Logging you in, please wait...

You are logged in

Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

41 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Book now
Please select the service you’d like to book.
Abi's Hair and Beauty Spa
Abi's Hair and Beauty Spa
935 Brighton Road,
Purely, Croydon, London, CR8 2BP
United Kingdom

Salon

Abi's Hair and Beauty Spa
935 Brighton Road,
Purely, Croydon, London, CR8 2BP
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Wed 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Thur 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Sun - Closed -
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Venue type: Salon in Croydon
Tagged as: Salon

Abi's Hair and Beauty Spa   Last minute & off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments and last minute bookings.

A long-standing dream of the owner of Abi's Hair & Beauty Spa has been to offer clients an exclusive, luxuriating, individual experience. Gone are the days where everyone has the same colour tint or treatment. Abi endeavours to tailor each treatment to suit the distinctiveness of each guest, making this the spa's philosophy.

Our stylists, colourists and beauticians are some of the most talented and dedicated in the industry. All have completed the Aveda training relevant to their area of specialization and will always assure you look good on the outside, but most importantly, feel good on the inside.

See more
Products used at this venue:

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 41 reviews

5 stars 25
4 stars 5
3 stars 4
2 stars 0
1 star 7
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Face
  • Facials (9)
  • Hair
  • Blow Dry (18)
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (14)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (23)
  • Men's Haircuts and Hairdressing (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (9)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (3)
  • Manicure (2)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 6 days ago
I booked a last minute full head highlights appointments at Abi's and to be frank there were issued before I even walked in the door. I was called twice asking me to move to an earlier appointment, despite the fact I had explained I was at work and the time I had booked was the earliest I could get there. I would have changed to another day if they has said there was not enough time but this was not something they asked.
When I arrived the salon was clean and well presented and the staff friendly however my treatment was extremely poor. My full head highlights took 2.5 hours just to put in my hair, they were IMMEDIATELY washed out, not even left for 5 minutes which has resulted in my leaving the salon with badly blended highlights and roots as bad as when I walked in. I was really disappointed, because as I've said the Salon is very clean, tidy and looks to be a much higher quality than the service that I received.
Hopefully my treatment was a one off and no one else comes out feeling as I did.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 days ago
I am sorry to hear that you feel you have had a bad experience. Ideally, we would always recommend that any client who is unhappy with an aspect of the service they receive say something whilst they are in the salon so that the problem can be rectified as soon as possible and you walk away feeling happy and looking beautiful.


The treatment you booked through Wahanda was for a colour with our new talent. This means that the stylist has recently qualified and is therefore not as ‘speedy' as an experience member of staff, such as the senior stylist or artistic director.

In terms of the colour, as you mentioned the member of staff took a little longer than an experienced member of staff to apply the colour to your hair. Consequently, by the time she got to the front of your hair the back had already had time for the colour to take. Our new talent then washed out the sections of hair that had colour on for a longer and effective period of time so that no chemical damage was caused to your hair.

At the time of leaving the salon, you seemed pleased with the results. I apologise that this was no longer the case when you got home but we strive to provide the best treatments in Abi’s Hair and Beauty Spa, so if you had voiced your concerns at the time, we would have made every effort to rectify it.

We would like you to come back for us to rectify this problem. I ranged this afternoon to book you in but there was no answer. If you can call the salon, we will sort that out for you. Thank you.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had my pedicure with a Anica, (I think). I am very pleased with the pedicure and the quality of service. The beautician is very friendly and overall it was a wonderful experience!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 4 weeks ago
I had a Aveda Pedicure Treatments and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 month ago
If I could've not rated any stars for overall satisfaction and waxing I would.
I did not want to write this review because the lady who waxed me was very nice and friendly, however, the poor quality of knowledge and service as well as what seemed, little familiarity with the product and experience made me very angry so I feel the need to let it out and ask if anyone has felt this way before when attending to this Salon for a Hollywood/Brazilian wax.
Thankfully, I bought the deal on groupon for £11, so I went on to try the local salon. I arrived at 9:30AM, was greeted straight away, offered a drink, very nice and friendly. As I got into the room, I was not told what type of wax would be used on me, it was a white hard wax which was left on the skin to dry and then picked around and pulled off. I've always been familiar with hot wax, but to begin with, this white wax wasn't as bad, until it to got lower down to the extra sensitive outside skin. I told the lady many times that the wax was too hot throughout the session, she lowered it and heated it back up (it must have been). I'm not a wax expert but I have been waxing for years and I know that it's not to simply apply wax and pull off, you have to know the direction of the hair growth and etc…
During the session, the lady attempted to kill a fly in the room with the gloves she was using to wax me, she didn't manage to kill it but didn't change the gloves either.
When reached lower into the middle of my private area, I felt the wax glue to my clitoris, and I started to panic. Thankfully that area was enable to be pulled because the wax was probably too thick and it hurt like hell. I had never felt this much pain before in my entire life, not even when I broke my chin!! It actually made me scared to get waxed again. So because the lady couldn't pull the wax off as it was too painful and it would probably rip my skin off, she started "cutting" the wax, maybe I should've looked at what she was doing, however, even until this point I trusted her. She almost cut my skin with the scissors, I had to let her know it grabbed my skin a good 4-5 times. Finally the wax came off. She then used hot wax lower down near the cheeks, but didn't do the backdoor, which I specifically asked for everything to be off. After she was done, she just said done done, (as she had another customer waiting) and said left me me to get dressed. Didn't even ask if I thought it was all up to my liking or given me some oil and tissue to clean myself as I was covered in wax! Obviously, I helped myself, and as I did that, I noticed that there was soooooo much hair still left. Like the outside was okay, you could still see little hairs here and there… I could've done better at home with the outside. It's the inner area and bum that I find hard to do, that's mostly why I even went there. I could see the lady was nervous and that she had little experience with this. As I got to the reception, she asked if I wanted to book another appointment in 3-4 weeks. I asked how much was the original price and she said £28. I wanted to jump on her, because she saw how much pain I felt and how unfinished she left me AND because I pay £15, for a perfect job, and they are charging almost £30 for something they are obviously not experienced at and can't do it well at all! I left the place at 10:45 AM (keeping in mind we started at 9:30) in so much pain I could feel myself numbing up. As I got home, I checked myself in better lighting and I was purply red, my skin was burned and it was so painful to touch. It takes a few hours for normal waxing to cool down so at night I went to have a shower and cried because the warm water touching my skin was still burning and it stung, I was so frustrated but I kept telling myself, at least I didn't pay £28!!! Of course, I won't let this one bad experience ruin it for me, I will just have to travel further to Ebony Pink in Essesx, the person I usually get it done with, but I definitely won't be going back here, and I seriously don't recommend going to this salon if it's your first time waxing, it will put you off and trust me, waxing DOES NOT hurt that much and certainly does not take that long, the quickest I've done was 15-20 minutes and it's all around that time, if the person takes any longer they are certainly inexperienced.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 1 month ago
Before even stepping into the salon, I was horrified by the telephone manner I received by the manager who called me to cancel MY appointment one day in advance. I expressed my disappointment in a calm and polite manner which was received in an shockingly unprofessional tone. She continued to divulge in sensitive and personal information about her colleague regarding the reason she couldn't perform the treatment which I felt was highly inappropriate.
I advised her this was completely unnecessary. The shear lack of professionalism, class and customer service was frankly astonishing. I would highly recommend against visiting or paying any money into this poorly run establishment.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Are the reviews on this place real! I arrived today with my young daughter for her first hair cut. I booked online and received an confirmation email. Upon arrival two staff looked nervously at each other whilst they tried to find my booking. I asked if every thing was ok. They said yes. I made my own way to the seating area without being asked to sit down which was big enough for two persons and they was already some one sat there. Neither was my young daughter or I offered a drink/ refreshment. Something I find very strange. After some 15 minutes the only hair dresser in the establishment who was gassing non stop with her client was told about my appointment. She said she had nt checked her emailsand something about her system being down etc .any one they could nt fit us in as she a queue in front f us. She said what time could we do? How very strange we were there for an appointment! Daa!
We walked out. Never to return. Crappy customer services .

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 3 months ago
This is a bustling, friendly salon with great service & attention to detail. The staff are incredibly attentive & professional. Really enjoyed the experience & love my hair. Good coffee too.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Best blow dry ever, so straight and smooth.
This is the best salon in Purely /Croydon great offers on Wahanda.
Looking forward to my next visit

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
The venue is nice and the staff are friendly, I will be using this salon again and look
Forward To going

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
All I have to say about Abi's Hair and beauty spa is genuine praise. Everyone was so nice and professional. The treatment I had was extremely relaxing and of a high quality. I can not wait to book my next manicure!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I had a Blow Dry and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 5 months ago
I purchased a groupon deal with who i thought would be a senior stylist, when in actual fact she seemed to be a junior basing this on how she cut my hair. I have never been so livid in my life! She seemed ok to start with asked what i wanted etc. Went onto wash my hair which was fine, although not the best. Also i'm not sure where she learned to do an indian head massage, as that was NOT a massage that you would get when going to other salons. Also she had only washed my hair once which i found was odd.
Next to the haircut. I had asked at the start for a short long bob cut above shoulders amd said the same after the wash and added i wanted feathering to frame my face choppy layers at least 3, thined out and a side swooping fringe.
As she started to cut she cut below my shoulders - i then had to ask her to cut into it more so it's above shoulders long bob. She kept looking at the clock on the wall and carried on cutting away. She trimmed some more off - it was not a long bob! It was stll just up to my shoulder blades. She started to add in layers in the most bizzare way. So i always get layers put in and every hairdressers i have had since doing so for the last 10 years has done it the exact same way. Kirstie seemed to layer it as if well i was a Barbie doll if i'm honest, same with cutting the main length of my hair! Once the layers were in i assumed she would then go about sorting out my front or perhaps making the layers thinner or adding more than just 1. Nop! By this point i wanted to give up and walk out!
She then asked me how i wanted it to be blow dry'd i said straight. Have to say the blow dry wasn't to bad, however she just forgot how my hair parted and well about how i wanted the cut to be.
After the blow dry she continued to cut. This time checking i assumed the length was even... It wasn't and still isn't! Then i explained how i wanted the fringe side swooping fringe and that it blends in with my feathering at the front and layers. Again i've kirstie seemed to cut my fringe very oddly. As if she never knew how to on someone else. She ended up giving me a blocked fringe and forgot about the rest. I then said to her are tou going to feather the rest so it blends in and sort the fringe out more. She trimmed of a bit. Again i don't think she knew how to feather. If this was the case she could have simply said i'm sorry i don't know how, instead she attempted to try. I'm pretty sure when someones cutting the hair at the front/ side of your face they usually pick that strand up and cut not cut directly with sisscors pointing towards me! She forgot about the other side and was quick to grab the mirror for me to check the back. I left no tip! And have made a formal complaint to groupon requesting my money back as Abi's apparently can't refund me... I will never go in there again or reccommend them! For me the experience was ridiculous! Ihad a better haircut from a 12 yr old girl in Thailand then i did from Kirstie at Abi's! Not happy at all for the service even if it was only £16.50 on groupon!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

4 months ago
I also went there for senior stylist with groupon voucher. She didnt cut my hair as I wanted it and ater I got home I realised one side was longer than the other! I also asked for the sides feathering so it blends in to fringe but she just didnt seem to be able to do it. Have had better cuts in college with trainees. Avoid this place like the plague.

Report as inappropriate

Posted 6 months ago
I have relaxed afro-Caribbean hair, and my hair is a hot mess, different textures and all sorts going on. I have a long history of 'normal' hairdressers, where you walk in and hope for the best. But i decided to fork out the cash and experience something new. and boy did i make a good decision. Abi's hair ad beauty spa has given me a wonderful hair experience. lovely staff, lovely atmosphere, good quality products. i relaxed my hair, had a hair treatment and trimmed my ends. I never write reviews about anything but I had too. I had the best hair wash i think i ever had, my hair cut was flawless, my mum even said my hair had body and was shiny. TBH, i could go on abut my 2 hours here. the only negatives is that for a college student it is fairly expensive although i did get 10% discount and my hair was brushed quite harshly at the beginning.

DEFINITELY, will be returning

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 6 months ago
Nice treatment from a local salon. The room was small and a little noisy but the treatment was very enjoyable and the products were lovely.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 7 months ago
Wasn't the best haircut for the money I paid. Maybe my expectations were high and most of it turned out to be a clipper cut with no finesse. Maybe they do female hair better

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 9 months ago
I love going to Abi's. Abi does the best blow dry ever and everyone in the salon is genuinely friendly and interested. The service is always consistent and the little things spot on. The aveda products always leave my hair feeling and smelling great. If things do take a while it is because they want to get it right. See you soon Abi's!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 9 months ago
Abi and her staff are lovely, I have had numerous treatments here and always enjoy my time at the salon. Some of the staff while super nice clearly lack experience and at times my appointments have taken double the time compared to other places. While end result is still good, this may be something to bear in mind if time is of concern to you.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Posted 9 months ago
I have just returned from a "groupon" offer hair cut and treatment from Abis salon, purley way, Croydon.
I am not surprised they need to big themselves up and use groupon offers to get custom.
The treatment was a wash and an ineffective scalp stroking. The shampoo and conditioner did nothing for my hair.
The cut hard to measure the amount cut it as so small. ( I did not ask her to wash and comb my hair but to cut, when I realised the poor performance I had difficulty remaining in the chair) The senior stylist as she was called was the worst example of a stylist I have ever had the misfortune to meet.
I returned home and the first thing I needed to do was rewash my hair and book another hair cut with my usual stylist. Who is great by comparison.
Before booking through groupon I looked at reviews for this salon. I fail to comprehend how anyone with hair could have scored them so favourably.
The trouble with hair salons if one complains they are at liberty to make things even worse.
Never again will I attempt a groupon offer and I will never set foot in Abi's again. I am not surprised that they need groupon to attract custom

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Comments

8 months ago
Firstly, I would like to apologise for your feeling of an unpleasant experience. We did attempt to rectify this issue with you on the day. As stated then, I can assure you despite your claim, voicing your dissatisfaction would not make things worse. As stylists we aim to cater to the needs and requests of our clients. Should you have discussed your concerns with the stylist in question, such as having a little more taken off, they would have been addressed immediately.
The stylist in question has received excellent feedback from many of our guests as very competent and confident, as well as understanding as to what guests require.
As a new business, Groupon helps in getting our name out there and for all savvy shoppers is a great way of experiencing new services. It is a shame you shall no longer be using the service.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 10 months ago
Really happy with the colour . Was in the hands of a Pro. Was definitely worth the money and will be going back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 10 months ago
Lovely little salon in Purley, great service,and very welcoming.
The best blow dry I have ever had.
Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Show earlier reviews

Venues nearby

See more venues in Croydon