Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

37 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Health Club at Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Health Club at Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel,
Habberley Road, Bewdley, Worcestershire, DY12 1LA
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Health Club at Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel,
Habberley Road, Bewdley, Worcestershire, DY12 1LA
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Chain rating

Based on 37 reviews

5 stars 13
4 stars 17
3 stars 4
2 stars 0
1 star 3
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Cardio Training (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (12)
  • Swedish Massage (5)
  • Swimming (13)
  • Tennis (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited May 2013
Posted 2 years ago
Staff were very friendly and courteous, the rooms were very clean & tidy also. The deal included an evening meal which was very good indeed and very good value for money on the champagne.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2013
Posted 2 years ago
We had an amazing experience staying at the Kidderminister/Bewdley Mercure . We would love to return for more .................The staff were very friendly and accommodating ...........the Coronet Suite was awesome and unique...........it was my birthday present to my boyfriend...........he said it was the best birthday experience he had.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
My Friend and I visited the mercure Hotel in Kidderminster on Saturday 9th Feb 2013.
We were going for a relaxing spa night, as a treat before my fiend gets married.
We had a wonderful time, the staff we great, nothing was too much trouble, and even though there was a wedding on, they were still very attentive.
We had lunch in the bar, (two Tuna melt panninis!) and I was concerned that it would take ages to come, as the wedding was in full swing, but I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived promptly and it was lovely, very good value for money.
In the afternoon my friend and I both had a massage, then went for a swim.
The pool was lovely and clean, my only complaint is that the changing rooms are very tired and could do with re vamping.
Our room was great (rm32), it was a family room, very large and clean, with one double bed, two single beds and a sofa bed.
In the evening we went to the restaurant for dinner, on this spa deal we had a food allowance of £22, and could choose from a 3 course set menu, or anything from the regular menu.
The food was lovely, I had french onion soup, followed by sea bass fillets, and my friend had pate, followed by a chicken burger.
Good sized portions, piping hot and served promptly.
The waiting staff we great, nothing was too much trouble.
After a great nights sleep, we went down for breakfast, which is served until 11am at the weekends.
My friend chose a full english, while I opted for eggs benedict. Again the food was lovely, my eggs were poached to perfection!.
So, I would highly recommend this hotel, and the price of £49:50 is amazing! Book it today!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
We truly enjoyed our stay! Dinner was better than what i expected. So was really pleased. Breakfast was fantastic! Would definitely go back again and recommend to my friends...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited January 2013
Posted 2 years ago
This was a post Christmas Birthday treat. The hotel was very quite which was expected at this time & suited us, We had a very warm welcome when we arrived at reception and from the staff in general. The spa receptionist went out of here way to make us feel at home. We felt that the room and the food were of a high standard, but would have liked a wider choice of main course on the dinner menu. The breakfast was excellent. The only down side which wasn't the hotels fault was a group of very selfish guests who returned to the hotel at around 2am very drunk and very loud and continued to argue & bang doors for over an hour.
The DBB deal we had was good value for money,we had a lovely time and will be back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Booked this for myself and 3 other girlfriends as our christmas get together. I have to say it was fantastic value for money. Rooms were excellent, very clean and well equipped. Leisure centre was nice and quiet, we enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and steam room.

A three-course meal was in with the price and I have to say this was excellent, good selection, ample portions and extremely tasty. Staff efficient and polite at both breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast being freshly cooked to order. Special mention for 'Tim' who was very helpful and approachable and even got us some logs for the dying fire.

My only criticism would be the receptionist, who, was unapologetic concerning a mix-up with our rooms, left my friend standing for a good 10 minutes, after passing her waiting at reception, to go to the toilet and not even apologizing for keeping her waiting, generally just not the sort of person you expect to be front-line staff at a hotel. But as I said that is my only criticism. Fantastic value for money and would recommend wholeheartedly.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 2 years ago
1. I booked as a single person on a 2 night break for 2 people. I had rung the hotel in advance and it was explained to me that I would have to pay for two, on arrival it was explained that as I had booked via a website the hotel could not give me any discount (not even a glass of wine) even though I was paying for two evening meals, breakfasts etc. When I calculated the cost of the regular room booking breakfast and evening meal - it would have been cheaper if I had booked as a single person. Yes, the staff confirmed on checking out, this was correct – I would have been better off making a booking direct with hotel as a single person - but at no time had anyone suggested this! Or offered any concession as a single person.
2.The bedding had holes in it (which I have a photo).
3. The Greek Salad I ordered (£11.55) from the standard menu had NO Feta cheese (this is just an ordinary salad then isn't it????
4.I also felt that decor was old and tired. The Health Club felt old and décor was dilapidated, the gym was very “blokey” and as a woman, didn’t feel comfortable in the weights area, the pool did not have any area sectioned off for people that wanted to exercise, and consequently were sharing the pool with children that were using as a recreational facility – over all if felt more like a municipal pool than a Health Club.
5. Some of the staff were helpful and friendly, others were clearly not bothered, and did not intervene when children were clearly violating the "pool rules" of jumping/dive bombing in the deep end. It was all in all a very disappointing experience, and I will not be booking again via this website, as the whole experience was over priced and did not offer value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
We had a free upgrade which was lovely, but the room was a bit shabby and not properly serviced. Food was nice, spa area was nice but i wish they would say the sauna is single sex. Staff all lovely

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Had a fantastic time, real value for money. Hotel and grounds are beautiful, food top class!

Only complaint was the load music from the Wedding that was taking place, that kept us awake.

Will make sure there are no Weddings next time we book!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I booked this offer for myself, mom, sister and cousin. We had such a wonderful time, hotel perfect, food amazing, especially the chunky chips and afternoon tea. Will definitley do it again. Great value for money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
My girlfriend (22) and I (25) stayed here for 2 nights for valentines weekend - I'd definitely recommend it as we had an amazing time. I booked a standard room with breakfast + dinner included, but upgraded for £20/night to the executive suite when we arrived. Upgrade was well worth it - well presented big room with a big 4 poster bed, private but only a 30second walk to the bar/restaurant. Was so good we meant to go out in the evening at least for one night but stayed in both nights drinking a bit at the bar and mainly in the room with room service. Food (restaurant, bar, and even breakfast) was one of the best parts - although there wasn't that many vegetarian options for my girlfriend, both of us loved the food on both nights.

I stupidly didn't pre-book any massages, so can't comment on that as it was fully booked for the whole weekend when we got there. We did use the gym / pool / steam room / tennis courts on both days though - all well worth it. Only downside is the sauna - we were really looking forward to that, but it's in the changing rooms so we couldn't go in together.

I'd definitely recommend it - for £200 (before the upgrade) on valentines weekend we got a great private room with a really comfy four poster, awesome food, and use of some good facilities. The only downside is the sauna being in the changing rooms. Restaurant was also a bit quiet, but guessing that was because we booked dinner late (after 9pm) - we had a good laugh, but a quiet couple opposite us could've done with some more atmosphere! Overall - loved it.

Also if you want something to do whilst you're in the area after checkout, there's a quality Safari park a 5minute drive down the road.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
We booked this hotel for what was promoted as a 'Valentine Packgage' but were left very disapointed.
Although we could not fault the evening meal and the service in the restaurant there was no atmosphere
We would have thought that for a 'Valentine Package' there would be at least a rose at the table for each female and some background music, but it was very quiet.
When we had finished our meal we had a drink in the Bar lounge but due to the fact there was no atmosphere and it was cold we decided to go to bed early.
There was nothing to define this evening from any other night so we felt a little mis-lead and wont be returning in the near future.

We did not use the Spa facilities so cannot comment.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
What a wonderful place,I loved it

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 3 years ago
This is a lovely hotel in a charming setting, with the beautiful town of Bewdley just minutes away.

All the staff are professional yet genuinely friendly and very eager to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as they can make it.

This is definitely somewhere I will be visiting again.

Thanks Wahanda

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I spent 2 nights at The Mercure Hotel Kidderminster with my children who are all young adults. We chose the hotel because my eldest son is severely autistic and lives in a home nearby. He loves swimming pools and hot tubs so seemed a perfext venue. It was, and we will repeat the trip. Tge staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. The food was fantastic, the rooms spacious and comfortable.
Well done and thankyou.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I booked a One Night Spa Break for Mum and I as it was her birthday. I honestly did not know what to expect - I just hoped it was decent however tt far exceeded our expectations. We were impressed by the warm welcome that we received, the decor, quality and cleanliness of the twin room/hotel and delighted with the peaceful surroundings. I had booked some special treatments for my Mum with the therapist based within the Sebastian Coe Health Club. The therapist was absolutely fantastic, thoughtful and made my Mum feel amazing. I cannot recommend her enough! The facilities within the Health Club were great - Spa bath, Steam Room, decent length heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. The only teeny weeny downside is that the sauna is not located on the pool side like the steam room but is still easily accessed by a flight of stairs. All staff were kind and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the food served in the restaurant and the service provided by staff (particularly for the 3 course evening meal) was first class. I have to say that that the Mercure Hotel & Sebastian Coe Health Club is a little gem and we will definitely go back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
1. I booked as a single person via Wahanda on a 2 night break for 2 people. It was promoted as a Spa Hotel. It is not a Spa - there is nothing about this hotel that is relaxing in the heatlh faciltities whatsoever. I had rung the hotel in advance and it was explained to me that I would have to pay for two, on arrival it was explained that as I had booked via a website the hotel could not give me any discount (not even a glass of wine) even though I was paying for two evening meals, breakfasts etc. When I calculated the cost of the regular room booking breakfast and evening meal - it would have been cheaper if I had booked as a single person. Yes, the staff confirmed on checking out, this was correct – I would have been better off making a booking direct with hotel as a single person - but at no time had anyone suggested this! Or offered any concession as a single person.
2.The bedding had holes in it (which I have a photo).
3. The Greek Salad I ordered (£11.55) from the standard menu had NO Feta cheese (this is just an ordinary salad then isn't it????
4.I also felt that decor was old and tired. The Health Club felt old and décor was dilapidated, the gym was very “blokey” and as a woman, didn’t feel comfortable in the weights area, the pool did not have any area sectioned off for people that wanted to exercise, and consequently was sharing the pool with children that were using as a recreational facility – over all it felt more like a municipal pool than a Health Club or Spa experience.
5. Some of the staff were helpful and friendly, others were clearly not bothered, and did not intervene when children were clearly violating the "pool rules" of jumping/dive bombing in the deep end. It was all in all a very disappointing experience, and I will not be booking again via this website, as the whole experience was over priced and did not offer value for money.

Report as inappropriate

Posted 10 months ago
Booked a night via wahanda and arrived at the hotel only to be told there was no reservation made! And to add insult to injury the hotel was fully booked! Ridiculously bad service. Thanks to wahanda for spoiling our romantic weekend away!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
We had a great weekend for our wedding anniversary and I would recommend the staff, the cuisine, the facilities and the cleanliness to anyone. They were superb and I would love to go again. Thank you

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review