Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

293 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 293 reviews

5 stars 75
4 stars 115
3 stars 60
2 stars 30
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (33)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (69)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (18)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (114)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The spa was smaller than I expected, with a jacuzzi (that only three people were able to use at any one time), a small sauna and steam room. The swimming pool was only available if you paid extra and unfortunately it was all right next to a rather loud gym. I was booked in for a mini mani-pedi which should only have been 30 minutes in duration, however, the therapist had 20 minutes spare and so spent the extra time on my treatments! The pedicure was very good and lasted for a long time following the day(though that isn't to say the manicure wasn't as good - it's short life span was most likely due to my lack of care than anything else!). For the price of the offer, it was a good experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The hotel was very very nice, the cupcake and tea was great. The spa facilities were very small and although the showers and changing rooms were lovely, one of the two showers did not work, and the other shower must have had stuff blocked down the drain as the water was building up in the bottom of the shower. The beauticians were lovely people but the actual treatment was not that good considering it was a 45min one. My therapist sat there whilst I had masks on and did not give me a massage or anything (which is one of my pet hates as I think that is so lazy). The relaxation room could be soooo much better to, all it is is a room with three beds in, no heat, lights, scents or anything!!
I had a nice time because of the company I was with and the aesthetics of the hotel and spa are nice. I think they could do a lot better though.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Was treated to a spa day by a friend and was a truly enjoyable experience. The facilities were nice and we both really enjoyed the treaments. Overall a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Difficult to rate as such a mixed experience. Treatment and cupcake deal was obviously v good value at £20 and massage was excellent - firm and effective on my very knotty back. However, it was quite a Fawlty Towers experience overall , waiting 55 mins for a sandwich in the restaurant, there being no-one on reception at the spa and when someone finally located, there being a discrepancy between the times of treatment given on my emailed confirmation and what they had in their system. We then had to wait a further 20 mins for robe and slippers to be located. Then finally, being given rock hard cupcakes, and when staff finally located , being told we had been given the 'show' cakes by mistake! We received apologies and free extras but I think both the restaurant and spa need to get their management sorted.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Cupcake definitely a plus. What a lovely way to spend a day and the treatments were wonderful too. I love my new pink toes and the massage was spot. If you want to relax and unwind for the day definitely a place to visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The cupcakes etc were lovely but a bit strange having to walk from the spa to the resturant past reception in your robe and slippers etc!! The spa was too busy and full with other voucher users to enjoy and you couldnt use the very teeny pool unless you had another voucher, and no more than 3 people in the spa at one time which meant it was always full which was a shame.

My friend and I had the same massuse and I thought she was ok, but she was quite rude to my friend. Wouldnt go back, but maybe it will improve if less people are there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
A lovely start with delicious cupcakes overlooking the river - stunning setting! Then a great massage - not a lot of words spoken by the therapist re what I wanted etc but thankfully she gave a good strong massage as I like it. Bubble bath was lush, sauna and steam room rather small but did their job without luxury. overall good value and a very enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I went with a group of my friends.
Upon arrival the hotel is really lovely and the initial staff were good. we went to the spa area and there was confusion over what treatments we could have. When I did have my treatments the beauticians didnt appear to be very experienced and I would say the treatments were ok but not amazing.
The spa facilities were a little dissapointing with a tiny plunge pool and also a jacuzzi that only fit in a couple of people. I would not reccomend to go as a group maybe as a two as there were 6 of us and it was not big enough to accomodate that amount.
The cupcakes were lovely there were 6 of us and we had one each and tea ok but the service was really poor in the bar and the staff were not at all atentive.
Overall it was ok but not overwhelming.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
Difficult to get in - Had to knock on the front door of the hotel!!!
Was told by therapist that wahanda voucher was misprinted and we could have a manicure or pedicure, not both.
Waited 45 mins for drinks. My daughter was told no orange juice was available and my 'earl grey' tea was not earl grey.
Steam room not working that day. Loud music from the gym spoilt the relaxed ambience when in the jacuzzi. Jacuzzi only worked after I went to spa reception to ask for it to be turned on.
Felt we received inferior sevice in the restaurant after we informed them we were there with a wahanda voucher. 'Cupcake Afternoon Tea' was only tea and a cupcake. Afternoon tea suggested to me sandwiches and cake.
Overall my daughter and I had a good day but no thanks to the rafayel hotel! Will not recommend to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The hotel was lovely and the facilities were good if a little limited.

The cupcakes were lovely - however, the therapist tried to say she had given a 45 minute massage when she had only given 30 minutes, as we were also meant to have a 15 minute manicure.

She argued with us and was extremely rude so another staff member had to step in. We did get both treatments in the end. However, my massage was extremely painful and I was bruised for a week afterwards, unable to lie on my back. The manicure was also just a tidy up, with no polish and again the therapist was very rough, making my cuticles bleed, causing me a lot of pain and making them scab for the next two weeks.

The other staff member did provide us with an extra cupcake and tea each to make up for the argument. However, I would not visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Fantastic day at the River Wellbeing Spa. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the spa and the afternoon tea was wonderful. Very relaxing and staff very helpful and friendly.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Went for my best friends birthday and throughout the day kept saying 'we must come back we must come back' .
Our massage was completely relaxing, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We got lost on the way there and Sherry offered to help us on the way back :) (she was lovely)
10/10 for the spa hotel and restaurant, perfect for couples, or a girly weekend. Definite recommendation.

We'll be back soon!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
Bought this voucher for me and my friend to go for a relaxing day to rest and enjoy, BUT and thats a big but don't go to this spa if thats what your looking for. As we got there on a friday morning at 10am and the first bad point was there was no parking at all and was told to park in the halfords opposite as you can park there for 2hrs and the receptionist said " as you wont be in the spa for longer than that" which turned out to be very true. When we park and got to the spa, they were fully booked for any treatments so we just had the use of the tiny tiny spa. Now we are both pregnant at the moment so we could not use the Sauna and the Steam room so what we could use was poor, the relaxation room is a room with some loungers on a bit of music playing and thats it (spent 45mins in there until we read all the magazines), the jacuzzi had a maximum of 3 people at one time so a queue formed as the pool which is tiny you had to pay £10 extra to use and could only use with a lifeguard present!! Beyond this is a gym and dont know about you but i dont go to a spa to use the gym. So our experinces was sitting in the relaxation room 45mins, trying to use the jacuzzi but didnt feel we should have to wait and that was it that was our spa day! It was shockingly bad, thank god i only paid £20 for this voucher as i can just stomach the appalling excuse for a spa. Overall review: BAD!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I treated my best friend to a Cupcake Tea Afternoon with a pampering treatment and use of the spa facilities at Rafayel Hotel.

She loved it but both of us thought the quality of treatments we got could have been better if staff had been more enthusiastic or energetic. The treatments were ok but we weren't sure the therapists were giving it 100%.

The same was for the restaurant staff when we went to have our cupcake tea. We must have at least waited 10 min to be acknowledged and another 10-15 minutes to get the tea in spite of the restaurant being almost empty that afternoon.

However, I am a fan of this hotel and the restaurant and will see how it'll be like on my third visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Ever since I spent Valentine's evening at the Rafayel Hotel I've always been a fan. I went back there with my best friend for a spa afternoon with cupcake tea and was not disappointed.
The massage treatment could have been more effective but it was only for half an hour so the therapist did her best.
The whole spa area is quite small - the jacuzzi has a maximum of 3 people policy - but even on a Sunday was not at all crowded. Likewise the relaxation room which has got two beds would seem crowded if there were more than three people. However what I really like about this spa is that the steam room and the sauna can be used by men and women at the same time unlike other hotel spas where these facilities are within the dressing rooms.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I went recently and had a wonderfully relaxing spa treatment and facial. The therapist was excellent and also gave me a great massage. I would highly recommend this venue, used the gym and facilities.
Would definately return and have a pamper again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I was very excited about spending a day in spa with 4 friends, on arrival the staff were friendly and the spa area is very nice and modern. We were taken straight to our treatments which were very nice and relaxing. We were then shown the spa facilities which were not at all as we were led to expect. Although they were nice, there is a small jacuzzi which only holds 3 people at a time and so we could not use, a small steam room and sauna, and an exercise pool which you had to pay to use. The relaxation room was small and just held 3 beds and a couple straight backed chairs. It wasn't really feasible for us to stay in the "spa" area for long as there wasn't space fo rus. So after showering and dressing we were directed to the restaurant area for our tea and cupcake. Again, the restaurant was nice, but we were shown to a sofa area and left for a while, then when we asked for menu's as we would like to eat some lunch, our request was completely ignored. Evenutally, after chasing, we were given 2 menus and our cupcakes, which were really delicious. We had lunch but the service was appalling and slow. We ate lunch on the sofas and were not even taken to a table.
If this deal had been advertised as treatments then it would be good value, but as a Spa day it was a huge anti-climax. I would not recommend the deal to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 4 years ago
First impressions were very good as this is a lovely hotel. When we arrived we had our afternoon tea in the restaurant. This consisted of 6 cupcakes (for 3 people) with 3 different flavours, and tea or coffee. The cupcakes were all delicious and the tea good too.

Then we went up to the spa for our treatments, all 3 of us had a back massage. The massage was very relaxing but also firm enough to get out all of those knots! We all felt very relaxed afterwards. We didn't stay to use the spa facilities, but the changing rooms were nice. All in all very good value for money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 3 years ago
A lovely clean and friendly hotel. The steam and sauna rooms are a little on the small side, but none the less was comfortable. The staff are friendly and the cup cakes are delicious.

The pick up service from the train station to the hotel and back again was very well received and really helped with the travel.

I would definitely go back again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Lovely clean, well maintained hotel. A sauna and steam rooms are a little small, but very friendly and the cup cakes were delicious.

Great service in terms of pick up from the train station to hotel and back again. In fact was there waiting for us when we arrived.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review