Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

67 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
City Academy Sadler's Wells Theatre
City Academy Sadler's Wells Theatre
Sadler's Wells,
Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4TN
United Kingdom

Dance Studio

City Academy Sadler's Wells Theatre
Sadler's Wells,
Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4TN
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 67 reviews

5 stars 30
4 stars 22
3 stars 12
2 stars 3
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Ballet (2)
  • Ballroom Dancing (2)
  • Belly Dancing (1)
  • Bollywood Dancing (12)
  • Latin Dancing (20)
  • Salsa (7)
  • Street Dance (12)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Fantastic teachers and fun classes. After doing a few taster classes, I signed up to the Bollywood course. The teacher taught the class at a good rate and made everyone feel comfortable. It wasn't a huge class but there were enough students. Really like the studios at this venue.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The salsa taster was fantastic - we learnt the basic steps and towards the end of the lesson, could even perform a small routine to music! The teacher was lovely and her teaching style very effective - she also gave us a very good idea of what the course would be like if we took it up for the term (which we did). The venue is really exciting as the room is actually within the Sadler's Wells building.....you do feel as though you're part of the performing community! Overall, a great way to spend a couple of hours.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I actually did a Zumba class. The instructor was quite good, however there were only 4 of us in the class which gave it no atmosphere. I also did not enjoy the style of music chosen. Personally, I didn't really like it although it had nothing to do with the instructor or the place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Loads of fun. The classes were packed and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. I would go back without any time and am looking forward to seeing more offers on the dance classes. Totally worth the £10.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Fantastic venue with all required facilities. Staff were very friendly and encouraging as it was obvious we were a little nervous. Excellent instruction and tips throught the class and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to try out some new dance classes.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The venue was easy enough to find and very conveniently located near Angel tube station. The venue was well equipped with a nice cafe on the ground floor where one can relax and have a bite and coffee.

I joined the Urban Street Dance class and there were about 6 students; the instructor was friendly and she though she thought the taster / beginner class well, her dance style wasn't quite my cup of tea. So I'll rate the class a 3.

I much preferred the dance instructor- Jessica Ellen, teaching at the Colombo Fitness Centre, Southwark. The class at Colombo seemed much more popular as well, with Jessica's class being sold out just after 2 lessons.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I attended Zumba, and it was fanatstic!!!The class was fun and got your heart pumping without feeling too much.It was a really small class, so felt less intimidating and was fiarly easy to follwo.I am so uncoordinated so if i cna do it, anyone can!!Only down side is the room is hot (Bring water!)Have fun-ZUMBA!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 years ago
Wow, I didn't know you could go to Sadler's Wells for drop-in classes, thanks for letting us know!

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Class is suited for people with previois dance training. While the teacher is probably a good dancer, but she cannot explain the moves to non-dance tranined students. Taster class was good price tho.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Good value, class was a little crowded and the studio was really hot, but was still fun. I would like to try another class as maybe Bollywood is not for me!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
This was a great taster class for a complete novice to and Bollywood dancing. I went with a friend and we both enjohyed ourselves, although the room was quite over crowded so I was constantly moving around to try and find a spot that wasn't completely squashed.
I understand this was a taster class so we didn't do a lot, there was quite a bit of standing about watching the instructor, however it was an enjoyable intro to Bollywood.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The Zumba classes were very high energy and good fun. There wasn't much guidance for the moves, so you just had to try and keep up, following the instructor! Good for a laugh.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2010
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent value for money and well worth it especially for anyone considering investing in a full 6/10/12-week course. The added bonus is we weren't subjected to the "hard sell" at the end either - they're as concerned that you make the right decision as you are instead of just promoting their other courses! I'd definitely recommend it!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2010
Posted 5 years ago
It was amazing!! I danced to my hearts content and really felt worked out afterwards. The best way to burn calories in my book!! Would definitely recommend highly to all my friends!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 4 years ago
I tried the Zumba classes at City Academy at Sadlers Wells! The instructor was great! Told us that the main point of the class was to have fun! This made it a relaxed atmosphere and also made the class more enjoyable! The Zumba classes were fairly energetic but the hour passed by fast! Glad that I gave it a go!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The Zumba classes I attended were excellent. It was good value for money and provided me with a thorough hour's workout. I had the same teacher for 2 out of the 3 classes. The female teacher geared her classes towards fitness whilst the male teacher who stood in for her for the second week was much more dance orientated and I must say I had some difficulty keeping up with the steps/routine for a novice. The classes without voucher is £10 a class and we (my firnd) and I thought this a little pricey. However, if this voucher came up again we would certainly be one of the first two buy. The only downside of the expereince was the condition of the studio. The weather was hot anyway and the air conditioning was really atrocious. Participants were sweating and very thirsty during the hour. Thankfully I brought a towel and ice water so bear this in mind.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 5 years ago
This was a Zumba course. There was a substitute tutor, who didn't know the venue. He came late. The room was stiflingly hot as the air conditioning could not be adjusted or no-one knew how.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The Zumba dance class is great! The instructors are good and very friendly. The dance was very aerobic, fast and energetic.
The only problem, and a big let down, is the venue! there is no AC, and windows are not permitted to be opened! In hot weather, this is unbearable.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 5 years ago
This location is ideal for city workers that don't live locally, the facilities make you feel like you are a real dancer! Zumba is a wonderful way to have fun, dance around uninhibited and work out whilst really enjoying yourself. I went alone and loved it, I really would recommend this to everyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I have now attended two of the three zumba classes available with the wahanda voucher I bought and have so far found it excellent value for money - especially as it helps you lose the pounds in such a fun way!

I didn't even think about the fact that I was exercising during the class as was having such a good time dancing! It's a great class for everyone to join in and the instructors were very motivating and friendly.

The only thing that could be improved is the room space - the first class was held in a large room which was great but it was far too hot and there were not any windows we could easily open - I was sweating even before we had started!

In the second class, the room temperature was much better but it was not really big enough for the size of the class which made it sometimes difficult to see and follow the instructor. Apart from that though, brilliant class - I would definately be interested in doing this long-term when a regular class is set up.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

5 years ago
Thanks for the review! One question I have always had is what is the percentage of women to men in the class...is it something men can do as well, or does it require the rhythm & flexibility most men just don;t have. Thanks! Salim (from Wahanda)

Report as inappropriate

5 years ago
It is mainly women - in fact, I think it was 100% women in the first class but in the second class there were some men so why no give it a go and see if you like it?

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited May 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The venue at Sadler's Wells wasn't great (stuffy with no windows or air-con - hardly ideal for an hour of fast-paced hard-cardio dancing, which surprised me as isn't Sadler's Wells a dance facility?) but get the right teacher and suddenly the whole experience changes! Each class was packed with people (no doubt due to the Wahanda voucher offer) and over my three classes I had 2 different teachers - the first was hard to follow as she moved around the class with no cues, but the second instructor was absolutely amazing - full of energy, prompt cuing and few pauses between dances, plus lots of options for either beginners or people who wanted more aerobic "kick" to the workout! The result was plenty of sweat and an amazing endorphin rush to perk up any day - everything I wanted from the Zumba classes when I signed up.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review