Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

439 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Cucumba
Cucumba
12 Poland Street,
London, WIF 8QB
United Kingdom

Salon

Cucumba
12 Poland Street,
London, WIF 8QB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Cucumba   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 439 reviews

5 stars 168
4 stars 167
3 stars 73
2 stars 15
1 star 16
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (1)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (14)
  • Face
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (45)
  • Facials (97)
  • LED Light Therapy (3)
  • Makeup Treatments (7)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (5)
  • Hollywood Waxing (3)
  • Threading (25)
  • Waxing (59)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (4)
  • Ayurvedic Massages (2)
  • Chair Massage (15)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (10)
  • Foot Massage (35)
  • Hand Massage (3)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Lymphatic Drainage (1)
  • Lymphatic Drainage Massage (1)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Reflexology (2)
  • Sports Massage (2)
  • Swedish Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (40)
  • Nails
  • Fish Pedicure (3)
  • Foot Scrub (34)
  • Gel Nails (7)
  • Manicure (91)
  • Minx Nails (1)
  • Nail Art (1)
  • Pedicure (78)
  • Two Week Manicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Really nice ambience and staff were lovely! Had a great pedicure and the girl who did it really seemed to know what she was doing, looks lovely. Very pleased.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Staff were very friendly and attentive - I'd definitely return for other treatments. The foot filing (with an electric machine) was effective although I'm not sure it was any better than a regular pedicure.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Just a curtained off area so quite noisy
Was a male masseuse (who was really good) but it made me uncomfortable and I think I should have been told in advance

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Thanks for the feedback - Reiss is our specialist rehabilitative massage therapist so i will feedback your lovely comments. Yes you should have been informed it was a male therapist so apologies that you were not. The Urban Pit stop concept is about living life in the fast lane and in a hectic urban environment. As such it is a completely open space in order to 'echo' the daily environment in which may of our clients find themselves eg open plan offices surrounded by colleagues, crowded tubes surrounded by strangers etc. What we are trying to achieve is a way for urbanites to tune off 'the noise' in the midst of all the hussle and bustle regardless of where they find themselves when working or living in the city. There is more about the concept online and hopefully the explanation will help to put your experience of 'the noise' into context. I will admit its not for everyone but we do pride ourselves on quality, efficiency and friendliness of service within this environment. Please do give us another try - with a female therapist if you prefer and see if you feel any different afterwards given the above explanation. Vivienne

Report as inappropriate

6 months ago
Thanks for the feedback. You are quite right - you should have been informed beforehand if it was a massag erequiring you to undresss etc. apologies for that. i've passed your positive comments onto the male masseus & the constructive feedback to those at reception who take the bookings. In terms of our concept - yes we simply curtain off to allow for greater flexibility in terms of the use of the space. I appreciate this isnt for everyone and apologise if it wasnt for you. We are refurbishing in the near future i we do take all feedback into consideration to help us create an environemnt thats right for our target audience. Your feedback will be well appreciated in this respect.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Love Hands and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Love Waxing and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I had the Dry Skin Busting Foot Package and on top of being good value, the result was just great. I had very dry feet and the foot scrub was enough to get rid off it. The staff was very efficient and the polish very well done.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
The staff really know what they are doing. Pedicure and manicure were both exceptional.
Pedicure could have been more relaxing with a pedicure chair as opposed to standard chair, as this forces you to concentrate on your legs position to accommodate the therapist work.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Hi Serena. Thanks for your feedback. Each year we vote on whether to bring in the typical pedicure chair and due to flexibility & hygiene reasons the vote always comes back as no. Flexibility is because having a multiuse chair means we can accommodate client needs without the usual "sorry our pedi chairs are fully booked". This is great for groups, parties or even individuals who walk in or book last minute. Those same chairs can be used for mani's, threading, tinting, lashes, make-up, brow waxing, head massage etc etc which is part of the reason we are so good at fitting in last min appointments. second reason is that due to the volume of pedi's we do, we would rather use the non pedi chairs plus pedi bowls and disposable liners. that way we can simply throw out the water bowl after each client so no hygiene issues of hastily cleaning the equipment between each client. If you find the chairs particularly uncomfortable please ask your therapist for a footrest or leg rest. I will mention at todays team meeting so that therapists are aware. Regards, vivienne

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 6 months ago
As ever incredibly friendly and proficient staff - superb eyebrow tint & shape, pedicure a little more rushed although to be expected in a quick fix.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
This is amazing value! I kept getting up thinking I was finished but there was more to come. Attention to detail was fab and staff are welcoming and lovely.

I got a file and paint included in the package. This meant that my massage was cut a little short hence the 4 stars but still amazing. Thank you

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
My Therapist was very friendly and gentle and carried out all the 3 treatments I had booked. The pedicure was a quick tidy and polish, I would have liked my nails cut a little more. The head massage was good but the radio was near me and the music wasn't conducive to relaxing.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Hi Slash - thanks for the feedback. Client tastes differ widely and we do try to accommodate so please rest assured you can always ask your client to tailor your treatment or anything else about your experience such as music (type/volume) as our priority is that you feel well taken care of.
The pedicure you booked was shape & paint only hence no cuticle work but please do tell your therapist if you need a little extra work done and they will confirm the additional costs with you beforehand. Our full pedicure is £33.50 which is the same price you paid for all 3 treatments so i hope you'll agree that the PICK N MIX is good value for money. Hope to see you soon....

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Brazilian - Hot or Strip Wax and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
great value for money, lovely staff :) i had threading, waxing and manicure all with the same lady and it was a lovely 30mins!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Very quick nail paint only - good variety of colours, literally a ten minute job, good staff, good locations, a tad expensive for what you get but did the job.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Didn't live up to my expectations, wasn't the right facial for my skin . Staff were friendly though and the £15 credit was good value.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Love Hands and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 8 months ago
Manicure and pedicures are very basic. Minimum filing and painting of fingernails and toe nails (which is what it is advertising as). A plus is the nail Polish is of high quality and does not chip. I know some salons dilute old polishes with acetone which leads to easily chopped polish. Cucumba salons polish last forever. The staff are extremely friendly it's a very comfortable place

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 8 months ago
The staff at cucumba are all very friendly and personable. The salon is a great
Venue to stop in at for some "quick fixes". My only complaint would be wahandas website for booking. Not all of wahandas services and specials are online and it can get confusing when booking

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 8 months ago
This is the third time that I went back to Cucumba for the one hour dermalogica facial. The whole experience is so relaxing and skin feels so fresh after. Highly recommended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 8 months ago
The staff are lovely and the value was excellent. The staff go out of their way to enthuse products and services on a personal level which made the experience all the better,

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 8 months ago
Disappointing. With my pedicure I seemed to have the junior member of staff who did not know what she was doing. She filed my nail at a diagonal and said that it was due to my nail bed. I explained I have had a few pedicures in my time and that was definitely not true so she got another therapist, which was good. However, 4 other propel then worked on my pedicure so thing were repeated and it took a lot longer. It was not relaxing at all as they were trying to do my gel nails at the same time and they had to redo one of my gel nails because they messed it up. For the cost and quality of service I would not return. They do have some good therapists there so I think you have to ask for the right one but it is very disorganised. When I complained they dealt with it well and gave me a free pit stop treatment but I'm not sure if I would go back. Splash in soho is definitely better for pedicures and gel nails and better value.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

7 months ago
Thank You for your feedback. Apologies that we did not live up to your expectations but i do hope that the complimentary voucher and flip flops helped to restore some of your faith in us. Yes we are having staffing issues at present so we are using a few temps whilst we recruit new staff. Junior staff in any company have a steeper learning curve than most and your therapist was very accepting of the feedback you gave her on the day - she immediately called the manager to swap with her - only problem being that the manager was with another client at the time hence why she had to return to that client after sorting out the issue. you were assigned 2 therapists to service you simultaneously as explained at the time of booking but i think the breakdown at the beginning compounded by the fact that the temp who did your gels was only just getting used to working with our layout (we dont use tables) & equipment - led to the supervisor deliberately taking off the pedi therapist (for your comfort) and later assigning herself + one of our 'long term' staff to ensure you got a quality finish. As much as it pains me to say this - you are right in that for now the best thing to do is to ask for senior cucumba therapist and specify that you dont want temps or juniors. It will make things more difficult organisationally as juniors do need the opportunity to learn and temps are necessary when staff shortages occur but it does reduce the risk of things going wrong. We really do hope to get a second chance with you. On a final note - if you look at our website you'll see we publish an annual price comparison every august. based on our findings we weak our prices to ensure we continue giving good value for money. i will ask our team to look at splash services and to ensure that we are able to keep offering our clients good value for money. Thanks for this heads up. Warmest Regards

Report as inappropriate