Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

185 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Alan Lawrence Salon
Alan Lawrence Salon
24 Crescent West,
Hadley Wood, Barnet, London, EN4 0EJ
United Kingdom

Hair Salon

Alan Lawrence Salon
24 Crescent West,
Hadley Wood, Barnet, London, EN4 0EJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Alan Lawrence Salon   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 185 reviews

5 stars 104
4 stars 52
3 stars 12
2 stars 8
1 star 9
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Blow Dry (108)
  • Brazilian Blow Dry Keratin Treatment (12)
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (126)
  • Hair Conditioning and Scalp Treatments (17)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (119)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 10 months ago
All the staff were very friendly, down to earth and punctual. Haircut was done quickly and with no fuss, I didn't need to worry about getting it all chopped off as I have with other hairdressers!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 10 months ago
The salon was very dirty. All clients were given bleach covered towels and the tea was served in dirty teapots. The hairdresser who cut my hair, I don't think she has cut short hair in a while. She used a razor scissor to cut around the edges, thinning scissors at the back and trimmed my fringe. ISO t think she cut the rest. Very odd. She said she wanted to dry it first and then finish the cut. She dried my hair well and then not much more happened.
The colour was left on for an hour as I asked for it to be very light. But the end result was disappointing. The girl that did my colour was lovely, very friendly and welcoming.
I was shocked with the state of the salon. It was SOO dirty, everything was dirty, the floor covered in dust, the hair tools/trolleys were filthy. I was shocked that every towel used was either ripped and or covered in bleach. Disgusting how this seemed to be the norm.
I will definitely not go back and I will be telling people
To avoid the place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 10 months ago
Very friendly staff. Knowledgeable and helpful. Had a lovely cut and it looks great. Kayleigh was my stylist. Another girl was in there asking for her hair to be dyed. This was refused by the stylist as there was no way she could achieve the colour required. I found this refreshing and honest

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 11 months ago
Very efficient hair salon, staff were friendly and chatty and welcoming. Hair cut was to a good standard and good value for money. Would recommend to a friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 10 months ago
The booking via wahanda website does not work (looks like you book a slot but it ends up not being available) but the hairdresser calls you to rearrange an appointement. The hairdresser is very busy, it feels like a factory for highlights and blow dry. During the pausing time, they offered a drink. I had highlights, two colours with a sharp constrast that does not look natural and did not have any toner to homogenise the colour. So I had brown and white highlights with very dry hair instead of a natural dark blond, they are cheap but are not worth more. Cut and blow dry were very good though.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 11 months ago
I had a Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 11 months ago
I had highlights and a cut and blowdry here. I felt the staff were very professional and knowledgeable, they listened to what I wanted and advised me the best course.
I will most probably go here again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Prior experience of using an online booking service was neegative so was good to have booking confirmed by salon through email and phone call. extra touch of reminder of appointment. Haircut was great and lots of attention giiven to the blow dry. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The cut was ok but nothing special. The highlights weren’t done very well - I had 2 shades of highlights put in and on one side they are too strong – almost like the foils had been left on too long.

I wouldn’t recommend this salon as it seems as though they rush through clients with vouchers from Groupon and Wahanda.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Half Head of Highlights with Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Half Head of Highlights with Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I've been in London over three years now, and was still trying to find that elusive perfect hairdresser where I'm happy with both cut and colour. Having just moved house and looking for a hairdresser more local to me, I stumbled across Alan Lawrence whilst browsing Wahanda. I had cancelled my appointment due at Percy and Reed in town as I've been so underwhelmed by them - my hair has looked so drab and boring since I started using them a year ago. The Alan Lawrence Salon was easy to find and easy (and free) to park. Even though I arrived early, Sarah, who was doing my colour, came over within minutes to discuss what I wanted. I haven't been happy with my hair for a few years now; I'm never really sure what I do want, but absolutely certain what I don't want. Sarah got my colour exactly right. It looks fantastic. She actually listened to what I wanted, and knew what would suit me. Sarah is a colour specialist, that's all she does, and it certainly shows. The fact that the salon appeared to specialise in colour is what drew me to it. I'm so pleased I made that choice. Maria then cut my hair, and although I'm growing it and didn't want a lot off, it looked brilliant! I've had three or four Groupon deals in the past that have included colour and cut, and every one of them was rubbish (you couldn't see the colour in any of them!) but this salon is something else, in a different league altogether. I've never been so happy with my hair before in my life. Needless to say, I've already booked again with both Sarah and Maria. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this salon, I feel really pleased with myself having found it. I've no doubt this is now my 'regular'. Everyone there was friendly, I was kept with drinks and magazines whilst waiting for my colour to take. I really can't fault it in any way. Perfect, thank you.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Wow thank you for that great review . warmest regards Alan Lawrence

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
This was my return visit to this salon. However I will never use it again. Receptionist very rude and haughty. As long as one does not have a complaint the staff are ok. However my highlights went terribly wrong and as soon as I complained I was the rude customer. They were right and I was wrong. They tried to put it right but the highlights looked even worse and they let me walk out of salon like that. Myself a professional hairdresser I would not let my client walk away with the bad work even if they did not complain. The salon knew my requirements from before but still the colour technician insisted she had done nothing wrong. Au revoir Alan Lawrence. Closed chapter.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
The colour and haircut was great-excellent value for money. The only complaint I had was the staff seemed a bit bitchy. It was very obvious they were talking about different customerss in front of everyone at the salon. It was alslo a little annoying moving chairs. In total I sat in 4 different seats.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Had a great experience from start to finish ! Stafff very welcoming and friendly and of course extremely happy with my hair!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
My booking hadn't been registered so I was rudely turned away once I got there. The staff were hardly apologetic either. They told me that despite being on wahanda.com, they don't actually take direct bookings from there... So really they shouldn't advertise on there at all. I will definitely not be going to Alan Lawrence again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

1 year ago
Hi there I'm really sorry you had a bad experience with us , this is not the norm and rudeness to clients is not tolerated ,we are all well trained in customer care ,look at all our other great guanine reviews ,in your case we must have got it wrong and apologise for this
Warmest regards Alan Lawrence

Report as inappropriate

1 year ago
Same here. I had a bad experience with them too.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Zoe gave me a lovely hair cut, I am pleased with my cut. I have rebooked for my next cut and colour.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Highlights were great. Sarah was spot on with what colour I wanted. Really good hair cut and blow dry. Will be returning.
Thanks

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Full Head Colour and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Great service yet again!!! Can get busy so can wait awhile but can't fault! Colour excellent. Overall good experience!!Will be back!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review