Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

281 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Chain rating

Based on 281 reviews

5 stars 72
4 stars 109
3 stars 58
2 stars 29
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (27)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (62)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (13)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (110)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited December 2012
Posted 2 years ago
My boyfriend and I visited the Rafayel for a spa da including massage, facial and private couples bath. The spa is on the 3rd floor of the hotel and has relaxed thai/buddhist influenced decor; nothing kitch or overbearing; a peaceful ambience. The changeing rooms were clean an spacious with robes and slippers and essentail toiletries as you would expect. We enjoyed a lovely massage, facial and bath together in a roomy couples treatment room and then had full use of the spa, which is small but has everything you could want, and was not crowded on a Wednesday afternoon. The relaxation lounge is great, with plenty of sofas, and overlooks the river. All in all a very relaxing day, and my boyfriend was particularly impressed with his massage as the therapist was able to diagnose his shoulder problem almost instantly. The staff were all very welcoming and efficient and after we had enjoyed our treatments and champagne included in the package they rustled up additional refreshments for us in the form of cake and aloe vera juice free of charge (that may have been partly due to the BFs well honed persuasion skills!). We would both thoroughly recommend the spa and the package for a restful afternoon with a loved one.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Treatment availability was poor so it was difficult to book (need to book 2-3 months in advance if you want a Saturday), staff were also disorganised in making bookings (on two occasions they got their wires crossed and thought I was another customer).

On visiting the spa, the atmosphere was ok, although they were clearly understaffed on the day I attended and staff were rushed off their feet and you had to wait for a receptionist to come. My treatment was running an hour late but when it did arrived it was extremely good.

Spa facilities were cramped and busy. There were no waiting areas so people were standing around waiting to use the jacuzzi/sauna/steam room etc. I never got to use the pool as it was fully occupied for the entirety of my visit. I did not use the gym but looked good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
This place is not large and it does get busy at the weekend, the staff are not very friendly and i would not say they are very knowledgeable but the massage I had was good.
This is a good place to visit with a voucher but i dont think i would ever go when paying full price there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Visited the spa with family and had a very relaxing day. I had a good massage and my sister had a manicure. If there are other vouchers I would come back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I booked the Exotic Summer Glow Spa Day for me and my friend.

The treatments were really lovely - we had a deep tissue massage and a lime salt scrub, which completely relaxed us both! I would very much recommend the treatments.

However I would not recommend the venue. The spa facilities were very limited and small. I had to walk dripping wet through to the reception to ask them to turn on the hot tub (which was luke warm) despite telling the receptionist that is where we were going! The staff were not friendly, I had to ask several times for anything we needed until it eventually appeared! We then went for lunch (where we finally had our glass of champagne) which was OK. The best bit about the restaurant is the view.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
My friend and I booked the spa day as a girls day out - we were interested in the tea and cakes offer, with a choice of treatment. We both decided we wanted the massage.

Booking: This was no problem, although I booked our treatments 2 months from the booking date, so availability was good. We were able to have out treatments booked at the same time at a reasonable hour.
Venue: 20 minutes from Clapham Junction station, this was fairly easy to find although it is a bit out of the way. The spa itself was lovely, on the small side but it had a jacuzzi, wave pool, gym and massage rooms.
Massage: Really good - my friend and I were given our back massages in the same room, at the same time, so neither one of us had to wait around for the other. The therapist did the exact pressure I wanted from her, and the massage felt amazing.

Overall experience: although I was happy with the spa itself and the treatment, I have to say that I would not return to the spa for a few reasons:
1. We were there on a Saturday and the spa was fully booked - however there was only 1 working shower in the women's locker room. When it was time to leave we had to queue up for the shower - ridiculous considering there were about 4 women waiting at a time.
2. The offer we booked through Wahanda was for Tea and Cakes. Although we were offered tea with no problems, we finished our treatment at about 11am and asked for the cakes at that point. We were told these were coming. At 12pm and 1pm we asked again for our cakes, and were told these were still on their way, and that we should wait in the waiting room, which was FREEZING! IT was also overcrowded considering the amount of people at the spa over the weekend - their wasn't enough seating for anyone who was waiting for a drink or some food.
3. At 2pm my friend and I had pretty much had enough of waiting for our cakes and went to leave. We were getting dressed in the locker room when a staff member came in and rudely asked us to come with her as our cakes were ready. When we asked for a minute (given we were still getting dressed) she huffed off and told us to wait in the waiting room. If I hadn't been so starving by this point I would have left immediately. As it was, I wish I had. We were told the cakes were being prepared, and what we were served was a type of frozen cheesecake, which was so bad neither of us finished it.

Conclusion: the treatment was great, but I would not have paid full price for it. A shame that such a nice experience was ruined by the poor staff attitude and not setting expectations with the clients. They offered that we could go back (as the wave pool was not working on the Saturday that we were there) however I would not want to return for even a free day at the venue.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I took my daughter for her birthday. it cost £140 for us both and included three 30 minute treatments - a back massage, a facial and a manicure or pedicure. We both chose the pedicure. We arrived early so we could make use of the facilities beforehand. The hotel is right on the river and we enjoyed using the jacuzzi, sauna and steam. There was also a gym and a hydra pool which we didn't use. we shared a treatment room and both thoroughly enjoyed being spoilt. Our therapists were both excellent and we loved the attention to detail on our pedicures. It was the best nail paint we've both ever had. We had a lovely time and would recommend this spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
We booked in the Express Spa Day and had a Massage, facial and pedicure each. The treatments we had at the same time (except the pedicure). We had our massages in a nice treatment room and the massages were amazing. As was the facial which we had straight afterwards and felt really relaxed and refreshed afterwards. Both our therapists were lovely and really good. We both had a pedicure and were really happy with that too. I prefer a bit more of a foot massage but was really good and for the deal we had, was great value to have 3 treatments.
The facilities at the spa are quite small and basic. The jacuzzi was nice but then didn't work when we went in the second time. The hydrotherapy pool wasn't explained to us so woudl be good to be shown the facilities and how they work. Steam/sauna were standard. It was a bit cold in the communal areas. The receptionist at the beginning wasn't that helpful but I think she was covering someone. The relaxation room had a lovely view over the river and we had really nice fresh peppermint tea in there. A lovely day and amazing treatments. Great value and would go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
The treatments themselves were very good, especially the massage and the therapists were very polite and knowledgeable. However, the spa itself was not as clean and tidy as it has been on previous visits. The pool was out of service. The changing rooms appeared to be left unchecked during my visit and I actually had to tidy it as it had been left in a horrible state by other guests - towels, dressing gowns and slipper discarded around the room, a filthy shower mat and rubbish left lying around. The relaxation area was also left in a mess for much longer than it should have been, with dirty plates and tea cups lying around on all tables. Several other guests commented quietly that other rowdy groups should have been asked to be quieter - a spa is meant to be relaxing and loud shouting and running around is disruptive and does not help with the atmosphere. The spa itself was very busy when we went and I think that the staff were overstretched, but in the future I would recommend that they keep a closer eye on the ambience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
This experience was not as good as we expected. We went as a group of 3 females and on arrival were kept waiting in the spa reception for a while before we were eventually taken through to use the facilities. Considering we were only there for the day and came from far therefore arrived after 11am, this time felt wasted, we just wanted to be shown to the changing rooms so we could start using the facilities.

The first disappointment came when we were told that the hydrotherapy pool was not working (!)....why not give us a reduction then or a voucher to make up for that? Secondly, the steam room wasn't big enough to swing a cat in, it had only 4 'seats' in it, one of which had a sign saying 'do not use', therefore only 3 people at a time could just about fit in it and the door had approx. a 1inch gap at the bottom so the steam wasn't powerful in the least!

The sauna was small but reasonable, fit about 6 people at a squeeze but hot and effective. The jacuzzi too was small (a sign said no more than 3 people at a time), but very nice. However, it got busy later in the day as there was a combination of voucher users and hotel guests using the facilities so it was a game of watch out for a space so you could dash in and use one of the facilities before it got 'full' with 3 people!

The best part for me was the free 25min massage, the lady was very good and I felt very relaxed and all tightness in my neck relieved, she was great.

We then ate a meal in the hotel's restaurant (not part of the deal, just thought we'd check it out as there was a 'top table' discount of 50% - of an already expensive menu). However the food was absolutely excellent! Extremely pleasant and knowledgeable staff, they knew what each dish consisted of. I'd recommend the ravioli and lobster bisque, absolutely delicious, but then for the 3 of us we agreed that all our courses were fantastic, much appreciation goes out to chef and restaurant staff.

I suppose you get what you pay for and at £25 for the day each this could and should have been better.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
This was my first solo visit to a spa and the staff made me feel at ease at the get-go. I had a massage followed by tea and cake. I asked for a hard massage and the therapist obliged which was great. I had full use of the spa facilities included in this great deal which included the gym. My one criticism is that there was no concept of pool-side loungers as there was no pool, only a jacuzzi. There was a separate relaxation room with music and a great selection of magazines but the lighting was very bright. Had it been dimmed it would have been a more relaxing spot to relocate to after the massage. Didn't stop my enjoying a lovely slice of cheesecake though :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
As I wanted a day to utterly spoil myself I read the reviews first. There were some that were not too great, but others were fantastic. I only used this as a guide, as I like to find out first hand for myself. And I'm so glad I plumped for River Wellbeing Spa. I was there early and had the place to myself. The receptionist was very pleasant and showed me around, apologising that the hydro pool was not available. I changed into my robe and relaxed until my first treatment which was a lovely deep tissue massage. The therapist was lovely, and checked the pressure she should apply. It was very relaxing and I almost fell asleep :-/ next was a lime and ginger body scrub, followed by a shower with Elemis products. My skin was gorgeously soft, and feels just as soft 2 days later. My paraffin manicure was lovely, and relaxing. I then used the facilties in between having Champagne, tea and cakes in the relaxation lounge overlooking the river. This was absolutely what I needed after having a stressful few weeks with work. Would definitely recommend River Wellbeing Spa, and I have plans to go back on a regular basis for 'me' time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Was well worth the money. An incredible experience with excellent service. They used a wax I had never used before but will now definitely be visiting the River Wellbeing Spa again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I don’t get all the negative reviews, most sound like nitpicking. Anyway, my experience at River was great! View from relaxation room was lovely and the Swedish massage was sooooo good. My therapist was a very polite soft-spoken girl, who gave me the full course of treatment even though I was 10 minutes late. The spa may be small, but it checks all the boxes in excellence. My refreshing tea and 10-minute rest before leaving wasGood job, River girls!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
Oops...trigger happy fingers! My refreshing tea and 10-minute rest before leaving was just the finishing touch I needed. Will definitely go back. Good job, River girls!

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 2 years ago
On arrival the staff weren't very inviting. They looked at you fairly blankly which made you feel that you were'nt expected. They seemed uncomfortable as to who would show us around as though it wasn't in their jurisdiction. The water provided in the reception area was really warm like it had been sat there for days. Very unpleasant! One of the lockers did lock and both the toilets were dirty until my friend flushed them both which we both thought...YUK!!! We used the gym but as we had no headphones and they didn't have any available; we could listen to the music. We had to instruct them when we wanted our tea and they brought us a small box with 4 chocolates in as a complimentary gift (we thought). Our invitation offered tea and cakes! When we asked for tea in the afternoon they made one pot of english breakfast although we asked for both EB and Earl Grey. Twice they ignored us on that. We were told our chocolate was instead of our cake and because I made a fuss the poor girl had to speak with the manager and we were brought a cup cake each We also had to ask for clean cups and a fresh jug of milk as they hadn't cleared away the pot from the morning and expected us to drink from the same cups We didn't order food from the hotel because the service was terrible There was no swimming pool but a plunge pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. The steam room wasn't working properly and the maintenance manger didn't appear to fix it so we didn't get to use that. It is based on the 3rd floor so is only accessible by lift. Anyone who has a phobia of lifts best choose another venue.
The facials we had were lovely but as neither of us have had a facial before we can't compare.
The girls were lovely though! Although mine spoke limited english, she was really kind and very good at ther job.
We probably wouldn't go here again as we had travel a fair way and were dissapointed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Enjoyed my day at the River Well-being spa, Arrived at the spa and was offered valet service for my car. The receptionist was friendly and was talked through the different treatments available. Wasn't given a tour however, the spa is small enough for you to find things by yourself.
The therapists were polite and talked through what the treatments were for and the benefits of having them done.
Was offered an Aloe vera drink which was tasty and champagne in the relaxation room which boasts views of the river.
Enjoyed my day thoroughly and will be coming back for the 2 4 1 offer, worth the money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I had made my booking by email but when we arrived our reservation hadn't been noted (even though I had received a response). This was particularly disappointing when it was a treat for my sister's birthday. However, the staff tried there best to make it up to us and squeezed in a treatment (although not what we'd booked). Therapist was very good. Facilities were disappointing - the pool was closed and the hot tub only big enough for two people. As there were already two people in there we couldn't use it. We didn't even get offered the tea and cake.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I can understand the mixed reviews. I went on my own and, for me, the steam, sauna and jacuzzi was fine, but it would have been too small if I went with friends, or if anyone else was using it. The relaxation room is a joke - little bigger than my wardrobe. I was glad it was full (with 2 people) so I didn't have to sit in there. The gym was really well equipped for a hotel gym - overall, its by no means a 5* spa, but its quite good hotel facilities. I wouldn't go there for anything other than the gym, steam, spa and a treatment or two. My pedicure and therapist was lovely, but the two receptionists were terrible - brusque, rude.....awful. There also was a children's party in a function room on the same floor which was REALLY noisy. The tea and 'cakes' was also a box of 4 chocolates - I like chocolate so it didn't bother me, but the impression given was like a mini-afternoon tea - which this most definitely was not.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Spa was rather much smaller than we had imagined in the pictures and the pool was not working at the time. Sauna room was nice although did not fit many people and the steam room only fitted 6 people and was a little dirty. However, we were most impressed by the therapists who carried out lovely facials which left us glowing afterwards. The front of house receptionist was also very nice and answered all of our queries. Overall, the experience was more simple than we expected and we are very glad that we did not pay full price for our experience, as we would have been very unhappy otherwise, but for the deal, we can't complain too much!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Very disappointed with whole experience, from the start of the booking process with the hotel to be greeted, (or not) as the case was!! The very small facilities, the lateness of my appointment no apology. No tea and no cakes were offered!
So disappointed and upset about the whole experience-I had been ill for while and my husband had bought me the voucher!


While I was there waiting in reception, there was 3 people complaining about the small facilities and the false advert to a 5* spa, it's more like a gym. the relaxation room was a shoe box.
Need I go on...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review