Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

292 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 292 reviews

5 stars 75
4 stars 114
3 stars 60
2 stars 30
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (32)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (69)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (17)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (114)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 9 months ago
A very small spa facility. We came for a couple treatment and there were another 2 couples at the same time - and it seems a bit packed with 6 guests in. Steam room can not fit more than 3 guests, Jacuzzi more then 4 people. Resistant pool is a bit stinky.
Before going to treatments we ask about our champagne and we told to wait in a relaxing room. We waited for 30 mins until it was obvious they have forgotten about us. The massage was nice but not deep tissue we asked for. The wrap was not up to my test: the salt was itchy and I felt very cold in a wrap.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 10 months ago
The spa is beautifully made, and the view is magnificent- as someone had observed earlier on. Showers, lockers etc are great.
The swimming pool is really a very small therapy pool, and the sauna lacks 1) a timer, 2) the temperature (when I was in, it was barely warm; I told the staff about that but it didn't improved by the time my treatment was due).

My treatment- a really and truly a great one! I was in the bliss, I will be back for sure. The therapist was efficient and nice, not talking too much and allowing me to stay in peace.
Please do remember you will need a £1 for a locker.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 11 months ago
This experience was a day to remember. The treatment and staff were superb. It was a present from my mom for me and my girlfriend and I told her how happy we were with the gift. She will be looking out for more deals as she now wants to have the experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a 241 Couples Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a The Executive Detox Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Slightly disappointed by the staff there. They made a confusion with my booking, and I never got the full deal that was described here - didn't get any complimentary glass of Champagne, didn't get any complimentary glass of aloe vera Juice, and didn't get access to the gym.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a 241 Couples Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Fantastic service- very attentive receptionist who made sure we were taken care of. Great views of the Thames from the relaxation room. Overall the spa is a little small and the steam room was not working however we still had a fantastic afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Perfect Treatment for You Half Day Spa Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I visited for my birthday, with my mum.

The receptionist was never on reception and a lot of unnecessary time was wasted waiting for her but other than this the experience was great. We were told to ask for our drinks when we were ready for it. The massages were excellent. The relaxation room had a beautiful view of the Thames and the steam room and sauna were empty, so my mum and I got to spend some real quality time with one another. The sauna and steam room are very small but everything was nice.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a 2 for 1 Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a 2 for 1 Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The spa is brilliant. Everything you need and the staff really look after you. Overcrowding isnt a problem at all. Highly recommended

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a 2 for 1 Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
We came here for a spa day booked for my wife's birthday by our sons. The whole experience aside from the actual treatment was totally underwhelming. The girl behind the spa reception seemed bored and uninterested. She told us we could use the facilities during our day and then proceeded to show us - a tiny jacuzzi, a non-functioning small resistance pool and a mini steam room and sauna. Hardly a day's worth of activity! The changing rooms were small and none of the lockers had keys so we had to take all out belongings back to the reception for them to put our stuff in their room behind the desk. It was, quite frankly, a bit of a shambles. The only good thing, and what we actually came for, was the treatment itself. That was well carried out and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I wouldn't bother coming back here though.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
As posted on Tripadvisor.co.uk on 1st October 2013

If it is even possible, I wouldn't even want to rate it!

We came here today to do a couple's spa relation package that was advertised on website and upon arrival for our 10am morning booking, the staff were not here yet and we came with the full intention of spending the whole day at the spa using the facility and was told on the phone when we booked that all was working. This morning it was absolutely horrible! There are no lockers for us to use though there are lockers plentiful but with no keys. Then the jacuzzi is not working and they only have the sauna and hydrotherapy pool available. So that doesn't leave us much to do and to spend a chill-out time here. Then the staff and manager told us that the facilities is not part of our spa package and it is just complimentary if it is available. Well we could have made our choice if we were informed that part of the facility was not available if they were to call or email us even before-hand. Especially when London is not short on other spa choices with full facilities. And when we asked for any compensational or discount, they kept insisting that we are paying for what we are paying for! After calling a few spas in London and all were fully booked, I was hugely disappointed and upset and told the manager so. They did give us a 15 pound discount and a return to use the facility after all things are 'running' properly but seriously, I will never step back here again after today!

Not recommended to come if this was the type of 'service' we are paying for.

(((( Followed by a rather DEFENSIVE note by the PR Mgr, well here are to give our review on Wahanda)))))



Actual experience the manager was not forthcoming with any solution when my comment was posted on Tripadvisor.co.uk and as what was stated in Wahanda the package was with full use of facility!

And we meant to elaborate more on what happened after consider that I have to travel back to Malaysia the next day and didn't get around to do it.

Being DEFENSIVE, not FORTHCOMING with proper solution for CUSTOMERS at the time of incident are really PISSED POOR PERFORMANCE!

Consider we are not the first to complain about your establishment. Your lockers were not working even 4 weeks earlier as notified by another complainant in Wahanda itself. We meant to post a complaint on Wahanda but witheld it to see if your FACILITY, SERVICE and OVERALL PERFORMANCES would meet to minimum standard come Jan or Feb 2014.

Frankly I am not interested to go back and you can kindly keep your opinion to yourself as what COUNTS are the consumer's opinion and really not yours in this case.

We have nothing against you with exception of POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and HANDLING at the time of our visit which was hugely disappointing and unfortunate for us to start with and do ask Melissa, I did break down and cried when my partner was doing his treatment!

So no thanks for your message there in Tripadvisor and my posting remain as it is and as far as I am concerned, my review stands!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The abience was not very great so that was quite disappointing . The steam room was out of order. The package was worth it as the treatment was very good and well worth the amount paid. Can tend to get very busy as it is a very very tiny spa :(

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
The spa is situated in a hotel 10 mins bus ride (170) from Clapham Junction . On arrival was pleasantly greeted and updated on the arrangements for the day. As my treatment times were deferrred I decided to go to the relaxation room for short while. To my surpise the room was more of a lounge , well decorated and pleasant but not the type of set up I was expecting. One could not elevate their legs, the room had glass walls to had plenty of natural light not condusive for really chilling out. After my complimentary refreshment i decided to have lunch and was told that I would get 50% off. On entrance to the restaurant the offer was confirmed with signage and by the waitress. I was totally surprised that when I tried to place my order for lunch (burger and Chips) and pudding that my choice was not eligible as was deemed a snack! I decided not to get into a debate and took myself back to Clapham Junction and enjoyed Scampi and chips. I reluctantly returned to the hotel to salvage my day. Found that the locker did not lock (new ones on order) and whilst there was the offer of the spa receptionist sticking it in a cupboard I did not feel comfortable as the girls were busy and area not always manned. The jacuzzi was nice and hot but only had capacity for 3 people. The steam room and sauna took 5 -6 people. Neither had egg timers. There were no loungers in the jacuzzi area of shower to rinse of between sauna etc.

What really saved the day for me and why the overall mark is so high was my therapist (Billy Jean) and my treatments. She really looked after me . My feet were unrecognisible after the pedicure. Despite being the last customer she took her time and was very thorough and professional. It is really down to BJ that I would reconsider going back for more treatments (not the facilities). On another note the other spa staff were pleasant and the place was clean and they used very good products. With tweaking the owner can turn that place around to make it a true spa experience but as it i now not really on par with some of the spa experience offered by many.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
The musleaese massage was out of this world but sadly the venue was a huge let down, the towels and
robes were discoloured, my disapointement started as soon as I saw how the robes and towels were stored
untidily behind the spa reception, for a five star hotel spa the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, wholes around the jacuzzi was filthy, the showers were not properly cleaned, the tables in the relaxation area were dirty.

I would definetly book the therapist if she is working somewhere else as they are the only good thing about
the spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I found the day thoroughly relaxing and it was great value for money. I would consider going again and trying out further treatments that are on offer. Definitely worth a visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review