Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

2.6

5 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Book now
Please select the service you’d like to book.
Amara Essence
Amara Essence
459 Dumbarton Road,
Glasgow, G11 6EJ
United Kingdom

Salon

Amara Essence
459 Dumbarton Road,
Glasgow, G11 6EJ
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Closed -
Tue 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wed - Thur 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sun - Closed -
  • Online scheduling not available

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

  • Wahanda gift voucher not accepted

    Our old Wahanda Gift Vouchers can still be redeemed at over 3,000 locations. Use them to pay as you would with cash. Please note, the Wahanda Gift Voucher's successor – the Wahanda Gift Card – can only be used for online purchases.

Amara Essence

Located in the West End of Glasgow, within walking distance of Partick Railway Station, and subway, Amara Essence offers spa, holistic & beauty therapies to the discerning client. The warmth of the African inspired decor captures the natural treasures and culture of the continent. A true sanctuary of luxury and tranquility.

Our professional therapists offer a warm welcome into our private and secluded spa area, where exotic rituals have been created to stimulate the senses, soothe and rejuvenate.

A unique place where the senses are awakened with calm settings, a scent of aromatic oils and the captivating soft light of flickering candles. Amara Essence is reminiscent of the eternal essence of life. Close your eyes and imagine a time of discoveries and cultural treasures in a wonderful setting, where brown, sand and red ochre colours combine with soft drapes take you back to a time when life was lived at a slower pace......

See more
Products used at this venue:

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

2.6

Chain rating

Based on 5 reviews

5 stars 2
4 stars 1
3 stars 0
2 stars 0
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Face
  • Facials (1)
  • Microdermabrasion (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Threading (1)
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Hand Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (1)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (1)
  • Pedicure (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited February 2013
Posted 1 year ago
I went to the amara essence for facial threading. The salon was lovely looking inside and the receptionist was really nice. However, the woman who threaded by face had a body odour problem and was so aggressive in the threading that she left me with several cuts along my chin where she was far too rough. Very disappointed as I've had threading done before and never experienced cuts.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 2 years ago
I cannot rate my experience on Saturday highly enough! I had the 'Darphin Deep Harmony full body massage and facial' - 2 hours of pure luxury. Debbie my therapist was fantastic! I have had many massages and facials before and this was certainly one of the best, every inch of my body was massaged, stretched and pulled, there were many different techniques all in one massage. She customized the right products to suit my skin and I left glowing! I am going to find it very hard to not want to go back for this treatment at least once a month!
If you are looking for something a little different and sick of the same old massages and facials this is definitely for you. Beautiful venue, great location and lovely staff x

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
First impression, not too bad, friendly enough at when first went into salon.

Was in for waxing package, half leg, underarm, very basic bikini line, eyebrow and lip. Felt whole treatment bit rushed with some hairs left on leg and underarm. Eyebrow not tweezed into shape after wax. Unfortunately very red and slight burn to underarms, had to apply prescription only cream for burns.. wax too hot or left on too long before cloth applied? very red eyebrow and lip afterwards. Not sure if able to get spray tan at weekend as this may not have healed in time.

Not too good if slight burn and have to tidy up areas yourself!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

2 years ago
We were really sorry to hear this client was unhappy with her treatment. When she contacted us to feedback on her experience she was invited to return to the salon so that we could see the results, however, she did not return for over a week and by that time there was nothing to see. Nevertheless, we offered her a full refund and also provided her with a complimentary gift voucher to use herself or to pass on to a friend for another type of treatment. We really do take our clients concerns seriously and will respond immediately. However, we cannot do much until we can see what the client is concerned about so it is imperative they return to the salon as soon as possible so that the problem can be resolved quickly.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 3 years ago
The venue was ideally located for a few girly cocktails whilst our nails dried and this was the ideal manicure.

When we arrived we were offered tea and comfy chairs as we were taken one by one....freedom of choice between colours of polish too.

The manicure itself was amazing, well file and the cuticles were non-existent.

Would return again in a heart beat!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 3 years ago
This was my second visit to Amara Essence. The therapists are excellent and can't do enough for you from offering you refreshments to ensuring the therapy you receive is a fantastic experience. I had a manicure and hand massage, a fabulous pedicure both followed by application of calgel to my nails. I also had my first microdermabrasion facial and the results were fantastic! Can't wait for my next visit. Everyone is so friendly and there is such a relaxing ambience in the salon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Venues nearby

See more venues in Partick