Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

64 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Leisure & Spa at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, A QHotel
Leisure & Spa at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, A QHotel
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel,
Aldwark, Near Alne, York, YO61 1UF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Leisure & Spa at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, A QHotel
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel,
Aldwark, Near Alne, York, YO61 1UF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 64 reviews

5 stars 24
4 stars 27
3 stars 8
2 stars 2
1 star 3
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (8)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (6)
  • Face
  • Facials (24)
  • Fitness
  • Strength Training (1)
  • Swimming (11)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (8)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (3)
  • Foot Massage (6)
  • Indian Head Massage (7)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (1)
  • Swedish Massage (3)
  • Therapeutic Massage (16)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (10)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The spa is intimate and relaxing, not overcrowded at all. The staff seem a bit surprised and confused when ordering and making drinks although they were very polite. The lounge is smart and homely. While the offer is on I will definitely be going back for more, a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
This is a great spa day out I took my best friend for a pre wedding day treat we enjoyed using the gym which is of high quality and has free water. We then used the swimming pool and Jacuzzi which was very relaxing. The women's changing facilities are being updated so we were in the men's which to be honest were a bit dated and needed a clean. However the pool and Jacuzzi is nice. We then had a afternoon tea the cakes were really nice but the sandwiches were a bit disappointing very dry bread and the area we sat in felt a bit unatmospheric and could do with a revamp to feel more relaxing. We didn't have any treatments. For the price of the day £5 each it is great value for money especially when local pools charge this just for a swim, the staff are very friendly to and the rest of the hotel we saw was really nice in beautiful grounds. I would recommend a visit I would just suggest more attention to detail from the hotel.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Pros: The pool area and changing rooms are clean.I had the steam room to myself. Not overcrowded.



Cons: Staff not very forthcoming or friendly. I would not of paid the full price of £15 each, especially when towels robes or slippers are not provided.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Nice place and lovely settings, wish we could of stayed tje night
Friendly staff
Excellent treatment rooms, very relaxing
Nice food
Lovely spa facilities
Nice gym for my partner to use

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
fabulous value for the spa and treatments.
Felt our lunch was very overpriced for what we got - smallish chicken caesar salad, no bread or accompaniment to the bowl of salad = £12.50...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Had booked to go with friends but then I couldn't go on the day so I ended up going by myself. The staff were friendly and helpful but lunch was a disaster. it was a busy day and I asked for a sandwich and tea. The tea was in a small pot, half full with 2 tea bags in! it was soon put right but the sandwich never arrived and I went for my treatments. The facilities are good but the steam room was struggling to stay steamy.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 2 years ago
The gym facilities were good, the pool and jacuzzi good, however some of the pool facilities were not working, i.e. the tropical rain showers and ice drench etc. Overall a good experience but feel that a bit of TLC is in order to bring things up to date.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 2 years ago
The venue was perfect and the facilities are first class, staff were excellent and massage was one of the best I've had. Cant wait to return. Hoping to stay overnight. Would recommend to anyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
Lovely spa, looks very picturesque. I went with a friend for her birthday and had a facial and a massage, both of which were lovely and very relaxing. The facilities are nice and the cafe food and drink was fine. My only criticism would be that the changing room was very small and there weren't enough lockers considering the size of the spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 3 years ago
The welcome was fine. The cafe area also doubled as the Reception so there were staff sorting out food as well as seeing to clients' needs. I'm afraid the food was not up to standard. The portions were quite small and my food did not look very good at all! I commented on this and one of the staff very kindly said she would not charge me for it (this was a very positive thing to do) My comments were constructive - I wanted them to know for future information. The coffees were lovely.
In the pool/spa area there were several things that didn't work. Taps held together with tape etc. and an open drain area in the shower. If things needed to be fixed surely there should have been a notice saying so?
The treatments were very good and we enjoyed the relaxation room.
All in all I will be back but we were so hungry after the swim and treatments we were looking forward to bigger portions!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
Aldwick Manor is a beautiful hotel. It was more busy than I would have liked; I was told that it was unusually busy for mid week which was probably due tothe school half-term. Due to the number of people using the spa, there were not enough lockers for everyone. The facilities were very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The therapist was excellent. I would go again and recommend it to others.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Aldwark manor is a joke! How they can class themselves as a spa resort is unknown. On arrival to aldwark we were ignored by staff and had to wait 10 minutes before being acknowledged. Then shown around the bar area. I then asked if we could hire some robes and slippers as aware not in our spa voucher to be told they dont have any today? I then asked if we could have some towels to be told you have to bring your own? (never have i took my own towel to a spa) I informed the lady that not aware of this and could we hire some from the spa/hotel. Normally you could for £1 a towel but we dont have any today the linen delivery has not arrived yet. I stated we had nothing and what can we do? She then gave us a hand towel 1 each and said no charge of course. It was more of a flannel size but anyway we just wanted to get on with trying to enjoy our day. We went out into the swimming area where the pool was full of lesuire members and got into the pool. We nearly hit the celling with the temperature of the pool FREEZING. We tried to swim to warm up whilst dodging all the lesuire members. Decided to then warm up in a steam room with no steam in it! A lady had informed someone not working and nobody had been to see. Due to my lack of towel/robe i went to reception with my flannel and informed a lady who sent somebody. We went for a sauna whilst they had a look at the problem. The sauna was warm but cant say i was sweating it out in there. Went back to the steam room which had a little steam now. Sat for a while and it only filled half full the whole time we were there. If i stood on the bench i could feel the benifit not really relaxing! Jaccuzi was lovely nice and warm.
On arrival we were asked to wait in reception 5 minutes before treatments so decided to go have a coffee whilst waiting. I ordered the coffees and waited 15minutes before getting them! When recieving them they were clap cold. I took them back to the counter and i said "i am really sorry but these are cold" (not sure why i was sorry) and the responce was well they are fresh out of the machine! I said but there cold to get another responce of there fresh out of the machine! I said ok well we will just leave them thanks to be then tutted at and sighed at.
We then went for out treatments which were fantastic. All the therapist we had could do no more for us and one managed to find two robes for me and my nan after our massages.
We then decided to get showered and leave as we were planning to have lunch and use the facilitys more but had seen enough. This experience was bought for my nans 75th birthday which we went to on her birthday and it ruined the rest of our day with the disappointment.
I did let the manager know who has offered us to go back to use the facilities again but dont think were in a hurry to return. Not sure if we get a complimentary towel? Also the cleanliness of the facilities was poor my nan had to tell the manager to get a toothbrush and some jif to the steam room floor.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I have been here on more than one occasion and do find the reception staff seem to find it hard to smile and sometimes can come across as quite aloof, in the spa reception that is. Changing room facilites are lovely as is the lounging/snack area. Pool size is deceptive not as big as it looks as there is too much of a slope on the floor of it either side that means only swimming in the middle is practical without scraping your feet, so it is only really suitable for 3 people doing lengths at a time. Sauna very nice and spacious as is jacuzzi, steam room wasnt very steamy and there wasn't any particular fragrance. Treatment and relaxation rooms are lovely, and the beauty staff are very friendly and put you at ease. Food lovely too, slightly overpriced though! Overall I would go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Excellent value for money deal with 2 treatments at a fantastic spa facility within a great Hotel. Would thoroughly recommend both Wahanda and all the great deals that they offer.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I purchased this experience on behalf of a work colleague as a gift and they took their daughter along as well. The experience was excellent apart from a misunderstanding which appeared as though the Hotel staff thought should have been only 1 treatment not 2 as stated in the offer. The misunderstanding was quickly sorted and didn't affect the overall experience for them - thoroughly recommend a fantastic value for money deal !!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
The day was only £25 and the treatment was worth every penny. Sadly the spa has seen better days and has deteriorated since I last visited.The jacuzzi was out of order, one pool side shower wasn't working and part of it was held on with grey tape. The whole place feels as if it could do with a good clean. We bought lunch but were surprised that a hotel had run out of fizzy water, feta cheese, salmon and pastrami!!
I was disappointed for my friends as I had stayed here a couple of years ago and had told them it was very good.
Must make mention of the therapist though - she was excellent.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 3 years ago
enjoyed all of the day including lunch and have booked again
would have been nice to have been able to join in an exercise class but there wasnt any while we were there

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Me and my daughter had a girli here. We did not use the gym as i had recently had a accident but used the sauna, steam room and pool which was divine. I had a facial which was perfect, and my daughter loved her massage, which lots of knotts were found. We felt pampered and it was only £10 with wahanda which is brilliant value.
I have booked to come again with my boyfriend and cant wait but still a few months recovery before i can use a gym stupid ligament damamge.

Thanks

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2011
Posted 3 years ago
i went with family as a treat for my mum's birthday. We booked a deal which gave us 2 mini treatments each plus full use of the facilities - advertised as a spa day.
I had the facial which was great and which I can't fault- really relaxing and my therapist put me at ease and was really friendly and the file and polish with the same therapist was fine too. (Although my sister felt her file and polish had been rushed and was smudged before treatment was even finished - but i can only speak for mine which was good)
However the front desk staff weren't particularly firendly or helpful. we arrived about 40 minutes prior to our treatment time, assuming we could use the spa facilities for about half an hour first. However after arriving and being asked to take a seat in the reception area to fill out questionnaires, no one had come over after about 15 mins (not even to offer a drink) so I went up to the desk to ask if we could go in and use the spa facilities only to be told that as we were expected to be at the reception 10 minutes before the treatments, it was now too late to do so. I guess that as we arrived 40 minutes before the treatment time, she had assumed that we were coming just for these - which was fine but we weren't informed of this when we arrived and there was no effort to show us round, explain what facilities we could use etc.
Also, the rooms the manicures were in and the relaxation room for after treatments were so cold and far too cold to enjoy the manicure or relax!!
If the front desk staff had been more helpful and the rooms weren't so cold I would have given much higher ratings and would have probably considered returning to Aldwark Manor spa however due to these 2 relatively easy things to fix I probably won't.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2011
Posted 3 years ago
We all had a fantastic day, cant wait to go again, would recommend to everyone. Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzi were fantastic..

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review