Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

58 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Chain rating

Based on 58 reviews

5 stars 30
4 stars 17
3 stars 7
2 stars 3
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (4)
  • Body Treatments (6)
  • Cellulite Treatments (1)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (13)
  • Face
  • Eye Treatments (1)
  • Facials (15)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (7)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (13)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (3)
  • Therapeutic Massage (7)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (6)
  • Pedicure (3)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Fabulously relaxing day. Staff and therapists are fabulous and attentive. Will be booking again with the girls . I had a back massage which was great and we loved using the saunas and steam room.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Christmas Selection Box… and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Spa Sale Exclusive Spa Day Incl. Choice of Treatment and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 5 months ago
The spa, hotel and food were really good and I would recommend this hotel. However, there was a guest playing loud dance music at 1am which woke me up. I telephoned reception at 1:30am to complain about the music and nothing happen. The music went on until 3:45am even though I phoned up twice. This is not great when you want a relaxing weekend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 5 months ago
The dedicated Spa treatment suite of steam room, sauna, treatment showers, foot spa, ice fountain and medicinal steam room is a work of art, a haven for relaxation and a place to indulge one's senses. Thoroughly chilled out I was escorted into the treatment area for a deep, relaxing massage by a very capable masseuse followed by a few lengths of the pool, a dip in the Jacuzzi and, finally, a delicious snack from the carefully selected range on the menu. Despite going out into the rain sodden night and experiencing the worst traffic jam for years on the M56, the relaxed state of mind stayed with me all the way home.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 6 months ago
My friend bought me this voucher for a pre wedding gift and I couldn't have been happier! We attended on a chilled Sunday and the staff were so attendive from the point we walked in. The atmostphere was great and the spa was everything I could have wanted and more.

Very pleased with the thermal suite and the relaxation rooms were amazing. Will definitely visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 6 months ago
Love this place!! Attention to detail is huge and it is a perfect venue for a very relaxing day! I treated my friend who is getting married soon and has been very stressed and I have never seen her smile so much!

The lunch was lovely too and service excellent. I will definitely go again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 6 months ago
Friendly staff... especially mike in the cafe. The lunch was lovely. The spa area was modern and clean. The complimentary fruit, tea and water was great. I would prefer a spa area that has a jacquzzi and also felt it would benefit from having more toilets and showers in the changing areas. Treatment was great and I would defintly return with another spa package.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Pick ‘N’ Mix Spa Treats… and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Amazing day...easy to find,staff are pleasant,the facilities are spotless & the lunch is delicious.
Treat yourself.It's definitely worth every penny!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Autumn Glow Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Lovely pool and the spa facilities were good but a little on the small side.
Relaxation room was great though.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a One Night Serenity Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 9 months ago
Awesome hotel and spa facilities. The weather was glorious which helped but the setting is beautiful and the hotel is clean, freindly and good value for money. The drink and food however are on a little expensive side.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

9 months ago
Thank you Dave for taking the time to review us at Craxton Wood Spa.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your spa day, the facilities look brilliant since our refurbishment. I will pass your comments onto the staff they will be thrilled to hear you had such a great experience. I will also pass your comments onto our food & beverage manager but once again thank you so much for your kind words.
Kind Regards,

Keris Blaze, Senior Spa Therapist



Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze, Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spring Pick Me Up Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you Nikki for taking the time to review us at Craxton Wood Spa.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your spa day, and would love to welcome you back to our brand new Spa re opening 30th June. If you would like to come for a look around please do not hesitate. Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze, Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The hotel was clean and well maintained and the food was very good. The spa is undergoing a refurbishment at the moment so the areas we used were looking a bit tired. The massage itself was nice but I could have done with it being a bit firmer for a deep tissue massage.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Good Afternoon Sian,

Thank you for taking the time to review us in the Spa.
The refurbishment will be finished on the 30th June, so the facilities will be looking fantastic, 1.4 million Investment of
Swimming pool, Poolside Steam room, Sauna,Extensive thermal suite which includes: Herbal sauna, aroma steam room, ice fountain, foot spas, experience showers, 12 luxury spa treatment rooms,RASUL mud therapy room, 2 tranquil relaxation areas,Woodland ZEN garden, Wellness room – Provision of holistic services i.e. acupuncture, Chinese cupping, Sports Massage/Physiotherapy. So would love to welcome you back, and show you around our new Spa.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze, Head Therapist


.
Thank you for your comments regarding your massage, its great to recieve feedback.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
We had a fabulous time , lovely treatments , excellent food and room . Spa was lovely , pool is disappointing needs a face lift , no jacuzzi but there is sauna and a steam room. Would recommend . Be careful if you get a taxi to Chester , we ordered through the hotel and it cost £18 !! Only £12 when booked by us on return journey

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words about your visit to Craxton Wood Spa.
Thank you about your feedback about the pool,we are currently under going a 1.4 million refurbishment to the spa facilities, to include Swimming pool,Poolside Steam room, Sauna,Extensive thermal suite which includes: Herbal sauna, aroma steam room, ice fountain, foot spas, experience showers, 12 luxury spa treatment rooms, RASUL mud therapy room, 2 tranquil relaxation areas, Woodland ZEN garden,Wellness room – Provision of holistic services i.e. acupuncture, Chinese cupping, Sports Massage/Physiotherapy. Look forward to welcoming you back to show you around the new facilities.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze, Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Sadly we were made to feel like second class citizens and not particularly welcome. The staff appeared busy and so it was not easy to get attention. The facilities and treatments were ok. These staff were pleasant and professional but I felt rather short changed with my manicure and pedicure experiences, regarding quality and thoroughness.
Sorry I will not be in a hurry to return and repeat this spa day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take all feedback into consideration and act upon it accordingly. Please accept my sincere apologies that we fell short of your expectations and our own high standards on this occasion. We are currently under going a 1.4 million spa refurbishment which will be opening up on 30th June so would look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit to see all the changes.
Thank you & Kind Regards
Keris Blaze, Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

10 months ago
my daughter and i had a spa day tues 15 july 2014. we also added a massage as extra!. . . FABULOUS!! enjoyed it immensley the lunch was lovely and catered to my dietry needs no problem! all staff were attentive and pleasent! the treatments and the pool were excellent! the tranquility room and garden rooms were beautiful, BUT!!!! the massages we had were outstanding i felt better than i had done in a long while. . .sadly it was only a treat off my daughter who lives n works in dubai and she loved it too!! will be looking out for offers as i definately want to return for a massage if nothing else. THANK YOU the refurb is brilliant!! Lynda G

Report as inappropriate

10 months ago
my daughter and i had a spa day tues 15 july 2014. we also added a massage as extra!. . . FABULOUS!! enjoyed it immensley the lunch was lovely and catered to my dietry needs no problem! all staff were attentive and pleasent! the treatments and the pool were excellent! the tranquility room and garden rooms were beautiful, BUT!!!! the massages we had were outstanding i felt better than i had done in a long while. . .sadly it was only a treat off my daughter who lives n works in dubai and she loved it too!! will be looking out for offers as i definately want to return for a massage if nothing else. THANK YOU the refurb is brilliant!! Lynda G

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a A Cosy Afternoon In Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you Zoe, for taking the time to review us.
Very glad you enjoyed your spa day, and would love to welcome you back to the Spa.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze
Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spa Sale Mother's Day Exclusive Spa Day Incl. Choice of Treatment and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Good Afternoon Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Craxton Wood Spa.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your day with us, and would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze
Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate