Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

163 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 163 reviews

5 stars 74
4 stars 46
3 stars 32
2 stars 5
1 star 6
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (9)
  • Cellulite Treatments (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (29)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (1)
  • Facials (37)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (6)
  • Swimming (28)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (2)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (39)
  • Indian Head Massage (5)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (19)
  • Therapeutic Massage (15)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (12)
  • Pedicure (12)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Spa was lovely, staff were great, back massage was fantasti, pool very clean. Overall excellent value I would definitely come again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Lovely greeting from the staff. Excellent spa facilities especially the relaxation room. Wouldn't bother with afternoon tea as it was disgusting obviously not freshly made. Would recommend as long as your don't eat there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Tranquillity Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Everything was fab, the hotel was lovely, spa amazing and treatments were brilliant shame that one member of staff didn't tell us about the relaxation room and was a bit confused about our timings which caused us to lose 10 mins off 2x30 minute treatments and her to roll her eyes and huff at us even though she got our timings wrong! Alex who did my sole delight treatment was wonderful though!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 4 months ago
The Spa facilities and treatment were spot on, couldn't have asked for any more! Shame the same cant be said for the rest ..... the room was nice but the bed was uncomfortable and ready for a new mattress i would say but was ok for one night.

The restaurant was a complete let down. After sitting down for our evening meal, we waited 10 minutes for our order to be taken. We requested well done steak that came extremely pink. We had to wait a over 45 minutes for our drinks after asking twice where they were, once we received them the poor girl apologised and said she was new and hadn't been given appropriate training and the drink order hadn't gone through the first time, at this point we had pretty much finished our meal but accepted the apology.

Hoping for a better experience at breakfast, we went down the next morning to find the restaurant in complete disorganisation, dirty tables which staff we struggling to clear. After waiting for our table to be cleaned we sat down and waited for over 15 minutes for our order to be taken and that was only taken because we asked! Other visitors around us were also getting frustrated with level of service.

I have never ever been to a restaurant where the level of service was that bad, if it wasn't for the fact we had already paid for it in our package we would have walked away and gone elsewhere. Such a shame as the spa facilities and treatments were spot on.

Won't be visiting again any time soon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
We went for the sugar and space deal. The treatments were excellent. The only thing I would mark down for, is that there was no jacuzzi in the spa, and there was kids swimming lessons going on in the pool mid afternoon on a Monday - so not very relaxing unfortunately with all the noise.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Be Mine Valentine Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Overall the spa is lovely. The staff were very friendly. The only things that disappointed a little were the lack of jacuzzi in the pool area and the timing of the cream tea. We ordered our cream tea when we arrived at 11am to be served at 12:30 so that we had plenty of time to enjoy it before our first treatments at 1pm. It arrived at 12:50 leaving us very little time to eat it so we asked if it could be taken back and re served afterwards at 1:30. This was fine but meant we had sat in the lounge for 30 mins waiting instead of relaxing in the pool and thermal rooms. Once we had the cream tea it was very nice. Coffee in the lounge would have been a nice addition for non tea drinkers. There is not a jacuzzi which is a shame but the thermal rooms and the pool are very nice.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Overall, a really good experience and value for money. Fantastic treatments, friendly therapists and excellent service, will definitely be visiting again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Excellent value for money, the therapists were really nice and knew what they were doing, Would definitely return for another spa day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review