Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

404 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Cucumba
Cucumba
12 Poland Street,
London, WIF 8QB
United Kingdom

Salon

Cucumba
12 Poland Street,
London, WIF 8QB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Cucumba   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 404 reviews

5 stars 157
4 stars 147
3 stars 69
2 stars 15
1 star 16
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (13)
  • Face
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (43)
  • Facials (85)
  • LED Light Therapy (3)
  • Makeup Treatments (6)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (4)
  • Hollywood Waxing (2)
  • Threading (22)
  • Waxing (57)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Ayurvedic Massages (2)
  • Chair Massage (14)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (9)
  • Foot Massage (34)
  • Hand Massage (3)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Reflexology (1)
  • Sports Massage (1)
  • Swedish Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (35)
  • Nails
  • Fish Pedicure (3)
  • Foot Scrub (34)
  • Gel Nails (5)
  • Manicure (85)
  • Nail Art (1)
  • Pedicure (75)
  • Two Week Manicure (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 6 months ago
I had a Brazilian - Hot or Strip Wax and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 6 months ago
great value for money, lovely staff :) i had threading, waxing and manicure all with the same lady and it was a lovely 30mins!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Very quick nail paint only - good variety of colours, literally a ten minute job, good staff, good locations, a tad expensive for what you get but did the job.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Didn't live up to my expectations, wasn't the right facial for my skin . Staff were friendly though and the £15 credit was good value.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 6 months ago
I had a Love Hands and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Manicure and pedicures are very basic. Minimum filing and painting of fingernails and toe nails (which is what it is advertising as). A plus is the nail Polish is of high quality and does not chip. I know some salons dilute old polishes with acetone which leads to easily chopped polish. Cucumba salons polish last forever. The staff are extremely friendly it's a very comfortable place

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
The staff at cucumba are all very friendly and personable. The salon is a great
Venue to stop in at for some "quick fixes". My only complaint would be wahandas website for booking. Not all of wahandas services and specials are online and it can get confusing when booking

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
This is the third time that I went back to Cucumba for the one hour dermalogica facial. The whole experience is so relaxing and skin feels so fresh after. Highly recommended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
The staff are lovely and the value was excellent. The staff go out of their way to enthuse products and services on a personal level which made the experience all the better,

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Disappointing. With my pedicure I seemed to have the junior member of staff who did not know what she was doing. She filed my nail at a diagonal and said that it was due to my nail bed. I explained I have had a few pedicures in my time and that was definitely not true so she got another therapist, which was good. However, 4 other propel then worked on my pedicure so thing were repeated and it took a lot longer. It was not relaxing at all as they were trying to do my gel nails at the same time and they had to redo one of my gel nails because they messed it up. For the cost and quality of service I would not return. They do have some good therapists there so I think you have to ask for the right one but it is very disorganised. When I complained they dealt with it well and gave me a free pit stop treatment but I'm not sure if I would go back. Splash in soho is definitely better for pedicures and gel nails and better value.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Thank You for your feedback. Apologies that we did not live up to your expectations but i do hope that the complimentary voucher and flip flops helped to restore some of your faith in us. Yes we are having staffing issues at present so we are using a few temps whilst we recruit new staff. Junior staff in any company have a steeper learning curve than most and your therapist was very accepting of the feedback you gave her on the day - she immediately called the manager to swap with her - only problem being that the manager was with another client at the time hence why she had to return to that client after sorting out the issue. you were assigned 2 therapists to service you simultaneously as explained at the time of booking but i think the breakdown at the beginning compounded by the fact that the temp who did your gels was only just getting used to working with our layout (we dont use tables) & equipment - led to the supervisor deliberately taking off the pedi therapist (for your comfort) and later assigning herself + one of our 'long term' staff to ensure you got a quality finish. As much as it pains me to say this - you are right in that for now the best thing to do is to ask for senior cucumba therapist and specify that you dont want temps or juniors. It will make things more difficult organisationally as juniors do need the opportunity to learn and temps are necessary when staff shortages occur but it does reduce the risk of things going wrong. We really do hope to get a second chance with you. On a final note - if you look at our website you'll see we publish an annual price comparison every august. based on our findings we weak our prices to ensure we continue giving good value for money. i will ask our team to look at splash services and to ensure that we are able to keep offering our clients good value for money. Thanks for this heads up. Warmest Regards

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I've been going to Cucumba for a few years off and on, and really love the quick treatments. Some places treat you differently when you book a deal online, but the staff were very friendly and service was quick as usual.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Fast, relaxed and enjoyable. My pick-and-mix treatment was great value for money, and I would definitely pay the team another visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 months ago
Amazing as usual, nothing is more relaxing than the dry skin pedicure! Might not be one for you if you're ticklish though...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I had a great spray tan at this salon, the staff were friendly and the tan was pretty even. Overall a good experience and if go back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Lovely salon, very friendly staff and was very happy with my wax. I would definitely go back to this salon again!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
It was a Perfect manicure. The dry skin busting pedicure does exactly what it means. The staff were lovely and attentive

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I really enjoyed my experience here. The place seemed very clean and bright!
My only small issue was that there seemed little opportunity to discuss what I wanted from the appointment, I am nervous when it comes to these things and would have preferred a chance to discuss what I wanted with the stylist
Would definitely go again!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
So... after a very poor facial I had also booked this foot treatment and tried to enjoy it. The first part of the treatment was good, the therapist removed the dry, hard skin from my feet and applied a soothing cream, leaving my feet feeling much softer. The therapist then said that I was okay to put my shoes on. The treatment I had booked was the Dry Skin Busting Foot Package Inc. Massage. and in the description it state that this should include shape, paint and foot and leg massage. None of these things were offered to me and again, the therapist was clearly just incredibly under-trained and had no idea either what treatment I had actually booked or what the treatment included. There was about 25 minutes at least left of the treatment, and I could have insisted that she continue with it, but I was so fed up with the service I'd had at Cucumba by that point that I just wanted to leave. The staff are perfectly nice but just not up to scratch when you compare to other London salons. I will not be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Posted on behalf of MD: Thank you for your frank and honest feedback. I am so very sorry for your bad experience with us here at cucumba and if you would be so kind as to email me directly i will see to it that we do all we can to not only put it right but to show you that we have a well earned reputation for being very good at what we do and really caring about our clients experience. We had a 5 star rating prior to the recent issues that are affecting a few of our beloved clients. I am therefore naturally disappointed with some of the reviews we have been receiving of late and the vast majority of them relate to two individuals - both of whom are new to the company. Thank you for pointing out how nice/friendly the team are as well as your therapist. Please believe me when i say that current and ex employees (including competitors or recruitment agencies who recruit therapists who have been trained by cucumba) can vouch for the quality of our training. In your case, the therapist in question has had the very best training with us and with Dermalogica. Week by week i have personally pulled your therapist off treatments where she has received unacceptable levels of complaints and she has been trained again and again at great time and cost. This has put pressure on the rest of the team as we are essentially understaffed whenever we 'pull a therapist' from treatments and so there is a knock on effect in terms of service levels. As captain of the ship i too must take full responsibility. In the UK there are laws around how we handle matters concerning staff underperformance so please bear with us - your feedback has been helpful in opening everyones eyes to how bad the situation has become. I would sincerely like you to give us the opportunity to put it right. I have written the same email to 2 of you as you both had the same therapist (GJ / MD). looking forward to hearing from you. Vivienne. vivienne.nweke@cucumba.co.uk

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Absolutely awful - AVOID!
When I arrived I was asked to sit in the waiting area, and I could here a member of staff tell my facialist that I had arrived, and then saw her peering out at me from round the corner. She then hid away again and I had to wait a further five minutes which was very strange. When the facialist did come to meet me she didn't introduce herself to me which I thought was odd.
During the facial nothing was explained to me. The facialist didn't explain which steps she was doing and what products she was using to do this. She combined some steps, cleansing and steaming at the same time, which just struck me as a way to cut time, very odd. The facial massage was very strange, soft and slow, and I had the distinct impression that she didn't really know what she was doing. If she was a trainee that should have been explained to me by her or another member of staff. The water she used to remove product between steps was never changed, so by the end of the hour treatment I was having my face cleaned with rather cool, dirty water - NOT what you want from a facial. The extractions were not good and when I got home I could see areas where no attempt had been made to clear my pores. The back massage was so poor that I had to ask the therapist to stop. Also (and I feel bad saying this as it is quite personal but it did affect my enjoyment of the treatment) the facialist had quite bad breath which was very unpleasant.
I feel bad giving such a bad review and don't want to upset the facialist as while the service she offered was poor in my opinion, she did seem like a nice person and I feel like the blame here should lie principally with Cucumba who clearly do not train their staff sufficiently in basic customer service and best practice in treatments. I will not be booking another facial with them and would urge other people to avoid if possible.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Thank you for your frank and honest feedback. I am so very sorry for your bad experience with us here at cucumba and if you would be so kind as to email me directly i will see to it that we do all we can to not only put it right but to show you that we have a well earned reputation for being very good at what we do and really caring about our clients experience. We had a 5 star rating prior to the recent issues that are affecting a few of our beloved clients. I am therefore naturally disappointed with some of the reviews we have been receiving of late and the vast majority of them relate to two individuals - both of whom are new to the company. Thank you for pointing out how nice/friendly the team are as well as your therapist. Please believe me when i say that current and ex employees (including competitors or recruitment agencies who recruit therapists who have been trained by cucumba) can vouch for the quality of our training. In your case, the therapist in question has had the very best training with us and with Dermalogica. Week by week i have personally pulled your therapist off treatments where she has received unacceptable levels of complaints and she has been trained again and again at great time and cost. This has put pressure on the rest of the team as we are essentially understaffed whenever we 'pull a therapist' from treatments and so there is a knock on effect in terms of service levels. As captain of the ship i too must take full responsibility. In the UK there are laws around how we handle matters concerning staff underperformance so please bear with us - your feedback has been helpful in opening everyones eyes to how bad the situation has become. I would sincerely like you to give us the opportunity to put it right. I have written the same email to 2 of you as you both had the same therapist (GJ / MD). looking forward to hearing from you. Vivienne. vivienne.nweke@cucumba.co.uk

Report as inappropriate

7 months ago
Posted on behalf of MD: Thank you for your frank and honest feedback. I am so very sorry for your bad experience with us here at cucumba and if you would be so kind as to email me directly i will see to it that we do all we can to not only put it right but to show you that we have a well earned reputation for being very good at what we do and really caring about our clients experience. We had a 5 star rating prior to the recent issues that are affecting a few of our beloved clients. I am therefore naturally disappointed with some of the reviews we have been receiving of late and the vast majority of them relate to two individuals - both of whom are new to the company. Thank you for pointing out how nice/friendly the team are as well as your therapist. Please believe me when i say that current and ex employees (including competitors or recruitment agencies who recruit therapists who have been trained by cucumba) can vouch for the quality of our training. In your case, the therapist in question has had the very best training with us and with Dermalogica. Week by week i have personally pulled your therapist off treatments where she has received unacceptable levels of complaints and she has been trained again and again at great time and cost. This has put pressure on the rest of the team as we are essentially understaffed whenever we 'pull a therapist' from treatments and so there is a knock on effect in terms of service levels. As captain of the ship i too must take full responsibility. In the UK there are laws around how we handle matters concerning staff underperformance so please bear with us - your feedback has been helpful in opening everyones eyes to how bad the situation has become. I would sincerely like you to give us the opportunity to put it right. I have written the same email to 2 of you as you both had the same therapist (GJ / MD). looking forward to hearing from you. Vivienne. vivienne.nweke@cucumba.co.uk

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 5 months ago
This is one of my favorite salons in the London area, let alone in soho. The staff are all very friendly

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

5 months ago
Thanks you so much for this lovely review. Please do make yourself known to us so that we can treat you to a complimentary glass of wine on your next visit. Regards

Report as inappropriate