Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.5

40 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Leisure & Spa at The Cambridge Belfry, A QHotel
Leisure & Spa at The Cambridge Belfry, A QHotel
The Cambridge Belfry Hotel,
Cambourne, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB23 6BW
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Leisure & Spa at The Cambridge Belfry, A QHotel
The Cambridge Belfry Hotel,
Cambourne, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB23 6BW
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.5

Chain rating

Based on 40 reviews

5 stars 11
4 stars 14
3 stars 10
2 stars 0
1 star 5
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (4)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (4)
  • Face
  • Facials (16)
  • Fitness
  • Aerobics (1)
  • Running (1)
  • Spinning (1)
  • Strength Training (1)
  • Swimming (4)
  • Water Crew (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (5)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (5)
  • Indian Head Massage (5)
  • Swedish Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (9)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (2)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited September 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely venue near to Cambridge, easy to access and lots of parking making it all a lot less stressful. Hotel is smart with staff who are always on hand and willing to help out. A real bonus of this setting is the quiet room and would come again for this to escape technology and hearing other people chatter on allowing you to relax fully.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The therapist was friendly and the room was calming and comfortable. I was hoping for a more thorough hard skin removal as promised on the phone when I booked, however, only a soft foot file was used which merely made the hard skin softer. I don't have particularly hard skin on my feet, but I would have chosen a different venue that provided a more thorough hard skin removal technique if I had my chance again .

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Visited with my husband on a Sunday from 11am-5pm. We have visited a few spas here and abroad in the past and were a bit disappointed with Reflections at the Cambridge Belfry. For a start, the facilities are very basic - a small (but actually nice & hot) sauna, a steam room with uncomfortable plastic seating, an 8-person jacuzzi which needs to be manually turned on every 15 minutes, and a single-depth pool which I found to be quite cold. We used a voucher which meant we only paid £10 for the two of us for access for the day, and to be honest had we paid full price I would have been very unhappy. I have been to spas before (in hotels, not super-posh places) where you at least can help yourself to towels and robes. Here, we only got one towel each (to go in the pool, the sweaty sauna & have a shower afterwards??) and had to pay £5 each extra to hire robes & slippers. The pool is the hotel pool rather than just the spa pool, and from about 3pm was almost exclusively populated with parents & young (2-8 years) children. While I appreciate that excited young children are difficult to control, and the pool should be a place where they can play & let off steam, it made the whole spa environment, including the relaxation rooms & treatment rooms, which were behind two doors, very loud. And the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi, as well as all the beds, are poolside, which essentially makes the whole area unsuitable as a spa. A huge redeeming feature was the staff & treatments. The reception staff were helpful & polite - one of their therapists was unexpectedly absent meaning that one of our treatments had to be moved. They accomodated this immediately and were very apologetic. We had 4 treatments between us and all were excellent, very relaxing and professional, and great value for money. Overall however, not enough to bring us back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Lovely relaxing day, treatments excellent and good value.
Disappointing was that the venue didn't let us know at time of booking that we wouldn't be able to use the swimming pool until midday as there were children's lessons taking place, so this did mean we weren't able to go for a swim which we had planned around our treatments.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Although in a new town and in a new hotel it still felt warm and welcoming at the hotel. The spa staff added to this by being helpful and showing all the facilities yet leaving you in peace to relax with a friend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
This voucher was absolutely fantastic value for money. The treatments I had (Back massage & Facial) were brilliant, and I will definitely return to the Cambridge Belfry. The spa could do with being spruced up a bit, but the relaxation room was very pleasant and the therapists certainly compensate for the surroundings. I suffer from tension in my back, neck and shoulders, so I'm often left with sore muscles after a massage, however I was left feeling totally relaxed and not at all sore, which is a credit to my therapist :). Would thoroughly recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Easy to find spot just outside Cambridge so can be combined with a visit there or Wysing Arts Centre which is just a few minutes drive away. Staff were lovely really welcoming and helpful, left in peace to enjoy the facilities but they were always available if you had a query - perfect for us.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Easy to access, easy to find, good parking, nice reception directing us to the spa, great staff offering a tour and explaining what we could use. Spent a few hours in the leisure spa and had a great relaxation room where you could retire to for a quiet time away from the pool side.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
When we arrived the swimming was full of mothers & small children, also when we went to the changing rooms, there were lots of mothers with small children running around and crying, so not very relaxing, there was no-one around to show us how to use some of the gym equipment, in the jacuzi you had to keep getting out of it to turn in back on when cycle finished after every 15 minutes, and you have to wait for 6 minutes before it will restart, i found the pool water quite cold, in the relaxing room, there was nothing for us to read ie magazines/newspapers etc.. when I had my facial and massage, i was taken to a room just off the swimming pool, where i could hear all the noise from the children who had arrived there from school who were using the pool, so not very relaxing for me at all, the treatments were ok, but i have had better ones than the ones i received here, so overall was ok but not brilliant!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I went to the Cambridge Belfry Spa with a friend to have a nice, relaxing day and we had the most zen time ever, using the lovely pool, the jacuzzi, the sauna and the wonderful relaxation room in turn.
Our 2 treatments completely rejuvenated us and we had a lovely lunch in the bar.

Something we both agreed we would do again very soon! I honetly cannot wait...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 3 years ago
A few hiccups when we arrived - couldnt find our booking but we did still receive our treaments as they promised and very very apologetic, relaxation room was unavailable until 12 which was a little annoying but again they offered complimentry drinks, and then the pool was out of action over the lunch period due to maintenence but other than that the experience was lovely, very relaxing, staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Meals were very nice but glad ours were included in the deal otherwise would have been very costly! We also found out that all treatments were half price on a Fri if you were a hotel guest so we were very pleased we had stayed over on thursday as this meant we could squeeze in more treatments before we left! We took advantage of the bus service straight into Cambridge(5 min walk to bus stop) and left the car at the hotel for the day. All in all a lovely stay and a welcome treat.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2011
Posted 3 years ago
this was a fab spa and you are really made to feel special. The food was amazing and the staff were so good making sure your every need was catered for. We did not want to go home. Recommended to all.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
A lovely day of relaxation, unbelieveable value for money! lunch too! i loved the relaxation room that was a surprise and so helpful to have somewhere to relax after the spa and treatments!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
It was perfect! There was a lovely atmosphere and the treatments were lovely!! The food there in their restaurant is also lovely and would definitely recommend to anyone! Good location and parking too. For somewhere that is usually quite expensive, this was a bargain!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
It was perfect! There was a lovely atmosphere and the treatments were lovely!! The food there in their restaurant is also lovely and would definitely recommend to anyone! Good location and parking too. For somewhere that is usually quite expensive, this was a bargain!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Very relaxing day however the pool area is open to the public and members so there are classes on at certain times. Treatments were lovely and relaxation room was only available to spa guests which meant you could escape if necessary

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I had a lovely day with my friend and felt fully relaxed at the end of the day. The therapists were very friendly and the hotel and spa was lovely. Great value

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 4 years ago
SUCH a disappointment! Not even the ESPA products could elevate this from being a let-down. This is NOT a luxe venue, and the prices are comparable with a luxury experience.
- VERY limited menu
- Food served in hotel bar, away from the spa and shared with hotel guests, wedding guests etc etc (so you need to get dressed and make yourself presentable)
- robes and slippers in poor condition, had to complain in order to be issued with a fresh one after mine had got wet and was uncomfortable to sit around waiting in (and by then I was freezing so I had to go and sit in the sauna to warm up!)
- steam room not particularly hot
- pool full of screaming children
- changing rooms, loo's, and showers reminiscent of public swimming baths from about 10 years ago.
- one complementary soft drink per day, otherwise water from a cooler or £1.60 for a drink from the vending machine (or get dressed and go to the hotel bar and buy a drink)
- facial started 5 minutes late, I was left alone for a further 5 minutes so that I could lower my swimsuit straps off of my shoulders (really, 5 minutes?! left alone?!) and my treatment eventually started nearly 5 mintues after the therapist had returned and finished 12 minutes later - so much for 30 minute treatment. My friend had the same thereapist for all 3 of her treatments and she had much the same experience of lying around waiting for ages while the therapist went off to do things.

Overall, not worth a fraction of the money. 2star spa, 4 star price. Better off going to the Holiday Inn.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
Dissappointing...I took my mum for a birthday gift : Full day Spa + lunch + treatments for 2 people approx £65.00 per person was paid.
We went mid-week to avoid the crowds. Although the swimming pool area was not busy, the few kids that were present were allowed to run around the spa area, dive in the jacuzzi & pool and basically shatter any "peacefull ambience!" Staff were non-existant throughout our visit. Spa facilities poor:one steam room, one sauna. Steam room was out of action during our stay and we were'nt informed till we got in there, which just left the small gym & kid-filled pool & jacuzzi to use. The lunch options were minimal as was the quality & quantity of the food you got. You had to change into your outside clothes to go and eat in the hotel bar area with all the hotel guests, not good planning if your'e spa-ing it for the day! Changing facilities poor (public swimming pool comes to mind.) Only saving grace was tha Spa treatments & Espa products, lovely relaxation room though very small, treatments were lovely but the therapists did take their time to attend to you and you felt that you were'nt quite getting the full treatment time you paid for.
Overall: I would not waste my money on a spa break there again, but it would be ok for individual treatments. But as there are much better Spa breaks on offer for less money its well worth trying out elsewhere first. See Ufford Park for example.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 month ago
Notes regarding Belfrey Hotel
• Staff were very hardworking but unable to cope with sheer volume of people
• No IPA available from 2pm on Friday to lunchtime Saturday
• The bar area designated for our functions use was not fully stocked until 5:30pm when the function was due to start
• The sitting area which had been reserved for our function was unavailable because due to people watching the rugby who were not asked to move
• The girl on bar duty could not continue to stock the bar as she was inundated with people trying to buy drinks, it was one of our group that went to find a manager to request another person to help her with the bar and the huge queue
• First course of dinner was served without the chutney which was subsequently served after everyone had finished
• The main course was served and the mint sauce was once again served after everyone have finished their meal
• The food plates from the previous course were left on the tables for up to half an hour before being removed for the next course to be served
• None of the tables were cleared after the meal had been completed and therefore were full of dirty glasses for the evening
• The bar ran out of pint glasses at one point and we had to wait for them to be collected and washed up before being served.
• During the evening there were small children allowed to play football in the bar area and the corridor directly outside our function room, no member of management made any effort to stop this or were even visible
• The ladies toilets were left in a dreadful state during the evening with toilet rolls and tissue left all over the floors and in the wash basins, no member of management had checked these for the whole of the evening to rectify these issues
• On Sunday morning there was no hot water and a note was pushed under the door of the room explaining the situation
• Overall the cost of food and drink at the hotel was completely overpriced
• Overall the lack of visible management over the weekend was appalling, there should have been enough staff on duty to ensure all the events happening over the weekend had sufficient people to give a service that was expected from a hotel of this category

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review