Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.0

53 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Peebles, Cardrona, EH45 8NE
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Peebles, Cardrona, EH45 8NE
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa part of Macdonald Hotel & Resorts   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.0

Chain rating

Based on 53 reviews

5 stars 20
4 stars 19
3 stars 11
2 stars 1
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (15)
  • Body Treatments (10)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (15)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (1)
  • Facials (10)
  • Men's Facial (2)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (2)
  • Swimming (9)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (21)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (6)
  • Therapeutic Massage (3)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a One Night Couples Harmony Experience Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
We went for the refresher Spa break and as this was our third visit to a Macdonald hotel we had high expectations, unfortunately it did not live up to the North Berwick hotel, the food was below average, we asked for bottled flavored cider but they had no cider at all, the waiter who served us dinner was a little rude, we had no tea or coffee making facilities in our room, the Spa should not be classed as a Spa, I had a facial that was the worst I have ever had, the lady pretty much just put some cream on my face and then wiped it off with a towel whilst running the tap and walking about the room, My husband did enjoy his massage though, Sadly we went to sleep straight after dinner and left well before we were due to check out.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night His & Hers Spa and Golf Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
A friend and I went along for a spa day treat, our package included a 30 minute tasters and we were both disappointed not to have extended to the hour as it was so good! We made use of the pool and poolside sauna and steam room which were both lovely and very clean.

We also had a fantastic afternoon tea in the cocktail lounge, all day the service was fantastic from all members of the spa team and the cocktail lounge staff too, a top rate day - hoping to go back with my mum this weekend!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The venue was beautiful set in stunning grounds, the building inside was clean and well kept. Spa and relaxation room well equipped and very nice. Facilities were pretty good although small, could have done with a jacuzzi and steam room wasn't working on our trip. I was disappointed at having booked online and been told arrival of 10am which suited as had distance to travel however on phoning to book treatments was told I was booked in for 9.30am and was no other times available although had stated 10am arrival? Treatments were good and staff friendly and helpful although 'hot stone massage' was stated on deal but was told only entitled to 'deep tissue'? Afternoon tea was very good and plentiful although a bit of a wait for not being overly busy.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Beautiful setting for this hotel and above average facilities with lovely staff.

The treatments were great although one finished a bit quicker than the booked time. Pool and changing facilities were great but the steam room was unbelievably hot and nobody could stand more than 60 seconds inside, potentially dangerous.

Afternoon was good but not outstanding but all told it was good value for money and would return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Everyone very friendly and helpful,wife loved it,would love to go back.food was great,spike bar very friendly and cheerful.lovely views looking onto the golf course and hillside.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Great value package treatment was back neck shoulder massage therapist was excellent and the lunch was delicious would visit again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Refresher Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2014
Posted 1 year ago
A lovely place to relax, friendly staff and a nice lunch. Beauty staff very professional, great massage. When booking for wax it would be useful to be told that it is not recommended to use steam room or pool afterwards so am glad I had already used those facilities.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Refresher Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Great spa break. Room was clean, spacious and had a great view. Facilities were excellent and dinner was very good. Spa treatments were just what we needed! The spa technicians did a great job.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The Spa is set in beautiful surroundings but at times we felt it cold. I have been to other spa days where the relaxation room is warm and lit dimly which this was not. There was a big marketing poster in the room too!
I would not have the cellulite busting wrap again. It was what was in the offer but was not relaxing. The hot stone massage was nice however I personally would have preferred a slower massage. Having not had a hot stone massage before I only have aromatherapy massage to compare it to.
I would definitely go back but would certainly be very careful in picking my treatments.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
We should have had prosecco waiting for us in the room along with chocolates or strawberries, there was nothing in room and I had to phone reception to ask for them , we are still waiting for the chocolates ,was a special overnight for my wife's birthday, poor and disappointing service.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Detox Spa Day Experience for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spa Detox Exclusive 2 for 1 One Night New Year, New You Spa Retreat and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Detox Spa Day Experience for Two and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Great value. Friendly staff in spa. Pool was a little on the chilly side and there was swimming lessons going on at the time we were there! Deep tissue massage was extremely relaxing. Hotel was immaculate. Would highly recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Visited with a friend and had a great time. Everything as you would expect from a 4 star hotel, staff pleasant and helpful and would definitely go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spa Detox Exclusive 2 for 1 One Night New Year, New You Spa Retreat and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review