Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

295 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 295 reviews

5 stars 76
4 stars 116
3 stars 60
2 stars 30
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (33)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (70)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (18)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (114)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Posted 1 year ago
The spa is situated in a hotel 10 mins bus ride (170) from Clapham Junction . On arrival was pleasantly greeted and updated on the arrangements for the day. As my treatment times were deferrred I decided to go to the relaxation room for short while. To my surpise the room was more of a lounge , well decorated and pleasant but not the type of set up I was expecting. One could not elevate their legs, the room had glass walls to had plenty of natural light not condusive for really chilling out. After my complimentary refreshment i decided to have lunch and was told that I would get 50% off. On entrance to the restaurant the offer was confirmed with signage and by the waitress. I was totally surprised that when I tried to place my order for lunch (burger and Chips) and pudding that my choice was not eligible as was deemed a snack! I decided not to get into a debate and took myself back to Clapham Junction and enjoyed Scampi and chips. I reluctantly returned to the hotel to salvage my day. Found that the locker did not lock (new ones on order) and whilst there was the offer of the spa receptionist sticking it in a cupboard I did not feel comfortable as the girls were busy and area not always manned. The jacuzzi was nice and hot but only had capacity for 3 people. The steam room and sauna took 5 -6 people. Neither had egg timers. There were no loungers in the jacuzzi area of shower to rinse of between sauna etc.

What really saved the day for me and why the overall mark is so high was my therapist (Billy Jean) and my treatments. She really looked after me . My feet were unrecognisible after the pedicure. Despite being the last customer she took her time and was very thorough and professional. It is really down to BJ that I would reconsider going back for more treatments (not the facilities). On another note the other spa staff were pleasant and the place was clean and they used very good products. With tweaking the owner can turn that place around to make it a true spa experience but as it i now not really on par with some of the spa experience offered by many.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
The musleaese massage was out of this world but sadly the venue was a huge let down, the towels and
robes were discoloured, my disapointement started as soon as I saw how the robes and towels were stored
untidily behind the spa reception, for a five star hotel spa the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, wholes around the jacuzzi was filthy, the showers were not properly cleaned, the tables in the relaxation area were dirty.

I would definetly book the therapist if she is working somewhere else as they are the only good thing about
the spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I found the day thoroughly relaxing and it was great value for money. I would consider going again and trying out further treatments that are on offer. Definitely worth a visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
I felt the whole experience was really worth the money. The staff both at main reception & the Spa reception were polite & very keen to help.

The facilities were really nice & every thing was clean and just a pleasant environment to be in.

I would recommend the day to any of my friends or family.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2013
Posted 1 year ago
This was the second visit, and the ambience and facilities are just great when you go on a weekday. Started off in the gym and then wanted to use the steam room which was apparently working this time, but it didn't actually seem to work. However, the jacuzzi, sauna and hydro pool all were and were great.
I had a massage and mini facial, then stay in the bath filled with salts and light therapy with a glass of champagne and aloe Vera juice. My therapist wasn't as strong as the therapist I had before, as when even when I asked her to apply more pressure, it was milder stronger from feeling as if she was simply stroking my back. My boyfriend, however, said his therapist was amazing and managed to reduce all the knots in his back. The mini facial was great as my skin felt really smooth even days afterwards, and the stay in the bath was perfectly romantic.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Best massage around.

Was offered champagne instead of cake as I have a nut allergy and the only cake they had included nuts. Great swap!

Staff friendly, facilities good. Will go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2013
Posted 2 years ago
Very nice, quiet laxing day. Good facilities, River view realxation room is particularly nice. Helpfdul and attentive staff. all in all - a real treat and a very good value for money with the Wahanda voucher.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I booked the "Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day" as a birthday gift. The treatments and therapist was great. Unfortunately, the front of house staff and facilities really let it down. When i initially called the lady on the phone booked us in for the wrong month so there was some confusion and as a result we couldn't get the time we wanted on the day of our choice. They did offer a further glass of champagne as an apology. However, I had to constantly remind staff that we were due our glasses of champagne and juice. There's a sign at reception stating that if you "don't ask you don't get", which felt like the wrong attitude for something I had booked in advanced. I wanted a care-free and relaxing day and not to have to keep reminding staff what drinks we had as part of our deal. They then arrived all at once which meant the champagne became warm by the second glass.

If you're planning a day of it and to use the restaurant you cannot stay in your robes, like in some Spa's, or get food delivered from the restaurant to the relaxation room, so you have to leave the facilities when you get hungry! We went on a Saturday and the place is quite small, so with around 8 couples it felt crowded. The Jacuzzi can only hold 3 people at a time, as can the steam room and sauna. To get to the relaxation room you have to walk through the gym, which is used by hotel guests too, so the whole feel isn't particularly relaxing.

The relaxation room is nice with views of the river. However, you are quite close to other guests and again it doesn't really feel like it can accommodate more than 8 people. I found the whole experience quite embarrassing as this was supposed to be a birthday treat for my friend and instead it felt like we were being rushed and not looked after.

I think if i lived closer and could book on a weekday then perhaps the experience would have been better. The treatments are really well executed but it doesn't work as a package. You certainly can't spend the day here, a couple of hours at most.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I went with my sister on a Tuesday. It was pretty much empty so we had the whole place to ourselves. We spent an entire day here 10:30-6pm.
The staff were great and the place, although small, was quaint. There was a Buddhist theme to it which was 'relaxing'.
The deep tissue massage was great. The body wrap was OK. The food at the Banyan on Thames was great. Views out of the relaxation room were fabulous as were our nutmeg and vanilla teas!
I think if we had come on a different day we would have been disappointed if we had to share the space with other people.
I was determined to stay there as long as possible but I can imagine if you were only there for a couple of hours you'd be disappointed. For the price we paid we saved at least £80 on treatments but I don't think they should have been priced as heavily as they were. On the whole I would recommend on a weekday morning with an open mind as it can be great when your only one of a few people there :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Worst experience I have ever received in a place where customer service is meant to be their foremost concern, I arrived at the spa maybe 10-15 minutes late, one of the staff I think her name was Mellissa behind the reception came over after asking me to sit down and explained that I couldn’t have my treatment as it would be two hours and they were fully booked, I was shocked when hearing this as I had come a far distance for these treatment, I wasn’t informed on any timing issues prior to arriving. I was upset about this to start with and said I would like to go ahead with the treatments regardless of the lost time, I also had someone accompanying me who was a little late, whilst waiting for my company they were on their computers trying to justify their mistakes, another rude woman called Christina eastern European lady with a very bad attitude told me to look at a screen in which said I was to arrive at the spa at so and so time and it would be 2hours…I never received any of this information, the information I was going by was the one I had received on the phone which did not entail this. I studied the screen for a while and realised that that my name for my email address was spelt incorrectly, this bemused me as I had spelt my email address out to the same lady over the phone, she had not only made one mistake but two, this infuriated me even further, she then went on to say that I had fabricated my booking in not so many words, I was shocked beyond words, I told her I needn’t lie, it was unnecessary, I then showed her my phone and my emails and how my name should have been spelt, she then pulled up my telephone number and said I should have received a text….i received no text message, I told her to show me the number, upon inspection I saw that they had negligently put 12 digits instead of 11, I had had enough at this point, I asked for a refund, she told me I couldn’t get one, I knew this was a myth as she had made not one mistake but two mistake causing several losses on my behalf, they told me to call the agency in which I had booked through, but they didn’t think I would receive a refund, Mellissa then went on to say I could have my 2hour treatment after 20mins, I refused, she had lied initially in saying she was fully booked, these people could not be trusted around my body or belongings, all in all I did receive a full refund, however I would not recommend this place to anyone, simple jobs could not be executed to the efficiently expected at, I could only imagine what the actual spa would have been like, this is a god forsaken place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2013
Posted 2 years ago
River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel is well located and has a great ambiance. The facilities are well looked after and clean. Their staff is attentive and polite so I definitely recommend a visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
This was the worst Spa experience I have had. The facilities are tiny - a jacuzzi that only fits 3 and the steam room was out of order. The plug hole of one of the showers was blocked!
The staff were rude and unhelpful! There had been a problem with their systems - fair enough this happens but no apologies were offered to anyone - a shrug was all anyone got from the staff! The 'tea and cake' was poor, we had to ask for milk and there was NO choice of cake, it took ages to come and when it did the cake was dry and clearly had come out of a box.
The facial was nice, and my therapist commendable - Jade - she was the only good thing in the whole experience! However my friends therapist didn't speak to her - not even to tell her how long she was leaving the mask on for - she just walked out of the room!

All in all a shocking excuse for a Spa - I will never return - our spa day ended at 12 noon - we had had enough!

Enter at your own risk!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2013
Posted 2 years ago
Brought the 2 for 1 coconut body wrap with deep tissue massage for my boyfriend's birthday and went on a Thursday.
We were delayed at the beginning because the person who booked the treatment over the phone didn't enter it into the system, so they weren't expecting us. I had to log on onto my email and show them my confirmation. However, after a wait, the receptionist shuffled things a bit and we were shortly led to the changing rooms.
My boyfriend and I were in the same room for our shoulder and back massage, which was ecactly what we both needed. The body wrap consisted of a full body exfoliation with a nutrient rich lotion. We were left to absorb the lotion in the room with a very calming ambience.
Our skin were left very smooth!

Because we went on a weekday, we pretty much had the whole spa to ourselves. However I can imagine it being very crowded during peak hours ad the spa is pretty small.

The staff were great in serving our complimentary champagne and aloe vera juice.
Definitely recommended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
The staff were lovely to deal with, the ambience of the therapy area was great and I really enjoyed the treatment - would definitely recommend, felt pampered and happy! :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2012
Posted 2 years ago
My boyfriend and I visited the Rafayel for a spa da including massage, facial and private couples bath. The spa is on the 3rd floor of the hotel and has relaxed thai/buddhist influenced decor; nothing kitch or overbearing; a peaceful ambience. The changeing rooms were clean an spacious with robes and slippers and essentail toiletries as you would expect. We enjoyed a lovely massage, facial and bath together in a roomy couples treatment room and then had full use of the spa, which is small but has everything you could want, and was not crowded on a Wednesday afternoon. The relaxation lounge is great, with plenty of sofas, and overlooks the river. All in all a very relaxing day, and my boyfriend was particularly impressed with his massage as the therapist was able to diagnose his shoulder problem almost instantly. The staff were all very welcoming and efficient and after we had enjoyed our treatments and champagne included in the package they rustled up additional refreshments for us in the form of cake and aloe vera juice free of charge (that may have been partly due to the BFs well honed persuasion skills!). We would both thoroughly recommend the spa and the package for a restful afternoon with a loved one.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Treatment availability was poor so it was difficult to book (need to book 2-3 months in advance if you want a Saturday), staff were also disorganised in making bookings (on two occasions they got their wires crossed and thought I was another customer).

On visiting the spa, the atmosphere was ok, although they were clearly understaffed on the day I attended and staff were rushed off their feet and you had to wait for a receptionist to come. My treatment was running an hour late but when it did arrived it was extremely good.

Spa facilities were cramped and busy. There were no waiting areas so people were standing around waiting to use the jacuzzi/sauna/steam room etc. I never got to use the pool as it was fully occupied for the entirety of my visit. I did not use the gym but looked good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
This place is not large and it does get busy at the weekend, the staff are not very friendly and i would not say they are very knowledgeable but the massage I had was good.
This is a good place to visit with a voucher but i dont think i would ever go when paying full price there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Visited the spa with family and had a very relaxing day. I had a good massage and my sister had a manicure. If there are other vouchers I would come back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I booked the Exotic Summer Glow Spa Day for me and my friend.

The treatments were really lovely - we had a deep tissue massage and a lime salt scrub, which completely relaxed us both! I would very much recommend the treatments.

However I would not recommend the venue. The spa facilities were very limited and small. I had to walk dripping wet through to the reception to ask them to turn on the hot tub (which was luke warm) despite telling the receptionist that is where we were going! The staff were not friendly, I had to ask several times for anything we needed until it eventually appeared! We then went for lunch (where we finally had our glass of champagne) which was OK. The best bit about the restaurant is the view.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
My friend and I booked the spa day as a girls day out - we were interested in the tea and cakes offer, with a choice of treatment. We both decided we wanted the massage.

Booking: This was no problem, although I booked our treatments 2 months from the booking date, so availability was good. We were able to have out treatments booked at the same time at a reasonable hour.
Venue: 20 minutes from Clapham Junction station, this was fairly easy to find although it is a bit out of the way. The spa itself was lovely, on the small side but it had a jacuzzi, wave pool, gym and massage rooms.
Massage: Really good - my friend and I were given our back massages in the same room, at the same time, so neither one of us had to wait around for the other. The therapist did the exact pressure I wanted from her, and the massage felt amazing.

Overall experience: although I was happy with the spa itself and the treatment, I have to say that I would not return to the spa for a few reasons:
1. We were there on a Saturday and the spa was fully booked - however there was only 1 working shower in the women's locker room. When it was time to leave we had to queue up for the shower - ridiculous considering there were about 4 women waiting at a time.
2. The offer we booked through Wahanda was for Tea and Cakes. Although we were offered tea with no problems, we finished our treatment at about 11am and asked for the cakes at that point. We were told these were coming. At 12pm and 1pm we asked again for our cakes, and were told these were still on their way, and that we should wait in the waiting room, which was FREEZING! IT was also overcrowded considering the amount of people at the spa over the weekend - their wasn't enough seating for anyone who was waiting for a drink or some food.
3. At 2pm my friend and I had pretty much had enough of waiting for our cakes and went to leave. We were getting dressed in the locker room when a staff member came in and rudely asked us to come with her as our cakes were ready. When we asked for a minute (given we were still getting dressed) she huffed off and told us to wait in the waiting room. If I hadn't been so starving by this point I would have left immediately. As it was, I wish I had. We were told the cakes were being prepared, and what we were served was a type of frozen cheesecake, which was so bad neither of us finished it.

Conclusion: the treatment was great, but I would not have paid full price for it. A shame that such a nice experience was ruined by the poor staff attitude and not setting expectations with the clients. They offered that we could go back (as the wave pool was not working on the Saturday that we were there) however I would not want to return for even a free day at the venue.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review