Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

44 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Houstoun House & Spa
Macdonald Houstoun House & Spa
Macdonald Houstoun House,
Uphall, Edinburgh West, West Lothian, EH52 6JS
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Houstoun House & Spa
Macdonald Houstoun House,
Uphall, Edinburgh West, West Lothian, EH52 6JS
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 44 reviews

5 stars 21
4 stars 12
3 stars 8
2 stars 2
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (15)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (6)
  • Facials (24)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (2)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (13)
  • Tennis (2)
  • Vibration Plate Training (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (17)
  • Foot Massage (2)
  • Hand Massage (1)
  • Reflexology (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (9)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Girls Night In Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 9 months ago
Booked a spa day here as a post-wedding treat for a friend and we weren't disappointed!! The staff were all lovely and the facilities were great. We had a massage and a facial and they were both absolutely amazing! The lunch was nice - quite an acquired taste though so maybe check that beforehand! I would recommend this to anyone who is need of a bit of pampering and de-stress! Will definitely be back!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

8 months ago
Thank you so much for your feedback Hayley. I am glad you enjoyed your spa day with us and hopefully we will see you again. If the lunch is not to your taste we can easily change for something to your liking, if you come again just simply request and its not a problem. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 9 months ago
Lovely relaxing time. Facial and foot massage were amazing. Hotel were very accommodating when one of our party had to change treatment dye to injury.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

8 months ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your treatments and I am glad we were able to help. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 10 months ago
We had a wonderful day, Jana who did my facial was very professional and explained all the products and I felt totally relaxed after my treatment, my skin felt re-newed.
Lunch was also very tasty and reasonably priced too.
The Hotel and Grounds are also of a very high standard
Will definately be going back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

8 months ago
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback Gayle, I have passed on the message to your therapist. Glad you had a lovely time and we all hope to see you again soon. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 10 months ago
The hotel is lovely and the lunch is really good if you get it included in the price. Just ensure you get the correct information before you book as we read it as in lunch was included in price however we ended up having to pay for it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

8 months ago
Thank you for your feedback Michelle. I apologise for the misunderstanding with the lunch, it was a special offer at the time which was rectified as soon as you pointed it out. We do have lots of packages for amazing value which do include lunch if you wish to come back. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited June 2014
Posted 11 months ago
Very nice day, good treatments and lunch. Only thing that could have been improved is a Jacuzzi would have been good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Gold Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Really enjoyed the spa day at Mcdonald Houston House Hotel. Had a full body massage which was perfect and afternoon tea was excellent. Tasty sandwiches, cakes, and warm cooked scones. Delicious!! Would definitely go back and would recommend to friends and family.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
when we arrived there was no one around, i had to ring the reception while i was stood in front of the desk to try and alert them i was waiting, it went through to the hotel and they tried to get into contact with the staff by the ringing the reception desk i was stood at where no one was! very bad start with no apology! the facilitys are ok nothing special and not very clean. BUT, i have to say the treatments were fantastic and the the staff there fantastic. i left feeling very pampered. and the lunch was very nice too. such a shame about the start.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The spa is very tired & run down. Rusty pool side & water cooler. There was a refurb going on while I was there (which I was not advised about before hand) so not the most enjoyable. The jugs provided for water had cracked spouts & although the staff that were there were lovely, there simply wasn't enough. Sadly I wouldn't recommend this to a friend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Very friendly, knowledgable staff. Enjoyed every minute of our time spent at the spa! Can't wait to go back again and see the renovations when they are complete.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Top to Toe Ocean Radiance Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
My mother and I had a wonderful spa day in February. There were only a few of us at the Hotel, so it was wonderfully peaceful. The staff were very friendly and the treatments were excellent.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Winter Day Dream Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent day overall - only comment is that having a slightly bright spot lamp in relaxation room would be better to read by. Perhaps more loungers by pool as well as they got filled up at some stages during day. Staff very friendly

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Winter Day Dream Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Top to Toe Ocean Radiance Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Stress Buster Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Had a wonderful day at MacDonald Houston House Hotel

I was the only one there on a spa day so was well looked after by all the staff. The lunch was excellent - love the boxes. I had the thai beef and noodles

I had the pool to myself several times during the day which was a bonus

I had a facial included in my deal but also purchased a back, neck and shoulder massage on the day. The therapist was excellent - firm but not painful.

My only negatives for the day and things that the spa could do better was

- relaxation room for using before and after spa was not very relaxing - it needs to be more like the one at Inchyra and Marine Hotel at North Berwick which was very relaxing and able to lie down properly
- Would benefit from a jacuzzi

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 10 months ago
Thoroughly enjoyed my spa day at Houstoun House. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lunch was fab! The full body massage and facial were amazing and I left the spa feeling totally relaxed! Would definitely recommend this spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

8 months ago
Thanks for your feedback Louise. I am glad you enjoyed your spa day and we hope to see you and your mum again soon. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate