Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

844 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Book now
Please select the service you’d like to book.
Michael Barnes Hairdressing London
Michael Barnes Hairdressing London
224 Shaftesbury Avenue,
London, WC2H 8EB
United Kingdom

Hair Salon

Michael Barnes Hairdressing London
224 Shaftesbury Avenue,
London, WC2H 8EB
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Thur - Fri 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Sun - Closed -
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Michael Barnes Hairdressing London   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

Michael Barnes hairdressing salon is situated in the heart of London's Theatreland and has been established for over 25 years.

Michael Barnes has worked with top models, pop stars and actresses (including Keira Knightley and Lily Cole) and welcomes clients with a complimentary glass of wine before they are treated by his expert team.

The salon's approach is young, with a relaxed and friendly vibe designed to make you feel at ease and at home.

See more
Products used at this venue:

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

4.4

Chain rating

Based on 844 reviews

5 stars 413
4 stars 306
3 stars 84
2 stars 23
1 star 18
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Balayage (2)
  • Blow Dry (157)
  • Brazilian Blow Dry Keratin Treatment (38)
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (147)
  • Hair Conditioning and Scalp Treatments (86)
  • Hair Consulting (19)
  • Hair Extensions (1)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (664)
  • Ombre (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 days ago
The chap I had for my cut and blow was really lovely and did exactly what I wanted, he was very careful and didn't just chop away like most hairdressers do! I'm not convinced the moroccan oil treatment was worth the extra money, but in general a really good experience - would definately go there again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 5 days ago
Great value for money once again. Blow dry last a good few day will definitely be coming back for another blow dry.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 6 days ago
I had a Ladies' Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 week ago
I had a Ladies' Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 week ago
I booked in for a wash, cut and blow dry. I had Craig who listened carefully to what I wanted, gave me lots of helpful advice on style and conditioning. Came away very pleased with the result and will definitely book my next haircut here.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 1 week ago
Not the most glamorous of salons but I am so happy with my blow dry: lovely Tania as usual, thank you very much!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 week ago
I had a Ladies' Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had a Half Head Highlights, Cut and Blow Dry with complimentary Wine - First Visit Only and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
Kevin who cut my hair did a fantastic job and I loved my new hairdo! However the lady who was the receptionist who gave me a drinks menu never returned to check on me what I would like to have a drink, which was quite disappointing considering I was the only customer there at the time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
So, not one to write about my experience however I felt the need to on this occasion. Kelvins as an amazing hairdresser however the salon was just old and tired. After googling the salon (upon seeing this offer) - I heard it was owned by a 'celebrity' hairdresser (or maybe hairdresser to the stars would be a better term) so I did my research and was Impressed with his work. When I arrived I was disappointed in what i saw.... No management at reception, no one sat by the 6-8 empty seats (my app was around lunchtime). Eventually I was greeted by someone and taken to my seat with a drinks menu (even though my offer included wine). The hairdresser came and all was better as he was so knowledgable and just made me feel at ease after such a poor first Impresssion! I then discovered that the salon was 'sold' by the celebrity hairdresser and that's probably why it was so run down!! The new management didn't seem to care about their customers eg no one came back to take my drink order, no one at reception the whole time I was there.... Just 2-3 voices giggling in the staff room at the back of the salon, which I personally find unprofessional! I'm so pleased the hairdresser was amazing as he made my day but the salon isn't really worth going to in my opinion if the management / people there don't make you feel welcome. I believe Kelvin is leaving so it might leave the place empty (he seemed to be the only one with clients). Needs improvements but these are just my options based on my experience that I wanted to share.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
I have used Michael Barnes regularly for my haircuts, always booking through wahanda and this was the first time that I used them for highlights. I have marked them so low because I was SO disappointed at the end of my treatment. When my treatment finished and I was about to leave, they suddenly asked me for an extra 16.50 for 'toner.' I think this is such a cheap trick for any hairdressers to pull; firstly I was told after my treatment which is outrageous because their is clearly nothing I can do about it then, and secondly if you are going to charge for toner which majority of highlighting treatments will require then you should really put this in the description on your wahanda package instead of notifying people AFTERWARDS. I will no longer be recommending this salon as I always have done.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 week ago
Hi Rose
Thank you for your feedback.
We regret that you have not enjoyed your last experience in our salon.
It is our policy to let clients know before they come in for a skin test, that a toner is charged separately; you could see our price list on our official website http://www.michaelbarneshair.com the toner is charged at £16.50
We are really sorry that you were not told about that; we have tried to retribute it by giving you an offer for your next visit and we hope to see you soon.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great haircut by Tania as usual - thank you very much! And free tea/wine/beer is always a bonus. Plus perfect location.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had a lovely welcome into the salon by a young lady who took my coat and offered me a drink from the drinks menu. I was introduced to my hairdresser who was very friendly and really took her time on my hair and listened to to what I wanted. I am very happy with the overall result.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
Really happy with the haircut I got from Calvin, and the advice he gave me about getting the most out of the type of hair I have. He seemed to really know his stuff. Would definitely go back

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
I had a Ladies' Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
Nice place. Got what I asked for which was a fairly straightforward cut. Good service. Good location. Blow-dry could have been better but it wouldn't stop me from going back for the same.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
I had a Ladies' Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
Had a half head of highlights, cut and blow dry. Tania did an amazing job, I will definitely be back!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
I rated this four stars. I had full head highlights and a haircut treatment. Very pleasant staff love the haircut which was done by a different person than highlights. Really liked their tea menu.
However the colour of my Higlights could have worked out slightly better if the hairdresser would have brought me a colour chart/ spend slightly more time on consultation.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
Would not recommend. Staff were unfriendly and did not seem to take what I wanted into account. Not happy with the results.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Show earlier reviews