Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

67 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
City Academy Sadler's Wells Theatre
City Academy Sadler's Wells Theatre
Sadler's Wells,
Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4TN
United Kingdom

Dance Studio

City Academy Sadler's Wells Theatre
Sadler's Wells,
Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4TN
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 67 reviews

5 stars 30
4 stars 22
3 stars 12
2 stars 3
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Ballet (2)
  • Ballroom Dancing (2)
  • Belly Dancing (1)
  • Bollywood Dancing (12)
  • Latin Dancing (20)
  • Salsa (7)
  • Street Dance (12)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
My friend and I attended our first ever Zumba class (and our first ever 'dance' class) at Sadlers Wells City Academy. We felt very cool going into Sadlers Wells (if a little bit like frauds)! Zumba itself seemed fun but the teacher was a bit haphazard considering it was a beginner's class and no one in the room knew anything about latin dancing let alone Zumba. We definitely didn't get the choreography and most of the class gave up halfway through and just focused on shaking themselves around. Whilst probably not the purpose of the class, it was LOADS of fun. Because of being beginners, and because a lot of the time was spent scratching our heads and wondering what to do, it wasn't the best workout....but it still was fun and everyone walked out with smiles on their faces.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Zumba, led by the effervescent Heidi, was thoroughly fun and deceptively exhausting! A little more Latin dancing based than I expected (I have the coordination of a body frozen in ice) but I enjoyed the freestyle element to it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
My first impression of going to a Zumba class was that there were a lot of moves and steps to learn, but really good fun and once the routine was done a few times, it all began to fall into place. Definitely recommend it to anyone that would like an alternative workout - other than going to the gym.

My only criticism would be that the venue had no air conditioning and it got very hot and sticky.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I really enjoyed the Zumba class and am looking forward to the next ones! I thought it was really fun and a good way to exercise as you didn't really notice how much you were working out!

I thought the teacher was good, and fun, although I felt frustrated at times that she didn't always go through the steps enough, but then I think that it doesn't really matter as you will pick it up the more you go, and its all about having fun rather than doing it totally right!

Also, I liked the studio and the academy itself and would be interested in looking at other classes there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Seems to be run by "creatives" who would rather be doing their own thing than be helpful. Strange venue, behind the scences of the theatre. No changing facilities, have to use the bathroom. Dance room was extremely hot. The deal details said you could take the Zumba classes at two venues - Sadler's Wells or Dragon Hall, when it was actually only available at Sadler's. The class was suposed to be beginner level but absolutely wasn't, too fast, not enough instruction.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I've been to City Academy @ Sadler's Wells a few times. The facilities are great and seem well maintained. The staff are very nonchalant, in general they all seem to hate their lives. They won't go out of their way to smile or give you directions to your studio.

The class I bought from Wahanda is a Zumba class. Prior to trying it at Sadler's Wells, I've done Zumba at my local Virgin Active several times; I used to go at *least* once a week. I've had three different instructors and even though their styles were very different, I always really enjoyed the class. The choreography was always great: not too hard to follow so you could focus on working out, but not too easy so that it was challenging enough to be interesting. The instructors always explain the moves before a song starts, and keep explaining throughout the song.

I can't say the same for the Zumba class at Sadler's Wells. Maybe the instructor is used to teaching more advanced classes? This was supposedly a beginners' Zumba class. She never thoroughly explains the moves before starting a song. Maybe she'll explain *some*, but then sometime in the middle of a song, she'll start doing her own thing, and the rest of the class will just fall over themselves trying to follow. Then she'll just grin and say something like "Oh maybe this is too hard for you guys," then pause the song, and then clumsily try to explain the move. She seemed more interested in having her own dance party in front of the room, and showing off her bum-shaking moves, rather than actually leading a workout class. Sure, she was cheery, had lots of energy, and yelled lots of encouragement, but there was hardly any actual instruction. Since I've done a bunch of other Zumba classes before, after a while I just gave up on her and started to do my own thing, so that I could actually get a workout (which was my goal for going there anyway). I felt bad for some of the people in the class who were bouncing clumsily around looking completely lost.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I had such fun! Zumba is a great dance, gives you so much energy and it makes you smile all the time! The teacher was amazing; professional, funny, hard-working! I will definetely go again! Also, great value for money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review