Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

138 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 138 reviews

5 stars 64
4 stars 38
3 stars 29
2 stars 4
1 star 3
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (6)
  • Body Treatments (9)
  • Cellulite Treatments (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (17)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (1)
  • Facials (26)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (6)
  • Swimming (15)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (24)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (18)
  • Therapeutic Massage (15)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (5)
  • Pedicure (7)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Sugar and Spice Winter Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 4 months ago
Hi

My wife and I had an amazing stay, the spa was the best spa we have ever visited. The staff at dinner and around the hotel were brilliant, very helpful. We will definitely be staying again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 4 months ago
Gorgeous venue and really friendly staff. A wonderful time had by us both as a gift. We would, both, definitely recommend Portal to anyone looking for a countryside retreat.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Sugar and Spice Winter Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 4 months ago
Staff personally very pleasant, especially one very helpful member of spa team, but overall poorly organised and didn't appear to be managed well at all. Toilets etc not especially clean. Swimming pool inaccessible all morning as very loud, busy exercise glass going on in there - not really what you expect having paid for all day use of the facilities. Breakfast ordered as an extra took an hour and 15 minutes to arrive with a lot of chasing round, up and down stairs, asking various members of staff. Treatments were lovely and therapists seemed very good. We did raise our concerns with the manager on site and he seemed to think it was funny... Hmmm, doesn't bode well! I daresay we will try somewhere else next time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 4 months ago
As we had no confirmation documentation with us we spent a very uncomfortable 20 minutes attempting to find confirmation via e-mail on our mobile phones (this was impossible as the mobile reception was poor), before the manager suggested booking companies, once this was established the manager eventually said he would look on their booking list and would catch up with us during the day if there were any problems. We were left to find our own way around the spa which I found rude. We had our treatments which we all very much enjoyed to be followed by afternoon tea. I must say we were very disappointed by this one scone each and we had to serve ourselves with tea from an earn! On leaving the spa my daughter was asked how she was going to pay. This was supposed to be a special day for my daughters birthday. We could have had as much fun at our local swimming pool! We left early and enjoyed the rest of the day visiting the local shops and café. I would not recommend this spa for any special day however I would return for a spa treatment.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 4 months ago
We booked a Mad Hatter spa day and overnight. It seemed fantastic for the money. Cream tea, treatment, 3 course meal and bed and breakfast. I was a bit disappointed with cream tea as it was just a scone and cream and jam. The treatment was lovely as was room, meal and breakfast. If we had been told what to expect it wod have been ok as we would have ordered more or stopped on way for lunch. All in all very good value and a nice venue

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent spa facilities at the hotel-shame no jacuzzi though! Restaurant very relaxing environment with wonderful views across the Cheshire plain. Staff very welcoming and service excellent.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Spa Day Incl. 60 Minute Treatment for Two and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
Me & my girlfriend had the revival spa day, it cost £70 per person and was excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful and put me at ease as it wasn't the manliest thing iv ever done. We were lucky enough to have the double room so had our massage side by side. The steam rooms could have been cleaner & so could the pool toilets but everything else was immaculate. Overall it was a great day. Perfect gift for anybody. Will be revisiting!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Sugar and Spice Winter Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I had a fabulous relaxing time. Will definitely go again. The massage was perfect, got rid of all the tight knots in my muscels

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Mad Hatter Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 5 months ago
The bodymassage was very good, the pool was not big and the cleanless of changing and shower rooms were not good even bad, finally it's ok for me

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 5 months ago
Great experience, lovely venue, great staff.
All our queries were dealt with quickly and efficiently.
Issues at breakfast but would return

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 6 months ago
The food really let down the day. Cold beef with no flavour with cold plain noodles. Would not recommend to anyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review