Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.5

78 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
Bad Apple Hair Sutton Coldfield
Bad Apple Hair Sutton Coldfield
45-47 Birmingham Road,
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, B72 1RH
United Kingdom

Hair Salon

Bad Apple Hair Sutton Coldfield
45-47 Birmingham Road,
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, B72 1RH
United Kingdom
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • eVouchers not accepted

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.5

Chain rating

Based on 78 reviews

5 stars 49
4 stars 19
3 stars 4
2 stars 3
1 star 3
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Blow Dry (8)
  • Brazilian Blow Dry Keratin Treatment (4)
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (16)
  • Hair Conditioning and Scalp Treatments (2)
  • Hair Consulting (3)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (58)
  • Straighteners (1)
Show more
Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
The whole experience was really relaxing and enjoyable. and the haircut is fab. Firstly my stylist asked me about my hair and what I liked and disliked about it. Throughout she talked me through what she was going to do. It was so relaxing in the massage chairs while having a deep treatment which was included in the Wahanda deal. The cut and the way she styled it were just what I wanted and I love it. It's a great deal and I would definitely return again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Could not make my appointment time so I had to wait 45 minutes. I was also not very happy with my hair cut.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
Honestly, just had my hair done and I cried all the way home and even when I got home. What I asked for and what I got what totally different. The staff wasn't pleasant to talk to, I was quiet upset when my hair dresser left me half way to do somebodies else's hair. I didn't really feel I had choice when he did my hair.

I don't want to go there ever again...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 1 year ago
Visited this salon for the first time, just for a bit of a trim really. The staff were lovely, the salon is beautiful and I'm loving the new do! Would definitely recommend and go again myself.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Haircut & Finish with Full Head of Highlights and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Haircut & Finish with Half Head of Highlights and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Luxury Haircut and Finish with Senior Art Team and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 1 year ago
a bit of a mix up with my booking but sorted straight away so all in all a good experience and would go again.
pleased with cut and service thanks

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I have been to this venue for haircut and blow dry in summer and must say that the atmosphere is not the same there as before. The staff is definitely expecting a tip no matter whether you are pleased with their job or not. There was not very satisfying service this time for me. Thus, overall I give them only three stars now.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 year ago
Never write reviews but I just had to say how wonderful this salon is. The staff were very informative and helpful and have excellent advice, not saying the most expensive treatment but advising me on a cheaper option because it was better for my hair.
The colouring in particular was fantastic, I never usually go back to the same place but I will definitely go back here.
The cut was good, I've had a similar style elsewhere but it was a really good cut.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
What a lovely bunch offering a cracking service as well. Although I had a voucher, I was still treated as if I was paying full price and treated very well I was! Thank you very much to Scott and June!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited June 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I had my haircut at Bad Apple Sutton Coldfield in June 2013. The shop was really nice, and the staff were very welcoming. I wasn't 100% happy with my haircut on this occasion as felt it was not quite what I asked for, however I would still consider going back, as I have become happier with he hairstyle as it's grown a bit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I visited Bad Apple today for the second time. The first time I admit that I was drawn in by the 25% off voucher for first time customers (and positive reviews from a friend). I had colours from James and Apt did my cut. I'm always a bit nervous about visiting the hairdressers, and 9 times out of ten come out pretty unhappy.

Bad Apple was the complete opposite! Both Pat and James took the time to discuss my cut and colour together with me, so that everything matched up. The colour was lovely and James gave me some great advise on looking after the colour and my hair in general! The cut from Pat was simple but stylish, and I was really happy with the whole experience.

So today I returned to have a cut from Pat. I didn’t have my colour done this time as it didn’t really need it but I fancied a trim. After a bit of discussion we agreed to try something a bit different and Pat put a lovely full fringe in. Again all the staff were friendly and helpful and discussed everything with me. I once again left feeling extremely happy with my hair and have loads of compliments all day. Will be back again in the new year for my colour and cut. Think I’ll be a regular for years to come.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Overall, as always pretty good experience: very polite and very helpful staff, excellent treatment and hair cut. Definitely would recommend to all my friends and colleges. Had a lot of comments on my new cut.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 2 years ago
I NEVER write reviews, but thought I should write one about this as I just spend over £100 at the Sutton Coldfield branch and have left feeling a little taken advantage of.

I had a half head of highlights and a cut & blowdry. I booked the appointment by phone where I was told that the highlights would be £65 and the cut would be £42.

The salon itself is very nice very sophisticated, friendly staff, nice refreshments that were offered regularly, the staff were very professional when first looking at my hair talking about exactly what they were going to do and why etc.

Through out my visit I had 3 members of staff trying their hardest to sell me hair products, doing the typical 'Oh what shampoo do you normally use?' I said Treseme and got the dodgy look and explanation that Treseme is awful and I should invest in their products. The girl who washed my hair saying 'OH MY GOD you should so buy Bed Head you will love it , you really need it as your hair is dry' The lady who cut my hair trying to sell me this oil that apparently cuts the drying time in half and repairs split ends and when she walked me to the till she said 'So do you want to buy some oil' For £20 for a thimble of it, no thanks.

The staff at Bad Apple are trained and told to glorify these products to their customers quite forcfully as well just to get a sale. They do it in a way that makes them seem caring, when I could see straight past it and it was very awkward, they just try to make you part with another few quid for something you don't need.

Final thing, I got to the till and was told that a hair cut with June was £48, despite being told on the phone it was £42, but on their website it says £40....Making the prices up as you go along? I think so.

Absolute RIP OFF for what it is!! Bad, tacky sales techniques as well. Having a glass bottle of coke and a few up to date magazines and cherpy staff doesn't justify those prices, luckily as a first time customer I had 25% off.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
Hi Gina55, firstly may we say how sad we are that you feel "RIPPED OFF". We try our best to run a transparent pricing structure. Displaying it on our W/site, on cards & on "A" boards. The staff are very passionate about their jobs & their clients. They genuinely do want their clients hair to be & look the best it possibly can as you are a walking advertisement. They are not instructed by the company to "glorify" the haircare. They just want the best for your hair. The oil you mention is available in 100ml and is priced at £20, however as such a little amount is required each time you apply it then it can work out more economical than a supermarket brand. We try our best to match our clients with our staff and that is why each member of staff lists a biog & price on our website. We are sorry if this is misleading and we will look at ways to make this more clear. We also offer th 25% discount as a way for new clients to "try" us out without paying the full price.
The 23 monthly magazines that we stock range from Vogue to homes & GQ. We stock more edgy magazines such as I.D & Dazed.
We thank you for the kind words about the professional, friendly staff & very sophisticated salon at the beginning of your review & will share those with the franchisor.
If you still feel "Ripped Off" then please contact our MD via our customer service e mail on our W/site.
Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Report as inappropriate

2 years ago
I can't help thinking there is some motive behind this rather vitriolic review. In 5 visits not once have any staff members tried to hard sell to me, nor anyone else for that matter. From a very satisfied customer.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 2 years ago
definately would use this salon again, excellent consultation, hairstylist thorough. came away very happy with hair cut and overall experience. thank you bad apple, would certainly recommend to friends and family.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 2 years ago
Very friendly salon.Nice welcome and offer of drinks. Good discussion on my hair style and what to do with it. Happy with my cut and condition and booked again ,there and then

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I was very impressed with the salon, It was clean bright and spacious. Staff very friendly. Had to wait a little, but was offered a coffee, which was very good. Several products were used and stylist explained each product as she used them. The only negative for me was, the floor has black very shiny tiles and with lights reflecting on this - it’s a little disconcerting. Sometime unsure where a step is.-

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
This was quite a pleasant experience with my haircut and blow dry with creative director on Saturday afternoon.
She was fabulous: explained what style in her opinion will suit me, how better to look after my hai, explained every step what she was doing.
Recommended from me.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I hate the hairdressers with a passion, not sure what the official name for the phobia is, but I have it! I break out in to a cold sweat at the thought of a visit so I never go back to the same place.

Last year I happened to wander in to Bad Apple in Sutton Coldfield and Pat cut my hair, I've now been 3 times - my most successive visits to any hairdresser since 1997- and although I don't love it (that will never happen) I truly can't fault it.

Pat takes real time and care with his cutting and over the course of 3 haircuts I'm getting close to having hair I can love because I'm feeling braver about what can be achieved. This is thanks to a hairdressers patience in listening to my ramblings about how I hate my superfine hair and my inability to master any of the tools needed to make it look good. Off the back of that I've been given good advice on how to manage my style myself, might sound simple to many of you I know. The cut I have now is absolutely gorgeous, everyone comments on it and it's the first time people have ever asked me where I get my hair cut.

I like the ambience, the loopy interior design and the mixed clientele, I always enjoy the choice of music as they play a lot of chilled dance music, stuff like Saint Germain for instance. I don't feel like I'm obliged to discuss where I'm going on holiday, the latest installment of Eastenders or talk about kids and the staff are quirky and funny with real personal style.

Not your typical review I appreciate but if you experienced sheer terror on entering the hairdressers like I do, your view's and requirements might be a bit off the wall too. :O)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review