Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

132 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire, SY13 4HA
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire, SY13 4HA
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 132 reviews

5 stars 44
4 stars 55
3 stars 25
2 stars 7
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (2)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (10)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (18)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (3)
  • Face
  • Facials (32)
  • Men's Facial (7)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (3)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (4)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (44)
  • Foot Massage (6)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (11)
  • Therapeutic Massage (23)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (7)
  • Manicure (11)
  • Pedicure (13)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 2 months ago
None of the extras in the package we booked where in the room. I went to reception to let them now and then some but not all where sent to the room after about 45 minutes. Unable to get hot bath water, it was warm at best not that we had the bath bomb we should have for the bath. Just didn't feel we got value for money as it was not a cheap break. Spa was really nice and the staff where very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was really nice and eventing meal was, nice enough apart from my wife ordered a medium to well done stake and it was burnt. Feel the break was probably worth about half what we paid, would not recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 2 months ago
The spa was superb. The room was adequate but small things could have been improved, such as bath robes in bathroom. The downside was the long wait to be served and between courses in the dining room. Certainly need to speed up there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 1 month ago
Our day at the Macdonald Hill Valley Spa was extremely relaxing, which was just what was needed. We were well looked after by the very friendly staff and received a brilliant value for money spa day. This was the second time I have visited the spa at Hill Valley and I hope to be back again very soon. Highly recommended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 3 months ago
Staff in hotel were amazing, very friendly, staff in spa were good except for the fact that they tried to sell you the products they used on you which I found a bit annoying, food was good, room was nice very large and comfortable beds. Pool and sauna/steam room good and nice golf course. Small problem on arrival sorted out immediately. We were on the 2 night spa package and with this you are allowed an allowance from the the menu of 25 per head or a different menu. Would definitely recommend good value and enjoyable stay.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 3 months ago
Wonderful helpful staff could not do enough for us even changed our sandwiches after they had been delivered. The Facial was 1st class and the therapist very knowlegdgeable enjoyed it immensley. Could not fault any of the service we received only niggle was that the pool was quite full and several 'swimmers' were just standing in the water talking for quite a while. Would definately go again and recommend to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 3 months ago
We really enjoyed our 1 night Spa Break. The hotel was smart, if a little chilly and end of season-ish. Our double room was very spacious and clean, but took a while to warm up. The dinner menu was rather ordinary, although the food we had was well cooked and hot, but again I found the conservatory rather chilly. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice on offer and good service. The spa facilities were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. The mud rasul was great fun and the back massage was very relaxing with calming, fragranced products. The swimming pool was clean and warm, as were the changing facilities. Overall, a relaxing and good value for money break.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Blissful Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 3 months ago
Everything about my spa day lovely. Staff were extremely helpful and despite me forgetting initially to mention I was vegetarian changed my refreshments at short notice.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 4 months ago
This spa is spotless nice helpful staff and enjoyable. Felt it lacks a hot tub and experience shower was out of order !

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 4 months ago
Booked as a girls night in. One hour treatments included were great, but spa facilities a little limited...a good sized pool, a steam room and a sauna, oh and a handful of Sun beds by the pool. Some very inconsiderate ladies left their towels on the beds for well over an hour without returning so getting two together was impossible. Hotel was great, room very comfortable and a good size. Our package included sparkling wine in the room and I had to ask for this a few times before it appeared ( apparently only a manager can open the wine cellar and there wasn't one on duty until after 3pm, was seems odd!)..but it was worth waiting for as we were surprised to get half a bottle of champagne each:) Dinner in restaurant was good, lunch and breakfast a little disorganised, as staff were working very hard but they just had too much to do. But on the whole enjoyable, so would return, but maybe not as a spa break.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 4 months ago
Wasn't expecting much as felt you got a lot for the price ( we booked afternoon tea package) however we were most surprised. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. My massage was just great. Afternoon tea was lovely to. Just wished we could of stayed longer to take advantage of the half price offer on other treatments. We would definitely go back x

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Two Night Heavenly Bliss Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 5 months ago
The staff were very pleasant and professional. Afternoon tea was lovely in the special spa lounge overlooking the green of the golf course. We enjoyed a peaceful swim, sauna and sit in the steam room. Lying by the pool with magazines felt like we were on holiday - away from it all. My facial was wonderful with an added bonus of hand and arm massage. We chilled out in the relaxation room afterwards where some particularly soothing music was being played. We felt completely de-stressed , thank you. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 5 months ago
Very impressed with the treatments, the deep tissue massage was excellent and the mud rasul treatment was great, something a bit different. Lunch was nice and throughout the day the staff were very organised. Only downside was the steam room didn't seem to be working properly and the sauna was quite small, and the relaxation room was very busy and couldn't find a place to sit at one point - think this was due to a lot of people having treatments at the same time. Would definitely go back though, enjoyed the experience!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 5 months ago
The lady in the spa refreshment room seriously needed some help as it was very busy and she was on her own! Our gluten free afternoon tea was over looked which was a shame so had to sort that out.
Would like it if there where more places to sit as a group of friends on a spa day. There is limited pool seating and this is a problem if you all want to swim or just sit by the pool I between treatments.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 5 months ago
It was nice but a little boring and not ideal for a girls weekend away. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and facilities were clean and tidy but a little dated

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review