Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

280 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 280 reviews

5 stars 72
4 stars 109
3 stars 57
2 stars 29
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (27)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (62)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (13)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (110)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I would definitely go back to this spa. My friend and I had a wonderful experience and would strongly recommend it. All the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our treatments. As it was my friend's birthday, I had requested champagne twice, which staff agreed to, but it wasn't provided. This would be my only complaint! Overall I would recommend this hotel/spa!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Highly recommended venue with a great atmosphere and amazing therapists!
For a deal which costs £90 for two, my expectations were not that high but this spa surpassed them by far!
An hour of tranquility with a friend in the jacuzzi before an hour of relaxing massage and facial. We were not rushed to leave as soon as our treatments ended and we ended up spending another hour just gossiping in the relaxation room with a glass of champagne. Perfect Sunday.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
The Spa facilitites were dissappointing. The shower smelt mouldy. We were not given adequate info about the treatments available to us. Compared to other deals on the market it was over priced. Credit to the therapists they were good in the actual massage but i expected much more.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 2 years ago
This is a nice venue, the staff were ready for us when we arrived and the treatments were very good (I had a facial, my 3 friends had pedicures). The only downside to the experience was the fact that the spa area really wasn't big enough for the number of people wanting to use the facilities. Next time I would choose a day/time when there is likely to be less people (we went on a Sat afternoon). The tea and cake were a nice end to the experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I have bought this deal for a present to my friend, so she told me it was quite easy and quick to arrange an appointment and the lady at the reception was very courteous over the telephone .My friend told me the hotel is really luxurius and the spa was very peaceful but small although she hasn't used it, she had a little tour around .She was very pleased with the therapist from Lithuania who was very professional and friendly.The only thing i wasn't very happy, she has just been offered tea in a very inapproriate time when her nail polish was drying altough the voucher stated that tea and cake were also included but she has not even received any offer for a cake slice! I found very bizarre that before the manicure, while she was waiting for a long while,she has just been offered a glass of tap water but no one approched her to offer the tea and cake then! It will be nice that personnell will look at this attention to details as they make a quite big impact !

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Nice afternoon tea though no dining area as such so had to have this in front of reception! The relaxation room was nice with two comfy beds, heaters and some magazines. The pedicure was okay though no cuticle work done. The facilities were a bit dated. Overall a pleasant enough day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I went to River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel on a weekend day in Jan. First, they were too busy and could not offer me an locker, so the receptionist said I could pass my belongings to her and she would find me a locker later and then lock my things in and pass the key to me in my treating room. Then I went into a treating room for massage and body wrap. The room was cold and the massage was not good at all. I asked for deep tissue massage but the therapist offered very light massage. For the body wrap, the therapist even did not brush the body mask properly. A lot of parts of my body were not brushed by mask. When the body wrap finished I was guided to a shower room without towel. When my whole treatment finished I was not given a key of my locker so I had to walked to the receptionist to get my things back. The last stage of treatment was they would offer you some drink. After I changed, I went to the receptionist again, there was no chair for me to sit. At last I found a chair but it was wet, so I had to wait again for a dry chair. After I waited 10 minutes I got a dry chair but the tea they offered tasted very strange. I could not find anything make me happy for the whole treatment!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 2 years ago
i would go here again, i felt so relaxed after my massage the spa was lovely!!!
i enjoyed the jaccuzzi, working out in the gym having peace and quite.. very hard for me being a new mum nice location easy to get to fantastic views out the window.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Facilities were nice, but staff weren’t the best – we were kept waiting a lot. Was a bit disappointed there wasn’t a proper pool. My beauty therapist was quite rude, although the ones my friends had were much nicer.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 3 years ago
On a positive note, the therapists were 'spot on'. Our treatments were well done and the surroundings were pleasant. We have no complaints. On a negative (and sadly there were a few), the spa facilities are cramped, the changing rooms unkept, (used towels, robes and slippers all over the place) shower door broken and generally too many people in a very small area for it to come anywhere near relaxation. When we sat down to tea, there was not a cake in sight. Perhaps it is better during the week....

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 3 years ago
When I arrived at the River Wellbeing Spa, I was shown around by a member of the staff. The first thing I did was to make use of the gym facilities which included use the treadmill, the rowing machine and using the weights. I then had my facial done, which made by skin feel soft and smooth. After the treatment I made use of the spa bath. Finally I had a cup of coffee and some cakes. I enjoyed my day out at The Hotel Rafayel.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2011
Posted 2 years ago
Me and my friend visited this spa for her birthday, cute little spa, the treatments were great I had a lovely massage and my friend had a manicure. The tea and cake was a nice little extra although we had to have this in the reception as the relaxation room was busy which was a shame, the cake was delicious though!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I enjoyed my Wahanda deal in this place and I thought it was worth the money! I took my wife there on our anniversary and we had a massage each which I really enjoyed, she thought the room was slightly cold and the therapist didn’t check on pressure with her. Spa facilities were basic but clean and pleasant. We recently had a dinner there as well and the food wasn’t 5* but well prepared with strong Indian twist! Overall experience with this place isn’t overwhelming but worth the money on the deal.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I was so pleased to be offered a choice of treatments and a pedicure was just what I was after. The whole experience was very relaxing and conveniently locted. They were even kind enough to give me some slippers to drive home in!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I came here for my birthday and really had a great time. There was a problem as one of the therapists was sick so they had to change my appt time. But they managed to fit me in so all was okay. Was more than happy with the facilties and my actual treatment and loved the afternoon tea!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
My friend and I had an absolutely lovely relaxing day at the spa! We left totally chilled and happy.

Though small, the spa is finished and decorated beautifully and all the staff were really helpful.

I had a very relaxing pedicure and a manicure, and the therapist was nice and friendly, and did a nice job!

The relaxation room was so warm and comfortable that we could have quite easily spent the day in there, but we also enjoyed the steam, sauna and jacuzzi. Would love to go again :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Booking in the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

I had a nice day at the spa but that was more to do with the company with whom I went rather than the spa itself! As spas go, it is very small and not remotely as aesthetically pleasing as the pictures on the website would lead you to believe. The facilities were all very small and basic - the jacuzzi area was flooded with water and so a towel had been left there to soak up the water, the exercise pool was not working, the steam room benches were made of horrible white plastic, the sauna was okay.

Unlike a fellow reviewer, who was directed to the restaurant for afternoon tea, we had the pleasure of consuming ours in the reception area in front of the desk! This consisted of a pot of tea and one cupcake each - it was pleasant but again we would have expected a couple of items, e.g. another reviewer mentioned having a selection of cheesecake, macaroons, etc. The treatment (in my case massage) was pretty standard.

Overall although I had an enjoyable day, that was more to do with the laughs we had than the spa itself so I wouldn't go back there even on a deal.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
The photographs are incredibly complimentary, this is a very small spa and looking a bit shabbier than the images. Would be great to have as an add on if you were staying the hotel but it's not enough as spa in it's own right. The jacuzzi only holds three people and wasn't great, the poor design meant that water overflowed out everytime anyone got in and caused it stop temporarily, and flood the floor of the spa. The exercise pool has to be pre-booked so that there is an attendant and as we hadn't been made aware of this when we booked the day we couldn't use it. The sauna is ok but you can only just get 4 people in, all sitting and one person couldn't lie down in it. On the day we visited the steam room was broken and one of only two showers in the ladies changing was also out of order. The ladies toilet was out of toilet paper when we arrived at 10am and when we mentioned it 3 hours later were given rolls to put in ourselves. The massage was ok, but the therapists were giving each other pedi's so they were walking around with bare feet with paper between their toes. I would have been very disappointed had I paid full price and wouldn't even go back on a voucher deal. I would recommend that this spa consider how they promote themselves and pay more attention to detail.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Most painful massage i've ever had! Although my friends was great - depends who you get - the spa was really clean though. The manicure was ok for 15 minutes but again my friend got better treatment. The spa was very quiet though - we only saw 2 other people.

The cupcake afternoon tea they didnt have any cupcakes for so gave us biscuits instead which wasnt great as we had prebooked - we werent offered a drink or anything to make up for it. If I had of been paying more I would have been very disappointed.

Nice setting along by the Thames on a sunny day - although the helicopters are noisy.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Overall had a lovely day and was really excellent value at just £10 each! The facilities were small - a steam room (4 people max, but quite a squeeze) and sauna (2 lying or 4 sitting, again a bit of a squeeze) and a jacuzzi (max 3 otherwise it overflowed). However despite their size they were the perfect temperature, were clean and well maintained and the decor was pleasant. The steam room had a cold shower inside it which I'd never experienced before, but thought great as you didn't get cold enroute to a shower. The relaxation room again was small with just 3 beds and a few chairs and was within the middle othe building so had no natural light and was very dimly lit, which seemed strange initially, but was great if you wanted a doze! As we were 4 in our party we couldn't all lie down at the same time or be in the jacuzzi altogether so it's purely down to the size of the facilities that I have graded them as ok, but that's only in comparison to country spa hotels, so for a city hotel it was to be expected. I misunderstood the hotel spa's website and so even though the voucher said the swimex pool couldn't be used I thought there was a normal swimming pool there so was slightly disappointed in that respect, but it didn't spoil our day. The staff were very pleasant and the masseuse provided a lovely firm and relaxing back, neck and shoulder massage. The cupcake afternoon tea wasn't cupcakes, but lots of little macaroons, florentines, cheesecake and tiramisu. Delicious, but would have preferred fewer sweet things and a few little savoury sandwiches instead. We had the choice of taking it in the hotel restaurant overlooking the river or in the relaxation room. Parking was free on site. Would definitely go again tomorrow at that price! Thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review