Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

304 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Chain rating

Based on 304 reviews

5 stars 78
4 stars 118
3 stars 62
2 stars 31
1 star 15
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (36)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (71)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (9)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (39)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (21)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (114)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (32)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (25)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Although we went on a busy day, and didn't have access to the jacuzzi/ sauna for a short while, this was more than compensated by the excellent value of the spa package and the delicious cupcake that came with it. Recommended!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The venue was clean and well organised. I visited in a group of three but one of our bookings had been missed, but after some negotiation we were all fitted in. The staff were very professional and well trained, and the massage was very good (though not the best I've ever had). The facilities are excellent, particularly the sauna/steam room areas.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I went with my partner and all i can say is amazing. I loved every minute from start to finish. Facilities are top notch and staff are friendly and professional. We took advantage of the 50% off in the restaurant Banyan on the Thames the food was amazing. I’m looking forward to going back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I went with my partner and all i can say is amazing. I loved every minute from start to finish. Facilities are top notch and staff are friendly and professional. We took advantage of the 50% off in the restaurant Banyan on the Thames the food was amazing. I’m looking forward to going back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I was 8 months pregnant when I went for my cupcake tea spa day (wow - just needed to get out the house). The staff were lovely and so helpful. The wet spa area is very small and I felt I was more in a gym than a spa. However the changing area, treatment rooms, reception, relaxation room were very spa like and you felt you could relax and get into the ambience.
My facial was fine, the therapist was lovely. Overall my experience was great, just what I needed....the offer for £20 - treatment, spa entry and cupcake....you really cannot go wrong!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Went with a friend to the spa as a birthday treat. Its quite small and the if it got too busy it would be awful - thankfully there weren't too many other people there when we arrived. the changing rooms are tiny though and someone had stolen/lost most of the locker keys so we had to wait until one was free before we could start our experience (I asked the manager if there was anything he could do but unfortunately not!). Jacuzzi, Sauna and steam room were all good and my facial was ok as well. Overall it was good value but i probably wouldn't go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I went with two other girls and we all really enjoyed the afternoon. The only reason i didn't give top scores was that the facilities were very small, and you really couldn't have any more than 3 people in the spa area at any one time. The other slight downside was that they were an hour late seeing me for my treatment and they didn't keep me informed. Once I was seen though, the facial was very good - my skin felt great afterwards. Overall it was still a really lovely experience, finished off with a tasty cupcake in the restaurant area afterwards, which was a nice touch! I'll go back I'm sure!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
It is a brand new hotel but there is no tube nearby. The staff is ok just hasn't got enough place for us to sit in the room relaxing for afternoon tea.Also,some facility only allow three people in there. We have to wait until people finished so it is a bit annoying.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I bought the spa day with treatment and cupcake afternoon tea deal for a friend for her birthday. She seemed to have enjoyed the day, especially the massage session. We went on a Sun and definitely made full use of the facilities. Hung out in the jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and the relaxation room which were all very good. It did get a bit crowded later on the day though when the spa got busier.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I find the overall experience pretty good. There was some confusion with reception staff not being there, but the guy who stood in was very accommodating and helpful. The therapist who did my free back massage was amazing. Even though it was just 15 mins taster, it was definitely worth it. The spa facilities were adequate, although the small size was beginning to be a problem later on in the day when more than 8 people were at the spa. The tea and cupcake were definitely a welcome bonus, as was the free shuttle service back to Clapham Junction station offered by the hotel reception.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I can't fault anything, my friend and I got there a couple of minutes late for our scheduled appointment and the staffs there were so nice and friendly and they still gave us our full 30 minutes massage. After massage, we used their facilities, the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi which is small but good. We later went to their nice relaxation room to have our tea and cupcake which were both lovely.

I will definately be going back soon with more friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
We went on Sunday morning. There was another 5 people, but did not raise any discomfort and we could normally attend all facilities without queueing.
Showers, sauna and jacuzzi worked very well. If you read notices on the walls, then nothing bad happens. Stuff was very friendly.
Good value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
It is a new hotel so not many people there which is good.
The only problem is that we have to wear dressing gown go through reception to the other side for sauna
and place is not big enough for more than 3 people to use shower room or some facilities.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
We arrived to find a fairly friendly staff member who showed us around. It was all quite small and relaxation room small not big enough for more that 3 people. Our massages were cut short by 12 minutes. Everything seemed rushed. First cup of tea was like dishwater but the second was better. The jacuzzi floods everywhere when others get in it. I wouldnt recommend this deal. I spoke to others who said that they had done other mob deals and they had experienced much better.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 years ago
worst experience ever....i would not reccommend this to anyone. apart from the so called friendly service, evrything is rushed! they even promised cupcakes but we were told they were finished:( i have been to far better spa's. should never have wasted my hard earned cash!

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The facilities are clean but very small so not great for a group of 5. They have a rule that you're only allowed 3 people in the jacuzzi at any one time. Also the steam room was broken when we were there. We enjoyed lounging in the relaxation room but it also meant there wasn't space for some other ladies who were there also. The place was running late with the treatments but my therapist and massage was really nice. The cupcake afternoon tea was a highlight! Overall we had a nice time but I'm not itching to go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The hotel is lovely and I was pleasantly surprised that my deal included full use of all the facilities. The staff were friendly, the massage treatment was very relaxing. I was very impressed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
My girlfriend took me to this and well... I enjoyed spending time with her, but there are too many buts!
Place was too small. Steam room too hot. Sauna not hot enough. Whirlpool tiny (only for 2 people).
Therapist awfully uninterested, but tea and cupcakes were yummi.
Would I go back? No way.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The location was alright. I was told by the receptionist at booking time that there were not parking spaces in the area but that they did a valet parking for the day for £15. I took my chances and it paid off as around the corner there were many free parking spaces!
On arrival, the receptionist (who is also one of the therapist, blonde lady), was having a very loud private conversation over the telephone regarding her medical appointment, which it was very unprofessional. Fortunately, I had another therapist (brunnette lady) for my treatment, but unfortunately for my partner, he had that same unprofessional therapist and his treatment was rather poor and sloppy. However, my therapist, on her first day at the salon, did a magnificent job which I would be happy to recommend.
Overall, treatment was good for me, the cupcakes and tea were delicious, the spa facilities too small (for only 2 people at the time really, so we had to wait for other couples to vacate the facilities before using). Keep this in mind if you are taking the day off for this experience as 2 hours is more than plenty!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The cupcake day offer was great value, and we had a lovely day. The staff were friendly and relaxed and we felt very welcome. They didn't always get orders right (eg we got the wrong tea and they had some trouble on who was having which treatment) but were always very nice and responsive.

The atmosphere was progressively more relaxed throughout our day as the spa became more empty. Actually when there was another group in any of the areas, it could feel too crowded - there were only limited spaces in each area.

The facilities were lovely - everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The jacuzzi overflowed a bit so it could be a bit wet but that really wasn't a problem. We could have done with more drinking water available throughout the area, but the staff at reception did bring more on request. And the cupcakes were lovely!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I am going to be looking forward to visiting this place again, it was lovely, and as a cup cake lover i wasnt disappointed with the after noon tea either! i recommend this highly, you will not be disappointed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review