Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

41 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Chain rating

Based on 41 reviews

5 stars 21
4 stars 11
3 stars 6
2 stars 3
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (3)
  • Body Treatments (6)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (10)
  • Face
  • Eye Treatments (1)
  • Facials (13)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (6)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (11)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (5)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (6)
  • Pedicure (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 9 months ago
Sadly we were made to feel like second class citizens and not particularly welcome. The staff appeared busy and so it was not easy to get attention. The facilities and treatments were ok. These staff were pleasant and professional but I felt rather short changed with my manicure and pedicure experiences, regarding quality and thoroughness.
Sorry I will not be in a hurry to return and repeat this spa day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

9 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take all feedback into consideration and act upon it accordingly. Please accept my sincere apologies that we fell short of your expectations and our own high standards on this occasion. We are currently under going a 1.4 million spa refurbishment which will be opening up on 30th June so would look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit to see all the changes.
Thank you & Kind Regards
Keris Blaze, Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

7 months ago
my daughter and i had a spa day tues 15 july 2014. we also added a massage as extra!. . . FABULOUS!! enjoyed it immensley the lunch was lovely and catered to my dietry needs no problem! all staff were attentive and pleasent! the treatments and the pool were excellent! the tranquility room and garden rooms were beautiful, BUT!!!! the massages we had were outstanding i felt better than i had done in a long while. . .sadly it was only a treat off my daughter who lives n works in dubai and she loved it too!! will be looking out for offers as i definately want to return for a massage if nothing else. THANK YOU the refurb is brilliant!! Lynda G

Report as inappropriate

7 months ago
my daughter and i had a spa day tues 15 july 2014. we also added a massage as extra!. . . FABULOUS!! enjoyed it immensley the lunch was lovely and catered to my dietry needs no problem! all staff were attentive and pleasent! the treatments and the pool were excellent! the tranquility room and garden rooms were beautiful, BUT!!!! the massages we had were outstanding i felt better than i had done in a long while. . .sadly it was only a treat off my daughter who lives n works in dubai and she loved it too!! will be looking out for offers as i definately want to return for a massage if nothing else. THANK YOU the refurb is brilliant!! Lynda G

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 10 months ago
I went for a A Cosy Afternoon In Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

9 months ago
Thank you Zoe, for taking the time to review us.
Very glad you enjoyed your spa day, and would love to welcome you back to the Spa.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze
Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a Spa Sale Mother's Day Exclusive Spa Day Incl. Choice of Treatment and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

9 months ago
Good Afternoon Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Craxton Wood Spa.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your day with us, and would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze
Head Therapist

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited March 2014
Posted 11 months ago
The window ledge in pool area had a lot of dead flies and some chewing gum sitting on them. A complimentary drink on arrival would have been nice and the choice for lunch was abysmal. Only 2 options and when I asked to swap for a sandwich was told I could but there would be a charge. Treatments were spot on and the staff were lovely. Would have been extremely disappointed if I had paid full price

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your treatments and I will pass your kind comments on to our staff. We take all feedback into consideration and act upon it accordingly. Please accept my sincere apologies that we fell short of your expectations and our own high standards on this occasion.
We are currently under going a 1.4 million spa refurbishment which will be opening up at the end of June so would look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit to see all the changes.
Thank you & Kind Regards
Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a Mini Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Thank you so much for the kind feedback, great to see you enjoyed your day and gave us a great rating!
Our newly refurbished spa will be opening in June if you would like to make a return visit and see all the changes!
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Never recieved half of the spa offer! Was meant to recurve hot chocolate on arrival we never recieved it. Meant to get chocolates on the pillow never recieved it. I enjoyed the good but my husband wasn't too keen. He complained and we recieved a bottle of wine and sandwiches free of charge. On arrival at the spa was meant to be given a robe and slippers to change into never happened! We were left carrying our bags round the spa into the relaxation room and the treatment room. Therapists were lovely and enjoyed my massage. My overall stay was ok but wasn't blown away and I wouldn't recommend to my friends I'm afraid.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I really enjoyed my afternoon spa day the facilities were great & the treatment I had was so relaxing I would highly recommend it to my friends

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your day with us. Our newly refurbished spa will be opening at the end of June so I would so look forward to welcoming you back to see all the exciting changes.

Thank you & Kind regards

Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The spa afternoon was a treat bought for me it was a very professional facial & the staff were so friendly I will be doing spa day again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your afternoon with us and that you liked your facial.
I would very much look forward to welcoming you back as our newly refurbished spa will be opening at the end of June, so it would be great for you to come along and see the changes.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Had a great relaxing day, staff were friendly, relaxation room was nice, enjoyed treatments good value for money i had a facial and hot stone massage was very relaxing, food was lovely, only down fall was there was no jacuzzi, although its my fault because i just assumed there would be and didnt check, would definatly re visit

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Booked a day spa n lounge for my wife's birthday we have a hectic life and it was great to be able to relax in comfort, staff outgoing and well trained, food was superb evening and morning, will book again soon, very enjoyable thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Fab day! Staff professional, facilities lovely and clean. Only downside was the food wasn't too great. All in all a great day definitely be going back soon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day Duet and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
My friend and I arrived at Craxton's woodland setting on a cold winter morning to be greeted by attentive and friendly staff.
We had a throughly relaxing day away from the stresses of work and families a fantastic pre Christmas treat.
The lunch was served in a unique bento box and the food was tasty and plentiful.
After the treatments we both felt completely chilled out and wonderful and our senses awakened by the lovely aroma of the treatment area.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Sensation Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The staff were lovely and the massage was amazing. The only criticism is there were children in the spa are and pool so not very relaxing when they are playing. There was also no Jacuzzi also.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
My friend and I had a lovely relaxing day. We spent some time in the gym (a beautiful view from the treadmill over the gardens) then went in the pool for a swim, spent some quiet time in the steam room and sauna. Had a really nice lunch then to finish the day off had two lovely treatments a back massage and a facial.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 days ago
I recently went to the Craxton Wood for a cream tea spa day, I was like a different person afterwards, so relaxed and chilled out. My deep tissue massage was a little painful at times as my back was so knotted but it has got rid of all my tension and I would really recommend it.
I love the refurbishment and am looking forward to returning with friends soon. My only slight criticism was that I waited quite a while to be shown round and it would have been nice to have been offered a drink whilst I was waiting to be shown the facilities

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 11 months ago
I went to Craxton Wood Hotel not quite knowing what to expect. I left feeling a different person! The experience was fantastic, the products (Elemis) were AMAZING and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
I would thoroughly recommend it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Dear SB,

Thank you for your kind words, I'm so glad to read you enjoyed your day with us, and that you loved Elemis as much as we do! We re open again in June and would love to welcome you back to try our newly refurbished spa, its all very exciting!

Thank you again for your time.
Kind Regards
Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate

Posted 11 months ago
Came here for a spa day with a friend! Would definitely recommend! Spa was lovely and is undergoing refurbishment! Even with refurbishment this didn't effect our day at all!! Staff were all fantastic and very accommodating! Great day! Thanks again to all staff, Will be re-booking!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so pleased you enjoyed your day with us.
Very much looking forward to inviting you back when our refurbishment is completed and we re open!
Kind Regards,

Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate

Posted 11 months ago
I loved my stay at Craxton Wood!! The staff were so so helpful and would go out their way to make you at ease. I shall definitely be returning to the Spa!
Thanks :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

11 months ago
I'm thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Craxton Wood. I will pass these kind comments on to our staff! We will be opening our newly refurbished spa in June if you would like to make a return visit and see all the changes.
Thank you & Kind Regards

Keris Blaze

Report as inappropriate