Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

18 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Penny’s Hair at Kensington Hair and Spa
Penny’s Hair at Kensington Hair and Spa
Kensington Hair and Spa,
50 Harrington Road, South Kensington, London, SW7 3ND
United Kingdom

Hair Salon

Penny’s Hair at Kensington Hair and Spa
Kensington Hair and Spa,
50 Harrington Road, South Kensington, London, SW7 3ND
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Closed -
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Sun - Closed -
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Penny’s Hair at Kensington Hair and Spa

Penny's Hair is conveniently located inside Kensington Hair and Spa, a short walk from South Kensington tube station.

Penny offers hair cuts, colours and re-styles for ladies and gentlemen, in a newly refurbished modern salon in popular and fashionable Kensington. The Salon is very close to the Natural History Museum and Imperial College London, making it an ideal central location to enjoy a pampering hair cut, or new do, away from the bustle of the busy area. The Salon is perfectly located to combine a day's shopping or culture with a bit of 'you' time to get your locks looking fabulous!

See more

Services

Services at this venue are not bookable online. Why not check out the other bookable venues near South Kensington?
A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 18 reviews

5 stars 7
4 stars 5
3 stars 3
2 stars 3
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (2)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (17)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited June 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Luckily the owner of Karda Hair took on this offer as it seemed that Penny's Hair was none existent, so I was able to redeem the Wahanda voucher with them.

It was a very good deal but as there was only one staff member that morning my haircut and hairconditioning treatment took a little over two hours which I hadn't accounted for.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Now Karda. Hair appointment for my wife, and this review is her experience. A small salon operated by a new business seemingly just finding its feet. Some language problems with the staff, but they were pleasant and helpful and the stylist was competent, so no complaints about the haircut experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2011
Posted 4 years ago
After a lot of kerfuffle with Penny not being in business anymore and me not being able to reach her to find out what's going on, Karda hair and beauty was kind enough to take over the deal - and boy did they deliver. Very nice welcome, good talk-through what was going to happen and who was going to do what, listened to what I wanted and advised me very well. And a great result! Definitely would come back here again!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The location is quite convenient and close to South Kensington tube station.
There was an adjustment for this offer as Penny left the place and the other salon has taken over all Wahanda customers which was very nice of them.
The service was good and I really enjoyed the treatment. Staff made me feel very welcome.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I thought the salon was attractive and I did enjoy the massage chair treatment whilst having my hair washed at the sink !
I was not asked if I would like tea but when I did ask i enjoyed a nice green tea
The cut was good but quick and I may have preferred a little more discussion as would have liked some layering .
Definately would go back and conveniently placed .

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The salon was very small, but handy as it's on the way to/back from work. I was fairly happy with the hair cut, although I wasn't sure at the beginning if the hairdresser completely understood me as she wasn't paying a lot of attention and was a non-native English speaker, but the result was pretty much what I had expected so all well at the end.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
it was really easy to contact the salon and the receptionist was really friendly and accomodating.
the salon is situated near south kensington so it is ideal for a bit of shopping after your hair treatment and hair cut, when you feel absolutely gorgeous and pampered!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Great Service and a really good cut. Salon will be better once redecoration has finished and the lights dont keep turning off. Penny is great, very friendly and after being used to high profile hairdressers i would still go back to her. She cuts well and has good chat at the same time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I had a cut blowdry and treatment with penny. I was very pleased with the overall experience . Penny was very nice and i felt very comfortable- I was also very pleased with the way she did my hair- she listened to me and did exactly what I asked for!! I would definately recommend her!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Very hot day, wasn't offered a drink.
Haircut far too short... it will grow back but wasn't impressed as clearly the hairdresser didn't listen to what I wanted.
Will not go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
The massage chair while washing the hair was great and the treatment product was good. I was hoping for a nice head massage while washing the hair but there was so not much of a massage...

I just wanted a trim to level out my outgrown layers and the staff did not seem very excited about it. Because my appointment was just before lunch I felt like I am disturbing rather than welcome.

Overall the salon was very nice and the cut was alright but I would not want to pay the full price!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I liked the place and Penny herself. Did some extras the same day with another therapist and was pleased with the result of everything that was done to me. Overall was worth coming there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Beautiful salon and Penny was a lovely chatty girl who listened to what you wanted. An english girl too which is a nice change in London hairdressers as a language barrier and a haircut I believe is not a good combination.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I was very happy with my wash, conditioning treatment, cut and blow dry by Penny. I highly recommend her. She knows her stuff and had lots of suggestions and advice to sort out my hair concerns. I have rebooked with her and I am looking forward to my next visit. The salon itself was pretty quiet when I was there. That was fine, but a little more going on would have been fun.
Back to Penny - she gave me a great cut and I really do rate her.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 4 years ago
I was pretty dissapointed by my visit to this venue, especially as the other reviews appear so positive. The salon is uninspiring, not all that clean and devoid of atmosphere. I wasn't offered my complimentary drink, and the only magazines they had were Grazia and Hello... i.e. NOTHING about hair!
But worst of all was my haircut. It took all of 20 minutes for the hairdresser to chop off a few inches and hack a few layers out. At no point did she sit down to check the length or anything so technical. Finally she blasted my hair with the blow dryer and then got out the straighteners. Remember, hairdressers- if you need to use GHDs to make my hair look good then how do you think it will look after I wash it the first time?
Ultimately, the hair looks okay, but the experience was seriously amateurish. I've had a few good value haircuts courtesy of Wahanda, and this was by far the worst quality of the lot. Such a shame as my previous one left me feeling great. Shame, as now I'm not sure if I want to risk it again!
Sorry to be negative, but I really wasn't that impressed. I suppose if you want a reasonaby affordable trim this place is acceptable, but if you want a fashionable on trend haircut go elsewhere.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 years ago
Hi CarrieBehar, we are sorry to hear that you didn't feel this experience was as positive as the other ones, and are glad you were pleased with the cut in the end. We hope this will not stop you from continuing to try things out! We would also like to hear from your other experiences, will you be reviewing those venues as well?

Report as inappropriate

Posted 4 years ago
I have had Penny to do my hair on several occasions and have been more than please with the results everytime. Penny takes the time and effort to discuss and listen to what you have to say and does her best to achieve the result wanted. Her cutting and her hair colouring are excellent. I would reccommend her without hesitation and will continue to use her for the foreseeable future.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
I love my haircut, not only pleased with it cut and colour on the day but I can style my hair so easily on my own. Salon is friendly and relaxing and will definitely be keeping Penny as my hairdresser.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
In addition to delivering a consistently great cut she always provides a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. I strongly recommend you book an appointment now, you will not be disappointed!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Venues nearby

See more venues in South Kensington