Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

211 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Lifehouse Spa and Hotel at Lifehouse Spa & Hotel
Lifehouse Spa and Hotel at Lifehouse Spa & Hotel
Frinton Road,
Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex, CO16 0JD
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Lifehouse Spa and Hotel at Lifehouse Spa & Hotel
Frinton Road,
Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex, CO16 0JD
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Chain rating

Based on 211 reviews

5 stars 121
4 stars 64
3 stars 20
2 stars 4
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (4)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (18)
  • Body Treatments (7)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (7)
  • Counselling & Holistic
  • Reiki (1)
  • Dance
  • Zumba (1)
  • Face
  • Facials (52)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (1)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (8)
  • Hair
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (7)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (4)
  • Shiatsu Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (4)
  • Swedish Massage (8)
  • Therapeutic Massage (76)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (1)
  • Pedicure (3)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (2)
  • Yoga (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I don't normally do bad feedback but I feel this will help you improve for others as we were quite disappointed after spending around £500 for only one nights stay, two massages, lunch and dinner...I could of gone abroad to a 5* hotel for this. Your hotel felt more like a 3* Im afraid.
Unfortunately we were quite disappointed with our over all stay.
Our rooms were not ready when we arrived so we went to the café/juice area. We had scones and cream and were slightly disappointed in how small this was for the price...but what shocked me even more was all the cutlery was dirty. My husbands coffee cup was filthy and so was my tea and milk jug. I feel rude complaining but in this instance I had to ask for a clean cup as wouldn't of enjoyed my drink otherwise knowing it was dirty. So I went to the juice bar and told a man my mug was dirty, expecting him to pass me another clean one. Instead he simply rinsed boiling water around the mug and wiped the inside of my mug clean with a cloth! I was quite put out by this since the outside and handle was still clearly dirty. I am not a waitress nor have I ever been but I know the polite thing to do would of been to pass me a new clean mug surely? This put my back up instantly. I wasn't expecting Michelin star service but considering we had paid £319 before we had even stepped in the place I was expecting better service/cleanliness than this?
We were shown to our room by a lovely young man, however were quite disappointed to what we found. The room was cold, and didn't seem to warm up throughout our stay even after we shut the window left slightly open (appreciate this is done for ventilation purposes) however because it was left open we were greeted by around 5 bugs crawling the walls :-/
Soft tissues In the tissue box were displayed nicely decorative, but we were then found to only have been left two?! Thought this was a bit odd as they must of known there were only two left since they were nicely displayed them in a flower design manner.
Wasn't feeling the most impressed by this point and the room and hotel seemed quite tired looking. Im not sure when you last had a renovation but I think you need a lick of paint everywhere to freshen the place up. The pool area seemed a bit grubby in corners, and some chairs were either bobbly if cotton, or worn away if leather. These little touches are very noticeable and could really "rank up" the status of your hotel to future guests.
The worst interior part had to be when we were getting a couples massage (at an extra £130 we spent once we got there)... The wallpaper in the room was completely tearing away! Just looked terrible and cheap looking for the price of the treatment we had paid.
I do not want to leave all negative feedback as our massages were wonderful, the food was delicious and staff were very friendly.
I just feel it needs a bit of tlc and if it wasn't for the amazing garden views from our bedroom I would of made a complaint there and then

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Clean and quiet facilities, very helpful and friendly staff, good food. Didn't have any hiccups throughout our overnight stay. Overall - very good experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Yes definitely, the facilities were great and the overall experience and ambience was exceptional. We also really loved the location and the room which for us was spot on

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Blissful Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a One Night Love Life Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a One Night Love Life Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 7 months ago
A well-needed spa day. I found a fantastic offer online and had a lovely day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the relaxation room was wonderful. I highly recommend it!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 8 months ago
The best spa i have ever stayed in , such fantastic facilities and the massage which i had was the best i have ever had.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 8 months ago
As a regular to Lifehouse I once again cant fault the day spent there. The staff, food & treatment were as per usual 100% and the deal I purchased was amazing value. I go to Lifehouse a lot on my own and never feel uneasy there. Cant wait to return with my Mum for our 'Twixmas' 2 night stay, again this being a good value priced overnight break.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Last Minute Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 8 months ago
I took my husband to the Lifehouse Spa for the day for his birthday and we had a great day. The 10-6 deal with a 25 treatment worked really well, with plenty of time to relax.The £10 credit pp to spend on food was much appreciated as it pretty much paid for our lunch and drinks. Would definitely go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a Last Minute Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Last Minute Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 9 months ago
This spa has a friendly, informal feel - nothing pretentious here. Very good treatments in a lovely building with great grounds if you have time for a wander!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 9 months ago
The spa itself was lovely, staff very professional and helpful - well worth the last minute price. However, the 25 minute treatment was more like 15-20 minutes max. Also the food is terribly overpriced - I expected to pay £6 for a sandwich at a place like this but it would be nice if they put a bit more effort into it than dry bread, cheese and pickle! They also mixed up our appointment times so that I had to have mine at a different time but the staff were very apologetic and gave me a free smoothie whilst I waited for the others.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 9 months ago
My friend & I Arrived just about 9am & a very pleasant receptionist directed us round to another receptionist to check in for our spa day. I had requested lunch for 1pm & our facials for 3pm, the lunch booking was fine but had us down for facials at 12.15! However the young lady quickly managed to get it changed to 2.30 which was fine. Spent some time in spa facilities, did find the swimming pool a little on the cool side, which I have found on previous visits too. We ordered a bottle of wine in the bar & had to wait quite a while for the bartender to go & find a corkscrew, which we found rather peculiar, thought there would have been at least a couple behind the bar. We had a very nice lunch, not a lot of ambience as only ones dining apart from a very large corporate gathering. Had a very pleasant coffee upstairs & again friendly staff. We both had a facial, and we both agreed what a pleasant experience that was. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the quiet area afterwards, that was most enjoyable. Spent a little more time in the spa area then got changed & spent our last hour in the bar/lounge area. We ordered 2 glasses of wine & couldn't believe that the barman once again had to disappear to find a corkscrew!! Very bizarre!! Overall our visit was a very pleasant experience, with just a few little hiccups. We have visited several times before & am sure we will be back in the not too distant future.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 9 months ago
Lovely bedroom. Very attractive grounds. Treatments excellent but Pool and surrounding areas very dark and was told shortage of loungers in pool and hydropool area because it was the end of half term?? no good when you want to relax and there was room for more! Bar food not great but dinner excellent.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a Last Minute Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 9 months ago
A reasonable place to visit if you only fancy a swim and to go into the sauna and steam room and jacuzzi. Service at lunch was poor and no drink was included in the meal. Quiet room was a good idea but no door to shut out the noise and people kept talking so not really a chill out room. Quite expensive for what you receive especially as no where to sit by the pool as all seats had been taken first thing in the morning. Changing rooms have limited shower so have to wait and no machine to dry your swimming garments. Slightly disappointed for what we paid.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a One Night Blissful Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review