up (wet slippers, yuk!). Strangely there was no bin in the changing room and nowhere to put wet swimsuits, not even plastic bags offered. Gym is relatively small but well equipped and maintained, but sadly offers a spectacular view of the local Travis Perkins instead of the Thames. Staff is very nice and my therapist gave me a brilliant massage. The restaurant seems very posh and we had a nice cup of tea & a very pretty cupcake. All in all a bit mixed feelings about the place, and not sure if I'd go back at full prize, but for £20 definitely a great bargain.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I enjoyed my day at this venue but I must say that I have had better massages as this one was rather gentle and I prefer a more firm approach. It was nice to round off the afternoon with tea and a cupcake.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The spa was smaller than I expected, with a jacuzzi (that only three people were able to use at any one time), a small sauna and steam room. The swimming pool was only available if you paid extra and unfortunately it was all right next to a rather loud gym. I was booked in for a mini mani-pedi which should only have been 30 minutes in duration, however, the therapist had 20 minutes spare and so spent the extra time on my treatments! The pedicure was very good and lasted for a long time following the day(though that isn't to say the manicure wasn't as good - it's short life span was most likely due to my lack of care than anything else!). For the price of the offer, it was a good experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The hotel was very very nice, the cupcake and tea was great. The spa facilities were very small and although the showers and changing rooms were lovely, one of the two showers did not work, and the other shower must have had stuff blocked down the drain as the water was building up in the bottom of the shower. The beauticians were lovely people but the actual treatment was not that good considering it was a 45min one. My therapist sat there whilst I had masks on and did not give me a massage or anything (which is one of my pet hates as I think that is so lazy). The relaxation room could be soooo much better to, all it is is a room with three beds in, no heat, lights, scents or anything!!
I had a nice time because of the company I was with and the aesthetics of the hotel and spa are nice. I think they could do a lot better though.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Was treated to a spa day by a friend and was a truly enjoyable experience. The facilities were nice and we both really enjoyed the treaments. Overall a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Difficult to rate as such a mixed experience. Treatment and cupcake deal was obviously v good value at £20 and massage was excellent - firm and effective on my very knotty back. However, it was quite a Fawlty Towers experience overall , waiting 55 mins for a sandwich in the restaurant, there being no-one on reception at the spa and when someone finally located, there being a discrepancy between the times of treatment given on my emailed confirmation and what they had in their system. We then had to wait a further 20 mins for robe and slippers to be located. Then finally, being given rock hard cupcakes, and when staff finally located , being told we had been given the 'show' cakes by mistake! We received apologies and free extras but I think both the restaurant and spa need to get their management sorted.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Cupcake definitely a plus. What a lovely way to spend a day and the treatments were wonderful too. I love my new pink toes and the massage was spot. If you want to relax and unwind for the day definitely a place to visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The cupcakes etc were lovely but a bit strange having to walk from the spa to the resturant past reception in your robe and slippers etc!! The spa was too busy and full with other voucher users to enjoy and you couldnt use the very teeny pool unless you had another voucher, and no more than 3 people in the spa at one time which meant it was always full which was a shame.

My friend and I had the same massuse and I thought she was ok, but she was quite rude to my friend. Wouldnt go back, but maybe it will improve if less people are there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
A lovely start with delicious cupcakes overlooking the river - stunning setting! Then a great massage - not a lot of words spoken by the therapist re what I wanted etc but thankfully she gave a good strong massage as I like it. Bubble bath was lush, sauna and steam room rather small but did their job without luxury. overall good value and a very enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I went with a group of my friends.
Upon arrival the hotel is really lovely and the initial staff were good. we went to the spa area and there was confusion over what treatments we could have. When I did have my treatments the beauticians didnt appear to be very experienced and I would say the treatments were ok but not amazing.
The spa facilities were a little dissapointing with a tiny plunge pool and also a jacuzzi that only fit in a couple of people. I would not reccomend to go as a group maybe as a two as there were 6 of us and it was not big enough to accomodate that amount.
The cupcakes were lovely there were 6 of us and we had one each and tea ok but the service was really poor in the bar and the staff were not at all atentive.
Overall it was ok but not overwhelming.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
Difficult to get in - Had to knock on the front door of the hotel!!!
Was told by therapist that wahanda voucher was misprinted and we could have a manicure or pedicure, not both.
Waited 45 mins for drinks. My daughter was told no orange juice was available and my 'earl grey' tea was not earl grey.
Steam room not working that day. Loud music from the gym spoilt the relaxed ambience when in the jacuzzi. Jacuzzi only worked after I went to spa reception to ask for it to be turned on.
Felt we received inferior sevice in the restaurant after we informed them we were there with a wahanda voucher. 'Cupcake Afternoon Tea' was only tea and a cupcake. Afternoon tea suggested to me sandwiches and cake.
Overall my daughter and I had a good day but no thanks to the rafayel hotel! Will not recommend to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The hotel was lovely and the facilities were good if a little limited.

The cupcakes were lovely - however, the therapist tried to say she had given a 45 minute massage when she had only given 30 minutes, as we were also meant to have a 15 minute manicure.

She argued with us and was extremely rude so another staff member had to step in. We did get both treatments in the end. However, my massage was extremely painful and I was bruised for a week afterwards, unable to lie on my back. The manicure was also just a tidy up, with no polish and again the therapist was very rough, making my cuticles bleed, causing me a lot of pain and making them scab for the next two weeks.

The other staff member did provide us with an extra cupcake and tea each to make up for the argument. However, I would not visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Fantastic day at the River Wellbeing Spa. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the spa and the afternoon tea was wonderful. Very relaxing and staff very helpful and friendly.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review