Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

94 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Ayurveda Pura Health Spa & Beauty Centre
Ayurveda Pura Health Spa & Beauty Centre
48 Newton Lodge,
Oval Square, West Parkside, Greenwich Millenium Village, North Greenwich, London, SE10 0BA
United Kingdom

Day Spa

Ayurveda Pura Health Spa & Beauty Centre
48 Newton Lodge,
Oval Square, West Parkside, Greenwich Millenium Village, North Greenwich, London, SE10 0BA
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Accepts Wahanda gift vouchers

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Venue type: Day Spa in Greenwich
Tagged as: Day Spa
A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 94 reviews

5 stars 41
4 stars 32
3 stars 12
2 stars 5
1 star 4
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Counselling & Holistic
  • Aromatherapy (1)
  • Ayurvedic (17)
  • Shirodhara (2)
  • Face
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Face Lift - Nonsurgical (13)
  • Facials (30)
  • Hair removal
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Male Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (5)
  • Massage
  • Abhyanga Ayurvedic Massage (16)
  • Aromatherapy Massage (2)
  • Ayurvedic Massages (44)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (2)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (2)
  • Pedicure (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited August 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Ayurveda Pura is a really lovely spa. The staff are very friendly and the treatment room had a lovely ambience. My massage was great and the therapist worked hard to get all the knots out of my back - I felt great afterwards. Only downside is that parking is VERY limited - be warned that you should leave yourself plenty of time before your appointment as you may have a long walk to the spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I had a nice massage and facial here, in treatment rooms that are really top-end, with adjoining shower rooms, which give it a really luxurious feel - all this space just for me?! The therapists were lovely, though in both cases, I prefer a firmer touch. I also think personally I prefer a more clinical style facial, but that is truly personal preference.

One slightly unrelaxing thing about my experience was that my treatments were in two separate rooms, and as this is a series of rooms attached to a cafe, I had to get dressed in between the treatments to walk to the next treatment room - so dressing and undressing twice slightly spoiled the flow.

All in all though, very nice to find this in South East London.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
Great friendly staff.
Lovely ambience.
Very good facilities.
I do feel the Shirodhar is the most amazing thing to have done. Absoloutely wonderful. Though I suggest you request a small pillow for it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I got there well before my scheduled time. the staff were very accomodating and pleasant. I had a one hour aromatherapy massage and I fell asleep during treatment. It felt soo relaxing. I actually had a drool, and a big one too (how embarrasing).

After my massage I was whisked away to have my facial which felt so relaxing too. I thoroughly enjoyed my treatment and the venue and would definitely go back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The setting is fine, a fairly uninspiring location but the little coffee shop attached to the spa is nice. The treatments were a bit disappointing. My package was supposed to be a half hour massage and half hour facial however they thought I was finished after the massage and had to check the deal while I waited in the waiting area which sort of broke up my hour of relaxation. I was then moved to another room with another therapist. Not exactly seamless... The actual treatments were average. I'd asked for a firm massage but it was actually a bit light. The facial was very disappointing though, as a half hour facial was over in twenty minutes. I felt that as I'd only paid £30 for the deal they were trying to ensure that I got no more than my money's worth. They were friendly enough but I won't be going back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Short bus ride from North Greenwich station. Small salon ajoining cafe area. The treatments were excellent. I even bought their massage oil afterwards. The only downside is that I have to move to another room to have the facial treatment.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The venue is a small local health shop with a massage/cafe type service. The staff were professional, but you got the feeling that they were rushed/over booked. However the service was still good and they spent time explaining the treats and gave a good massage. I would recomend this for people who want a massage, but can't spend all day at a spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The beauty salon was a good distance from the nearest tube, but there were frequent bus to get to the salon.The therapist was knowledgable.The vegetarian food served at the cafe was delicious.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
This place was a bit of a nightmare to find, the Satnav was going in circles in trying to locate this place, had to call the (helpful) staff a few times.

I went along with my sister who had purchased a previous (better) deal than me; I was having a facial and the Ayurveda back massage. My treatment started off by having the back massage, which I had been looking so forward to; unfortunately the therapist doing my massage was not pressing my pressure points and this was frustrating as I had to ask her a few times that I wanted more pressure to ease the tightness of my shoulders and back. At the end I just felt really disappointed.

Subsequently, I had the facial, which stated off well and then 20 minutes or so into the treatment my therapist (the only one doing the facials on this day) disappeared for a good 10 minutes, and returned to finish off the treatment. Lucky as all the other appointments had been cancelled, people kept turning up as they had not been called. I felt as though I’d been short changed, I had spent a good 10-12 minutes dozing off. When I came out I was told the therapist had gone off sick and there was no one else who could assist with my questioning about the products that had been used (the Rose water is lovely), so I could not purchase anything. The staffs are really nice though they kept apologising. The Spa Centre was clean and nice. Unfortunately, I would not go there again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The place was far off from the tube. The ambience was OK and nothing very great - the description on the web was much nicer. Also I had to wait for the treatment to start. I did not notice anything great/different or Auyrvedic about the whole experience. There was supposed to be a consultancy which was not provided. Ok experience

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
I found the staff at Ayurveda Pura polite and professional. I visited with a Wahanda voucher for 1 hour Abhyanga Ayurvedic full body massage plus a choice of either an Oxygen or Nourishing facial. The "10 min consultation with a therapist" was actually a 3 min form filling exercise. I was not offered the herbal tea mentioned on the voucher upon arrival, just water.

The massage treatment room was a good size with a lovely warm decor and dim lighting and a large massage bed. My massage therapist was Thomas. The massage involved mainly long push-and-pull motions and was not as slow as most massages; it was a medium pace, so quite invigorating. I asked Thomas to focus on certain tension areas which he did. He also checked with me on several occasions if the location was correct and whether the pressure of ok. Connected to the massage room was a nicely decorated shower room where I was given the chance to have a shower after the massage to wash off the excess massage oils. I then dressed and returned to the waiting area where I was again offered water while I waited for my facial.

About 10 or 15 minutes later, another therapist, Erica, came to take me inside a different room for my facial, this time a smaller room. When I mentioned the Oxygen vs Nourishing facial, she didn't seem to be aware that this was specified in the Wahanda deal and simply said that she would take a look at my skin to determine the type of facial to give. She said they use the same products, but just do the facial differently. I'm not entirely sure if this should have been the case given what was stipulated on the voucher, which essentially forms the basis upon which people purchase the deal. In the end, I don't know that I got either an Oxygen or a Nourishing facial, however I did get a lymphatic massage to help clear my congested skin as well as a brief head massage while the mask was on. I liked that the products had a light, natural fragrance. The facial however only lasted about 30-40 mins, not the 1 hour stated on the voucher. Nonetheless, it was relaxing and I enjoyed it. My skin felt nice afterwards and has not broken out as is often the case after some facials.

Overall, the quality of the staff, their skills as well as the spa facilities were good and for that I would consider returning. However, I feel a bit cheated and let down by the fact that the services actually provided departed from and fell short of what was actually stated on the Wahanda offer and I think the spa should take greater care/responsibility to deliver to what was originally specified.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
As I live in Greenwich Millenium Village the location was easy to get to. The treatment rooms are spacious, very clean and well appointed. A very calm atmosphere and the therapist, Thomas, was excellent. He is an experience Ayurvedic therapist and the massage was extremely relaxing and therapeutic. He also gave me some advice.
The Ayurvedic facial massage was very thorough and the therapist (a different one) was very knowledgeable.
The facilities are excellent with shower facilities. There is also a cafe in the same building which serves excellent tea, coffee and snacks. I will definitely go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

3 years ago
absolutely love that place. Deepa Apte is an amazing woman and a top class ayurvedic doctor and teacher

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited May 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Had no problem in finding the place and opening hours also allows for treatment after work. The facial therapist was really friendly and her firm neck area maasage while the mask dries was a real treat. The massage therapist had a nice soothing voice and relaxed vibe that you feel so chilled out/ relax. Thumbs up to the treatment room and shower facilites. Overall, I had a treatment package and would definitely consider returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The place is sitting just on the side of the road next to Millenium Village, very easy to find. The staff is very warm. My therapist who did my facial was very skillful and it was an absolute great experience. Will recommend to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
Avoid this place if you can! I went to this beauty spa as part of the wahanda deal with 1 hour ayurvedic massage and 1 hour oxygen facial. I arrived at the spa 15 minutes earlier and had to wait for about 20 minutes for the treatment to start, which was started late from the appointment time. The massage was just so so as I couldn't feel much pressure at all on my body and at the end of the massage, I didn't feel rejuvenated or relaxed at all. The worst to come is the oxygen facial. I am a regular facial goer and all I can say is this is the WORST facial i ever had. I booked for this facial as part of my beauty regimen to make sure my skin is in best condition before my wedding next month. The facial only lasted about 40 minutes instead of 60 minutes and the therapist was really rough on my skin, rubbing hard my skin with the tower and squeezed my nose really hard while performing skin extraction. When I told off the therapist, her only reaction was she couldn't really be bothered with my dissatisfaction of the service and was in a rush to go home. The worst part is I only realised part of my skin around my nose was peeled off and blemished red when i went home to take a shower. Very angry with the bad quality of service given and now my skin is damaged for my wedding next month. :(

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
I absolutely loved my experience at this place! Beautiful facilities and a great therapist. 2 hours of bliss which left me more relaxed than I have been with any other treatments I've had at other places. I would definately recommend. The facial was very thorough - perhaps a little painful at times, but I had wonderful skin afterwards so well worth it! Remembering my experiences makes me want to book another now!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Something different.
A spa set in the retails unit of the Millenium village development in North Greenwich (you can walk from the Jubilee Line). Was greeted and given some tea on arrival. They have a range of natural skincare products fro you to browse which looked really nice.
The Massage lasted a good amount of time and was very through and the oil used was nice.
The facial was definitely the highlight the were a number of their own skincare produces applied, the also used a steamer and did extraction under a magnifying glass to get out any nasties... This was the type of facial you could really do yourself so I would rate it highly

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 3 years ago
My husband and I each bought the one hour body massage and one hour facial with a 30 min consultation for £37. Unfortunately, I was 30mins late for my appointment and the owner told me that consultation was only 10mins so there wasn't enough time forboth the massage and facial...she did state that the details/ times for the consultation were a mistake on the Wahanda website but no one mentioned this to us when we booked. In anycase , it is not a consultation but more a form filling exercise.

The owner did offer to rearrange the massage initally but did not mention it again when we left .. so not sure if this was a genuine offer. It is a good 12/15min walk from North Greenwich station so do bear this in mind if booking for yourself.

I therefore only had the facial which was really nice but i wouldn't have paid £37 for it! Overall experience , ok but may have been better had I been able to have both treatments.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 3 years ago
The therapist I had was excellent, she even has a master or a PHD in this area. I felt that the massage was a bit oily, but felt good afterwards. The facial was definately fantasic as well, I could really see the result there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2011
Posted 3 years ago
Very pleasant environment! The spa is connected to a quiet luminous cafe with lots of healthy, organic snacks.
I arrived early and waited in the cafe.
I was immediately welcomed and acknowledged.
I especially enjoyed the Abhyanga Ayurvedic full body massage which consists in loads of warm and aromatic oils spread on your body and massaged all over by the knowledgeable hands of the Indian therapist. That was divinely relaxing and the shower afterwards felt celestial.
Will definitely visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review