Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

280 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 280 reviews

5 stars 72
4 stars 109
3 stars 57
2 stars 29
1 star 13
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (27)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (62)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (37)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (13)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (110)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (31)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (23)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
It has been fantastic experience!
Massage was lovely. I do not remember a name of my therapist (lovely lady with very curly hair) - she did a great job!
overall experience very enjoyable however spa facilities are really small so luckily there was not many people at the time so my husband and I could use it and relax in our own company.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
In my opinion ,when you go to spa you need to feel happy,relaxed and pampered.that is what i feel when i go there.the staff is so kind and friendly,the treatments are fabulous and the decor is just in place.perfectly balanced.
i personally must admit that they have just started and are on a great move.i would like to appreciate their effort rather criticizing on minute things.

good work river well being ....KEEP IT UP!
i'll be back again...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
AWFUL EXPERIENCE - DO NOT GO!!!!

I went to the 'spa' with a friend of mine for a relaxing day of pampering but we were both really disappointed. There is no swimming pool and the jaccuzi only fits 3 people, plus the sauna and steam room are tiny (4 people max) and uncomfortable spaces. Around all of these areas are yellow warning stickers which give the space a feeling of sitting in a construction site. There is a so called 'relaxation room' which comprises 3 beds in a windowless room, which does not have any heating so was uncomfortably cold. The facilities are located around the gym so the jaccuzi was cold and it hardly helps the atmosphere when the machines are pumping behind you -plus there is no privacy when walking around in your gown (which had stains on). The only other space to sit was the reception waiting area which has 4 seats. We had an afternoon tea as part of our package which was meant to include a cupcake, however when it was brought out there was no cupcake and a disgusting soggy cake as a substitution. The staff made no comment about this, let alone an apology for the fact we were not getting what we had paid for. My massage was fine, although again the room lacked the atmosphere you'd expect, and my friend's massage was cut short and not professionally undertaken.

All in all it was a very disappointing few hours - we did not stay long in the so called 'spa' as there was no where comfortable to lounge and read! I would advise any future customers to book into the treatment but not expect anything else.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Had a great morning at the Spa - the treatment was amazing and well worth the £20 alone (I would have paid more and am considering going back, it was a great massage!). The cupcakes were the best I've had in a long time and the jacuzzi and sauna/steam room were nice too. One hint to those going there - read the notice before getting into the jacuzzi!!! Spillage... flood more like... Overall great experience and would recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I went to the Wellbeing spa on Sunday with a friend, I wanted to treat her and so I had bought two vouchers. I like the look and feel of the lobby when I walked in and the steam room and sauna but the things I actually went there for, the massage and the afternoon tea were very disappointing. I have had loads of massages in the past and what I had yesterday was not a relaxing massage, not sure what it was. Might be best described as a feathery stroker session. I started to have a headache as soon as I lied down. It wasn't a nice experience. My friend hadn't enjoyed her massage either.

The afternoon tea consisted of a pot of tea with a couple of stale cupcakes...not really my cup of tea, after we complaint about the hard as rock cupcakes they came back two more which this time had been in the microwave. I did ask when they had been baked and I was told it was today but that they had been sitting in the fridge all day. But I don't buy that as I bake all the time time and know the difference between a fresh one and one that is a week old, unless of course it has been sitting in the fridge with nothing covering it..but that is just to silly to contemplate.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Absolutely awful, i will never go back here again.

This was supposed to be a treat for my friend who is 6 months pregnant. She had booked the mother-to-be Massage and my friend and I were having the standard massage. The woman on reception who booked in our treatments booked them for the wrong time as apparently she has "communication problems". I then asked if she has communication problems why she is employed to book appointments on the telephone from customers. The swimming pool was absolutely tiny and also closed for the day. The jacuzzi flooded everytime anyone got in and then a cleaner would have to come over with towels to mop it up in front of us which was very awkward and embarassing.

There weren't enough places to sit down and relax. The relaxation room was absolutely freezing, and when we complained, they said they couldn't turn the heating up. I then asked for blankets which they said they'd bring. 15 minutes later, they still hadn't bought them so I went out to reception and waited until they got them and then carried them in myself. The cupcake tea wasn't anything as described - i.e. not even a cupcake just a tiny piece of brownie. The tea menu described a Vanilla Chai with a description saying it was made from hot milk. It came out as watery tea with no milk so again we had to complain.

The massages were supposed to be half an hour but mine lasted just 20 minutes and my colleagues lasted only 15 minutes as the therapists kept disappearing to answer other queries on reception.

The changing rooms were dirty and there wasn't even any toilet paper in the women's toilets, plus only one shower was working which left only one other shower - for all three of us.

Utterly shocked that this spa is considered 5 stars - more like 1.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Relaxation room got too crowded... 1 is not enough I guess, especially on week ends...disappointed there was no swimming pool...hotel was a little difficult to reach without the help of a cab driver...shower in the women's changing room wasn't working, but I was kindly offered to use a diffrent one in the treatment area.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
well, went again as before.
everything was fine.pedicure is much more enjoyable as they massage and exfoliate the feet.rose petals just look amazing and you feel like a princess.
massages are my weakness and this was brilliant.
overall experience was great.i've started to love this place and feel so relaxed.
hope everyone enjoys.
good luck river wellbeing spa....keep it up.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
This was a really lovely experience. If I had one fault it would be that the temperature in the relaxation room needs to be a bit warmer. It got quite chilly when coming from the warm pool, steam room etc.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
This venue is beautiful with wonderful sculpture and artwork all around the hotel, the spa was fantastic as well, the staff are super friendly and the massage I had was out of this world, i was suffering from bad backache and the therapist seemed to have a healing ability because after the massage i felt a million dollars would highly recommend this venue , I rate it 5 out of 5

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Wonderful experience, this place is a boutique Spa with Jacuzzi, a pool (very very small by the way), sauna, steam room and gym. I enjoyed a relaxing back massage (when I finished work) and hade a cupcake along with a cup of tea. I have to admit that it was really difficult to book the treatment. Whenever I called, there was the answering machine on. I tried several times to speak to someone and finally I got an appointment (but I had to leave 5 messages in the answering machine and send 2 emails first!). They should really improve the booking process...(which is disappointing).

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Both the hotel and spa were very nice, very plush.
We used the gym, steam room and jacuzzi and then had our massage which we both enjoyed very much,
then we relaxed in the relaxation room and had our cupcake and tea. The tea was fab, I had the lemony one and my friend had the rose one, the cupcake was nice but the cake part was a bit hard.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I came here with a friend for a day of relaxation. We had a lovely time in the jacuzzi and steam rooms, although felt the spa could benefit from a normal swimming pool as well (rather than just the exercise pool for which they charged an extra £10). Small things weren't perfect such as the wet towels on the floor by the jacuzzi to soak up the excess water in the area - I wouldn't expect this from a 5 star hotel! However, the massage treatment was truly excellent and the therapy rooms were really lovely with great decoration. We then had a cupcake and tea in the beautiful restaurant overlooking the Thames. The experience was great value for money and we had a fantastic time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Had a lovely time but the facilities were smaller than anticipated. The therapists were good and very friendly. Would go again - was nice relaxing treat with a friend. Good locker faciltiies etc.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
Although small, this place is great. Staff are friendly and very accommodating, there's a lovely ambience and the therapist was fantastic, the massage was absolutely excellent. Highly recommended!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
What a find. I would never have gone all the way to Battersea if it wasn't for the Wahanda Mobdeal. The spa is on the 3rd floor of a Miami-style complex comprising hotel/restaurant and residential flats (of course now I want to live in one of those flats with views over the Thames!).
The spa has a lovely Oriental theme throughout and all the staff were extremely kind.
I used the jacuzzi and sauna, then had a Swedish massage followed by tea and cupcake. My therapist was Felicia, a confident and professional young lady who joined the team recently. I asked her to work more on my shoulders and she delivered, throwing in some needed shoulder rotations for good measure. I was very happy with the treatment.
The tea is served in the relaxation room which looks better from the outside than the inside; the room itself is small and air conditioned so you need a blanket to keep warm (there were 2 blankets for a total of 3 beds, I was puzzled as it's like musical chairs for getting the blankets). My enjoyment and relaxation was spoiled by two bargain-hunters talking rather loudly in the room while I was trying to read, they were boasting about all the deals they got through Wahanda and MyCityDeal (sorry I am not interested in hearing about this). I left the relaxation room thinking I had enough of being there, which was a shame as I really enjoyed my nice soak in the jacuzzi to soften my aching muscles and my massage thereafter.
All in all I would recommend this spa to my friends, clients and contacts and I reckon I'll be back for more treatments if I am in the area.
Many thanks to all members of staff for a lovely afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
simply splendid!!!!
i am going to use this one word to explain all.
excellent treatment at very affordable price.the best thing is that you can enjoy the facilities alongwith the treatment.very friendly & helpful reception.i made a fone call before arriving and got all the relevent detail that one might ask.me n my friend had teh best experience we had as we can have fun,treatment and lunch everything essential for a memorable spa day!!!
i went today as mystery guest but not going to keep mystery anymore as i want to visit them again.i highly recommend this spa to friends and family.

enjoy!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 years ago
I was there too today, what a lovely place and the staff are super nice.

Report as inappropriate

Posted 4 years ago
Needed a much needed break after closing a tough deal but couldn’t take an all-out vacation. Booked myself at the Rafayel for the weekend since I live a couple of miles away and take advantage of their gym and spa that sounded nice. But the whole experience was beyond my expectations. After a run and weight training at a very well-equipped gym, I took an hour long session of yoga. Extremely relaxing and highly recommended for stressed out professionals out there. Hit the Jacuzzi after that. Wonderful. Booked myself for the entire next day for different treatments, massage, mani/pedi and facials. Lovely staff, great products used, excellent service. It was absolutely heavenly. The therapists are very professional and took great care of the sensitive spots. The best part was the whole feel of being out in some exotic resort, at fantastic prices! The hotel itself is lovely, huge rooms, great showers, the comfiest of beds! You can take advantage of the sun (like I did) and lounge in their Japanese terrace garden and soak in the clean crispness of the hotel and the outside and savour the delicious decadent and colourful cupcakes I carted off from the reception. The food at their restaurant was amazing; the lovely chef whisked up a customized dietary breakkie on my request (Thanks again J!). Ended up having both lunch and dinner there. You have to try their all-health Mediterranean-type of rocket/chicken liver salad. Absolutely yum! All in all, a great exotic holiday away from London in London and great value for money! Am already booked for 2 weekends a month until Jan. Highly highly recommended to all.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 years ago
I am going there tomorrow, looking forward to it! Great to hear about your positive experience there.

Report as inappropriate

Posted 4 years ago
I have just become a member of the GYM, with a very special 50% discount for SPA this place has become a great past time for me. I use the synergy of SPA and GYM to de-stress ; good value for money and great set of treatments all adds together to rate this highly. My favourite is one hour body massage,


I think if SPA remains cognisant of it is pricing strategy it will find great new number of members, this area badly needed one, we have new additions but the cost is exorbitant, on value/ quality scale the River Well Being SPA will remain my preferred location unless they become greedy and deter loyal customers by unnecessarily fleecing us. The product is very good and offers great value, my only fear is over time these hi quality boutique SPA's lose touch with reality and become prohibitively expensive. So far very good and highly recommended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
It is definitely a resort kind arrangement a mile from Kings Road. Good views all around, great food plus fab gym. WE had a great weekend, funnily there was a huge hen party of dozens of girls and they all seemed to have loved the place, lot of champagne and cup cakes were being consumed followed by good workouts. Great treatments in the SPA, will definitely suggest.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review